We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Vacation Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HBK Villas

Save Saved
You added HBK Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HBK Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jolly Beach | P.O. Box 1793, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Vacation Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

HBK Villas is a relaxing, quiet, wonderfully situated vacation spot. This was our second trip there with our 5 year old. Once situated in a roomy villa, it isn't even necessary to leave the villa grounds unless sightseeing is opted for. The grounds offer a surprisingly well stocked grocery store and a nice selection of restaurants. Jolly Beach is a short walk or golf cart ride away and guests have access to a scenic outdoor pool. The staff is extremely courteous and the manager, James Richards, does an incredible job to ensure that your stay meets with your satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We have been enjoying a two month stay at HBK villas for the past six years. One of the nicest things is being greeted by James, the manager, the office staff and the housekeeping staff with a "Welcome Home" each year when we return. The villas are fully equipped with dishes, pots and pans etc.and we have always found them to be cleaned and well cared for.A two month stay will often require a special need such as a cookie sheet and the housekeeping staff helps out quickly. Our villa this year was attractively decorated and had a lovely tile deck. We often enjoyed meals there as well as entertaining our friends and enjoyed the inland waterway view. Housekeeping was provided two days a week and any extras were always readily available.Several restaurants, a market and banking are within walking distance.Internet access can be found in the HBK office. We will most certainly be returning next year!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

HBK Villas is the ideal place for relaxation, beach, fun and whatever else you want. My sweetheart and I spent spring break there. What a great choice. We were greeted by a cheerful HBK staff. Checking in was a breeze. They even have an exchange library of books. Jolly Harbour has everything you need for an abosolutely marvelous vacation; bank, grocery store, liquor store, pharmacy, various restaurants and the convenience of docking your boat, if wanted. There are many boat cruises which you can board right there on the property; day and evening cruises. We went on one day cruise, with snokeling/lunch/rum punch and one evening cruise. Both were fabulous! The villa was roomy, clean, modern and the property is well secured. We didn't worry about anyone just walking on the property. We both felt like the villa was our vacation home! We had a full kitchen, living room, two bedrooms upstairs and a very spacious deck. The place was immaculately clean. We ventured out to town and bought fresh fish to cook. We also bought many meals from Carvelle, a popular local eatery close by. Carvelle is fantastic. Don't let the location throw you off. Everyone eats there! Carvelle is a fantastic cook and a beautiful person. We spent many evenings having dinner out on the deck of our villa. (Make sure you take your mosquito spray. It is the caribbean. I just made it a part of my daily routine. No problem.)
The housekeeper, Jennifer, was so pleasant and helpful. The beach was excellent. White sand. Restaurant right there, in case you want a quick bite and drink. Water sports. If you're looking for the perfect place to vacation, look no farther than HBK at Jolly Harbour. Give James, the manager, a call. He's the absolute best!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

I just spent 10 days in one of the most beautiful villas in Jolly Harbour. It was an experience I will cherish and one I plan to revisit. The villa was very clean, well maintained and if there was even the smallest of issues (no coffee maker) ..then James was on it and you had whatever you required same day. The rooms were very spacious and the furniture very comfortable. I was a solo traveler this time so space was not an issue however I know 4 people could be very comfortable staying here.
It is within walking distace to the beach, the pool and even the small plaza, which has everything from a bank to liquor store to an internet shop and more.
I had one of the best experiences of a trip to date. I recommend this villa and this area highly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed in a villa classed as luxury in Jolly Harbour,228f but it was very very basic and did not come up to what it was advertised!Mooring broken,sun loungers filthy and table broken,toaster,microwave not suitable for use,chipped china,spare beds dirty,mattress torn,neighbours complined of water dripping on thier baloncy from ac this took two months! and then water poured out of our ac onto to walls,a nightmare but we still managed to enjoy our 9 weeks!
This was our worst villa in 8 years and was managed by HBK Villas.
Would we go back again? hubby says no! sad

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBK70, Manager at HBK Villas, responded to this review, March 4, 2010
Admittedly, the guests in this instance has a legitimate complaint but I must mention that request for most or if not all of the items mentions were addressed and fixed. HBK Villas was even praised by the guests for actions taken in addressing their concerns. This booking was not a direct booking but was booked by the owner through a UK website. Complaints were made by the guests to us and also to the owner about what was represented in their advertisement. We have no control over what is advertised. We are currently working with the owner to rectify all the other problems mentioned by the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I loved the HBK Villas! My vacation was wonderful! The villas are well equipped with appliances, such as microwave, washing machine, refrigerator and stove. The villa is in a very convenient area that is near grocery shopping and souvenir shopping. You can rent a car or golf cart. The golf carts are $25.00 US Dollars per day which isn't bad. The beach was just ok. I agree with one reviewer, Money D that said the beach was a little disappointing with trash strewn across the beach. There are plenty of beach chairs for everyone. All you have to do is show your room key to the Activity Coordinator on the beach and they will provide you with a chair free of charge. If you need beach umbrellas, they charge you $10.00 US dollars for the day but give you back $5.00 US dollars.
Room service is ever other day but if you need anything you can call front desk and they will bring you whatever you need such as soap or towels.

Castaways is a bar/restaurant that is right on the beach. They provide great food and excellent drinks!

The locals are very friendly and very helpful. I felt safe and would definitely recommend this villa to anyone who wants to come to Antigua.

Definitely come here! It won't disappoint! Just load up on your Off Spray because the mosquitoes are hungry!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

I stayed at the HBK Villas in Jolly Harbour and had a pleasant experience.
I thought the room was beautiful. You have your living room, kitchen/dining area with tv/cable, microwave and balcony.
Upstairs, there are two bedrooms. One bedroom also has a balcony. I felt safe and the area is quiet. The locals are very friendly and helpful.

Maid service is every other day, however if you need something, you can always call front desk and they're more than happy to bring whatever it is you need such as towels, soap, toilet paper. I found the staff to be very friendly.

The beach was just okay. I was a bit disappointed because of the trash laying on the beach. Crushed cans, cigarette boxes, paper plates. I thought it could have been cleaned better. Rental chairs are free, but if you need an umbrella for shade, they charge $5.00 US. Some told us $10.00 but they settled for $5.00 US.

Castaways bar is great and right on the beach. There's a bartender who's very friendly and he takes your order of liquor right on the beach. No problem, no hassle. They also serve lunch and dinner.

Dennis Cocktail Bar & Restaurant is a must do. It's unbelievable. It's around the corner from Jolly Harbour. The food was amazing but the view is incredible. You have a veiw of endless beaches and hillsides. We ordered a lobster dinner and the lobsters were huge and not expensive at all.

Peter's Steakhouse is within walking distance from the villa. The restaurant was big and you're seated outside. I was surprised to see only one chef taking all of those orders. The wait time was too long and people were wondering where there order was. We sat right near the grill and I could tell when our order was coming up because the chef was out in full view. I don't know if it was the holidays for the long wait but one chef for a big restaurant seemed a bit much to me.

Rental cars are available as well as the golf cars. You can also walk down the road to the commercial shopping areas. If you walk, it's about a ten minute walk and it's an enjoyable exercise. People, myself included were stopping and taking pictures and just enjoying the nature walk.

There are buses and cabs nearby to take you whereever you want to go. I would definitely recommend this villa and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HBK Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HBK Villas

Address: Jolly Beach | P.O. Box 1793, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty lodging in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HBK Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bedroom town houses with large spacious living areas, fully fitted kitchen and gallery. All villas are situated waterside and air conditioned throughout for your comfort with have maid service 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your HBK Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hbk Villas Hotel Saint Mary`s
HBK Villas Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HBK Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.