We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laburnum Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laburnum Lodge B&B
Save
You added Laburnum Lodge B&B to your Saves list
Bunclody Rd (N81), Tullow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Tullow B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A charming place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I picked Laburnum Lodge totally by chance. I am so glad that I did! I was drawn by the lovely picture of the house with the beautifully groomed lawns, and so I was pleased to discover the whole house is tastefully furnished and our room was comfortable and spacious, with charming views of the perfectly-kept garden and lawns. Laburnum Lodge is easy to find, well-signposted from the centre of Tullow itself, and a treasure waiting to be visited.

We arrived to be greeted by what I thought was a sheep on the driveway, but was in fact a gorgeous old dog, Czar, who was so friendly and goodnatured, padding about his "estate", we fell in love with him. Coming into the house we were greeted by the very delicious smell of roast lamb (although we had eaten on the plane, it smelt very welcoming) as we had arrived just as Anne, the owner, was dishing up dinner.

Anne was so hospitable, she immediately made us feel at ease, helped with a suggested route into the next town (Carlow) where we were heading for a party. We agreed a time for breakfast with her, and she even checked whether we were vegetarian so that she knew how best to cater for us (we're not, but I thought it was a nice touch that she asked).

Our bed was comfortable, firm and with immaculately laundered linen. It felt bigger than a standard double (we're not exactly the smallest couple in the world) but there was plenty of space in the bed, and there was a spare bed too. It has a very luxurious feeling, and I enjoyed sitting in bed on Sunday morning idly watching the huge flatscreen tv with the sunshine coming in the window. The en-suite bathroom was spotless, and there was a tea and coffee tray provided as well.

The breakfast itself was delicious, we were offered an initial choice of cereals, but opted to just stick with the full Irish fry-up with bacon, eggs, sausages, black pudding, white pudding and grilled tomatoes - with orange juice, coffee, tea and lashings of toast and thick chunks of proper butter. We were also provided with the most delicious slices of Irish bread, I could happily have eaten that all day!

I would highly recommend Laburnum Lodge to friends and colleagues for a pleasant comfortable time in a lovely environment. I heartily wished I had been staying longer.

Room Tip: We had the Wolsley Room, which was very comfortable indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here last month. 3 couples. We attended a wedding at nearly Mount Wolseley. We wanted somewhere closeby but more affordable. How lucky were we! I notice all the reviews mention the lovely Annie. What a lady! All 3 of our rooms were fantastic. Individually decorated. Me and my partner got a front facing room looking towards the hotel in the distance. The breakfast was amazing, by some reports better than what was on offer in the hotel. Annie organised a mini bus for us to the hotel and back, which was on time and cheap.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A lovely, good quality, spacious well kept residence with a real home from home feel. Anne the owner is a great host and made our group (3 x couples) feel very welcome during our two night stay for a wedding in the local area. The bedrooms are both spacious and modern and the Irish breakfast was both good quality and plentiful! Anne kindly helped us arrange local taxi rides and provided us with facilities to chill drinks and serve some of our own snacks purchased locally. The property is within a few minutes walk of Tullow town centre and there are also a couple of supermarkets including Tesco within walking distance. There is ample parking and the free WiFi was a really nice bonus for a guest house too. At the less than half the price per night of local hotels this place represents excellent value as a base in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have never stayed in such a beautiful house before. Very homely, clean and beautifully decorated. Annie couldn't have done any more for us, she was the perfect host and made you feel at home in her home. Would highly recommend staying there. 10 out of 10. Thank you Annie for your wonderful hospitality. Dolores & Ken, Birmingham, England xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The house and gardens are so beautiful and extremely well maintained and everything was very clean. The breakfast was second to none! The owner Anne was very welcoming and freindly and i would definitley recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

An elegant home on the main road of the colorful village of Tullow. Anne is a delightful host and gave us great local information on restaurants and sights to see, in addition to a wonderful breakfast and insights into the Irish way of life.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My mother, sister and I stayed here in July. Of all the B and B's we stayed in this was by far the nicest. Anne is a wonderfully gracious hostess. Our room was very tastefully decorated and comfortable. Anne was very helpful in recommending places to eat, sights to see. Look forward to going back someday! Denise Burkhart

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laburnum Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum Lodge B&B

Address: Bunclody Rd (N81), Tullow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Tullow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tullow
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star (Bord Failte 2012/2013 Rating) Boutique-style B&B in South East Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laburnum Lodge B&B Tullow, Ireland - County Carlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laburnum Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.