We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club

Save Saved
You added Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolseley Estate, Tullow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Tullow
Henfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Bar Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

During our recent stay in Ireland we had dinner in the bar at this lovely hotel. We have been coming here to eat for many years during our visits to Ireland. Once again the food was delicious and very filling the menus are new since we were here last year with some new dishes as well as old favourites.

Staff were lovely and service good the food is good value for money and my only dislike is the big flat screen televisions in the bar but where I sat they were not in eye view and the sound was turned down!

Overall another great meal

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback during your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley.

We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us again and we very much thank you for visiting us every time you return to Ireland and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

All the best in the future,

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    114
    79
    53
    21
See reviews for
135
169
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in January for 1 night and had dinner, breakfast and half day spa package. The hotel is beautiful with lots of potential but a few little things let it down for us. The staff were lovely in the restaurant but didn't know the contents of our dishes and were setting up for breakfast as we ate dinner.. This was very annoying. The spa was again really lovely but there was only one water fountain in the relaxation room. This was something I was shocked by having been to a number of spas now - it meant a lot of traffic in the room. We both had the balneotherapy which was very intense. No water was left with me and there was no water fountain near by when I came out of the room and I felt very drained for a few minutes.
The bedroom was fab but again a little thing, our bed was two beds pushed together and there was a big ridge in the middle. We hadn't realised this until we went to bed. All in all, the staff are lovely and the hotel is lovely but it needs to work on a few things before I'd choose to go back.
I did write a review on the customer feedback form but heard no response. Hopefully my comments were taken on board as I don't like to say negative things.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wosleley Hotel.

It was a welcome to read that overall you were happy with your stay but the few small things that let us down cannot be ignored and it was disappointing to read your upset with regard to your experience in Frederick Restaurant but more particularly the issue which arose following your balneotherapy treatment. I must sincerely apologise for this oversight on our behalf, truly sorry that we did not place further emphasis to this matter before now.

Please be assured that everything was addressed immediately and your comments have been extremely helpful and again, I must apologise for the errors in our way and we are very grateful to you for your feedback .

We do hope you will consider returning to us again sometime soon and all the best in the future.

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went for a weekend spa break with my sister.
Firstly it is well signed around Carlow and Tullow which makes it easy to find.
Rooms are very comfortable and clean.
The spa was outstanding. Lots of choice and ultimately relaxing. The relaxation suite has good options of refreshments and music in the private pods.
Food here is beyond amazing! Thoroughly enjoyed the choice for lunch, dinner and breakfast. Staff are dry professional and well trained.
Cocktail bar is a great addition!
Overall I will certainly recommend and return!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley.

It was a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us a detailed account regarding same. Every aspect has been taken on board and we must commend our team for all their efforts here as well.

We do hope you will consider booking another trip to visit us here at Mount Wolseley again sometime soon.

My regards to you and your sister and all the very best in the future.

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have two young children and from the drive up this hotel felt special. A real feeling of luxury with fantastic staff throughout the highlight had to be the restaurant that somehow managed to achieve the balance of feeling like a real treat of a meal AND being child friendly. The childrens menu veers away from the usual "hamburger and chips" to offer a healthier, better alternative while still being child friendly. A great experience and I will definatively return, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley.

It was a pleasure to read your comments and thank you for all your kind words.

We do hope you will consider booking another trip to visit us here at Mount Wolseley again sometime soon.

My regards to you and all your family and all the very best as well in the future.

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just back from a brilliant week end . 30th birthday celebrations with family including young children. Stagg and facilities very friendly and helpful and the effort on the part of the hotel staff to make sure we had a memorable time was impressive.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and very comfortable but for a touch of luxury Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wosleley and we were delighted to see you all had a wonderful time.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley again sometime soon.

All the best,

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel! From the minute we booked it, the staff wer amazing. We stayed in the Presidential suite, absolutely fabulous room! So spacious and luxurious I could have stayed for a long time! It is very clean and well kept.

The food in the bar was gorgeous and the staff there were brilliant, very efficient, friendly and helpful. It was very very busy there and they still didn't flinch, everything was super.

During booking and since then, Magda especially was a very helpful member of staff, she was truly brilliant!

The staff on reception were more than helpful and so pleasant.

There is a beautiful boutique in the hotel, I have an event coming up this year and I will be back to there for something to wear for definite! Another excuse to visit such a great hotel.

The breakfast was very well laid out and everything was plentiful, with great choice. We also had cocktails at the cocktail bar which is lovely so comfortable.

I used the spa on Saturday morning another truly wonderful experience and the pool in the leisure centre a great experience too.

There is truly nothing to be faulted with this hotel everything was fantastic, we had the most amazing, relaxing break, the hotel, the golf club (my other half tells me ;)), facilities and staff are all amazing.

I can only highly recommend this hotel and would find it difficult to even visit another hotel after this!



Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley.

Firslty my sincere apologies for the delay in responding to your feedback.

It was a pleasure to read your kind words and we are truly delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. So many enjoyable aspects mentioned and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share these with us.

We did make sure to commend Magda on her efforts and all the team as well.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Wolseley again soon.

All the best,

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight on 25 jan, on booking in, our room, 337, the bed had no upper sheet, one very light duvet, and only two pillows, no slippers or dressing gown, at my request we were given an extra duvet. There was no part of the outside grounds that you could walk, as the entire grounds that you see in photos is totaly dedicated to golf , not even an outdoor seat is available. As a result of our air conditioning being very noisy , despite my turning it off, I was unable to sleep. On visiting the pool, I found it to be very poor and run down, the showers had mould and the shower base plug hole broken. Over the jacuzzi, water dropped fairly constant from the celing into the jacuzzi, the water also dropped from a light fitting and the celing was badly stained. Staff apoligised when we reported it. All in all very disapointing stay, wont be back. Lynda.

Room Tip: Ask for your bed to be made correctly, Make sure your air con is working correctly, If you want slip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Lynda,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Mount Wolseley Hotel.

Firslty my sincere apologies for the delay in responding to your feedback.

It was with regret that we read the problems you experienced during your stay and we must sincerely apologise regarding same. We have taken all your comments on board with a view to resolving all, some to which were addressed immediately, others to which we are currently reviewing the best options to resolve. Again, we can only sincerely thank you for bringing all these issues to our attention.

We do hope you may consider returning to us in the future and please be assured that we have taken all your comments very much on board and hope to have a resolution to all shortly.

All the best,

Kind Regards
Sandra Morrissey & all the family
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & County Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club

Address: Wolseley Estate, Tullow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Tullow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Tullow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On entering The Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa and Country Club guests receive a warm personal welcome. In every way Mount Wolseley has been designed to compliment the history of the site and the beauty of its location. Stunning landscapes are visible from every room. From the grand staircase, sparkling chandeliers to the glistening Italian marble floors this hotel was designed for luxury. Reinvigorate your spirit in the Sanctuary Spa, test your skills on the challenging golf course or simply spend a leisurely afternoon curled up with a good book in your spacious bedroom. Surrender yourself to this splendid resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club Hotel Tullow
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa And Country Club
Mount Wolseley Hotel Country
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club Tullow, Ireland - County Carlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.