We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paddy's Bar

Paddy's Bar
Terryglass, Ireland
(067)22147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Terryglass
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Paddys is the centre of all activity in the area. First opened in 1829, it has been offering the best of irish hospitality including great drink, superb food using local produce and the best of accomodation. We also offer advice to visitors on where to go and what to do.
Ballyhaunis, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Found Paddys Bar as a bar to be fabulous, quaint, clean and as a restaurant it was great value for money with excellent food.
Ate there with 3 other guests and we all left very satisfied.
Only downside was the open doors and the influx of wasps.
Excellent service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top marks for the food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stopped in paddys one afternoon, both my brother and I said we would get something to eat on our way home.
I got the burger which was lovely and the burger bap was really fresh which i loved. My brother ordered the chicken curry which he also enjoyed very much so. It was very quite when we were there but we didnt care as we were tucked into the food. I think the chefs name was "james" that night so i over heard the waiter saying anyway so thanks "james" for the lovely food and we will be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddys Bar T, Owner at Paddy's Bar, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your very kind response. We strive to get it right with our food, drink and accomodation to ensure that the customer has a great Terryglass experience so feedback in this regard is most important. Once again thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super Duper...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hi. My husband and I visited this lovely area today. We had a superb lunch in Paddy's Bar. The food was mouthwatering. The staff are so lovely and helpful also. We walked along the Quay later and the sun shone on us. We had a wonderful afternoon. Well worth a visit and meal...Highly recommended away from the madding crowd...Sarah & Peter

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddys Bar T, Owner at Paddy's Bar, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks a mil for your comments. You painted a great picture of Terryglass and we believe that's what we are about. Thank you for telling our story and call again - its still a great place in the rain !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed - I believe they forgot we were there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We decided to go to this lovely setting restaurant with a family of 6. We went on a Wednesday night. It looked to be pretty busy with a lot of local town patrons. Service was not good and we had to wave our hands to get attention. The food was not memorable at all. I ordered chicken wings and they came to me looking over done (somewhat burnt). We probably should have tried the restaurant next door.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had lunch here on holiday. Huge portions of very tasty food. Wholesome and filling. Good wine. Staff very attentive but not too much in your face.
Nice area to go for a walk after lunch.
Wasn't too busy but could see some tables were regulars so always a good sign!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaireadatPaddys, Owner at Paddy's Bar, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks a mil for taking the time to comment and thank you for your comments. We actively encourage feedback and love when we get positive comments. The 'no so positive' comments are very good too because it highlights for us where we can improve and there is always room for improvement. Glad to see you were in Portumna at the forest park and yes we agree it is underutilised. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddy's Bar also viewed

Terryglass, County Tipperary
Portumna, County Galway
 

Been to Paddy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddy's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.