We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 stars out of 5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club to your Saves list
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wolseley Estate, Tullow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“4.5 stars out of 5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Mount wolsley holiday lodges: we stayed here in mid-June for one week as a family of two adults and two children. We found the whole experience a very pleasant. The lodge itself consisted of four bedrooms a very large living area and a kitchenette it also had a private front garden with private parking in the driver. My estimate of the area of these lodges in the order of 2300-2500 sq ft - they are relatively well finished. They are a few years old now and are showing some normal signs of wear and tear what you would expect from buildings of these age.
The hotel itself is very well finished inside. We availed of food in the bar and bar service and found it very good . The facilities for children were very good. They have a playground which is approximately 400 m distance from the hotel itself they have an indoor soft play area for children near the leisure centre within the hotel and they have a small family run for watching family the DVDs within the hotel the leisure centre also a quite small childrens pool .There were also 2 bouncy castles for the little ones . We availed of the leisure centre several days we stayed there and the staff were friendly and helpful. The reception staff were friendly and helpful also. I'm in the estate management business myself and although I am not a golfer , the hotel is surrounded by a its own golf course and I have to say, from an estate management perspective in my opinion it's very well maintained. Found the gardening and landscaping to be of a high quality. The grounds are out of bounds for non-golfers but nonetheless can be enjoyed visually. Overall I was very satisfied with our stay at Mount Wolsley the staff are very helpful when we called them and apart from a few minor maintenance issues would give this 4 1/2 stars out of five. If we got similar value in the future we would return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    137
    97
    58
    23
See reviews for
152
190
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in the hotel at the end of February. We got a very good deal, well worth it. The room is Comfortable and cozy. Theres something about this hotel we love, can't wait to return. The only down point was the lack of view from the room, but nothing to complain about

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

2 night break away in June.
Staff: very friendly
Room: executive suite, clean, spacious with comfortable bed and nice view.
Fredericks restaurant: Food not up to par, didn't feel like a restaurant.
Bar: Room constantly cold, food average.
Spa: Super, ambience perfect, treatments were good, very relaxing atmosphere.
Overall: Child friendly hotel so there was a lot of kids about the place, not recommended for romantic get away.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just back from a visit to Mount Wolseley, what a disappointment! I had been looking forward to staying there for ages and to using the facilities there. When we went to us the spa area, the hydrotherapy pool was cold and could not be used. We had lunch in the bar and the service was very poor, carpets in the bedroom corridor were torn and there was a smell of damp as you walked into the bedroom. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Thank you Mount Wolseley, we had the most amazing wedding weekend. All the management and staff were superb! All Stephens family & friends from England had a fantastic time and I'm delighted to tell you we received only the best feedback from all our guests. In fact my uncle in his 70's said it was the best wedding he has ever been too. All the staff were wonderful, the girls & guys in the lounge over the three days were so helpful, nothing was a problem and you all couldn't do enough for us and our guests. A special thanks to Catherine x The facilities are excellent, the lads loved the golf, girls enjoy the pool and spa and the kids just had a ball between the pool, games rooms ect. The O suite was really special, Stephen and I will be booking two nights for our 1st Anniversary :) I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion. A wonderful weekend was had by all. Xxx Karen & Stephen (Dublin)

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

In late April I co organised an evening conference in the Mount Wolseley Hotel. The hotel facilities were top notch, the function room was set up exactly as we specified and staff were on hand all day to help with any last minute changes. We had a refreshment break during our event and then again staff were ready and able to cope with the large numbers of conference attendees and logistics manager Jerry was on hand to ensure the smooth running of the event. A number of my colleagues and I also stayed in the hotel on the night of the event and the bedrooms were top class as well as the breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountWolseley, Owner at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted that you were happy with your event and us as a venue. Being a family run hotel we strive to deliver a friendly and efficient service to all our clients and are delighted that you felt your experience was worth reviewing.

Being a big conference venue we offer a professional and personal service to all our clients. We wish you well in your future conferences and do hope that you will be back to us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I spent two nights here over the Easter Break to attend a wedding. I was travelling by myself but was a given a lovely room at the front of the hotel with a big double bed.

The room was great, breakfast had a lovely choice of food. Gym was small but well equipped and the staff were friendly and helpful - one even going so far as to unlock some fridges in order to get me an apple one evening.

My only complaint with the place - and this is not really the fault of the hotel, was the number of kids running around pretty much unsupervised by the adults. On Easter Sunday there was an egg hunt for the little kiddies - no problem with that, but I went to the bar to get food and due to the number of kids about and parents basically commandeering the staff I ended up retreating to my room in order to get some food via roomservice. I had waited over 15minutes to get a waiters attention so that I could just get the menu but to no avail every time he came near a family called for his attention.

Oh one thing though - We are in the middle of a recession so to have a hotel slap an extra €35 a night onto a single room for the night of a wedding is disgraceful - I get supply and demand, but is it not better to have a full hotel at the normal rates rather than a half-full hotel at higher rates? I was lucky in that I did not get stung with this price hike as I booked my room the same day as my friend booked her reception there. So beware if making a booking that there are no weddings on as you could find yourself paying a higher price than normal!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club

Address: Wolseley Estate, Tullow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Tullow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On entering The Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa and Country Club guests receive a warm personal welcome. In every way Mount Wolseley has been designed to compliment the history of the site and the beauty of its location. Stunning landscapes are visible from every room. From the grand staircase, sparkling chandeliers to the glistening Italian marble floors this hotel was designed for luxury. Reinvigorate your spirit in the Sanctuary Spa, test your skills on the challenging golf course or simply spend a leisurely afternoon curled up with a good book in your spacious bedroom. Surrender yourself to this splendid resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club Hotel Tullow
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa And Country Club
Mount Wolseley Hotel Country
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club Tullow, Ireland - County Carlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.