We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just loved our stay <3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HBK Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HBK Villas to your Saves list
HBK Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jolly Beach | P.O. Box 1793, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We just loved our stay <3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We just spent a week at at HBK Villas in Jolly Harbour Antigua. We loved our stay at the Villa. I would highly suggest doing your grocery shop in the St. Johns area super matkets. The grocery store in Jolly Harbout is outrageous with their pricing. I could not believe how much they were charging the tourists for shopping there. The staff are wonderful but the prices are robbery. The Staff of HBK are very friendly and helpful. I did not have a very good experience with the first meal I had at Castaways Restaraunt...I was up all night sick. The Crow's Nest Restaraunt was wonderful and very tasty. Be careful on the beach for a man named Alex.....he gives massages. Be VER"Y VERY VERY Careful. He tries to convince you over and over again that he is a true and trustworthy man. As they say ...a person that has to keep trying to convince you they are a good person usually have a very dark side. There is a taxi driver named David ....he's wonderful and you don't have too worry ....he will keep you safe and he won't rip you off on your taxi ride price. David took us on a trip around the island.....it is a must for all that visit. He takes you places that you just won't see. He is a very kind gentle soul of a man. We will be back and he will be our driver . If you plan on going into the town of St John's ....make sure there aren't any cruise ships in on that day. There are far too many people . We just loved our stay at HBK in Jolly Harbour Antigua. We are looking forward to our next trip in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath villa was spacious and the kitchen was pretty well equipped. Walk to the beach, pool, supermarket. Gated community, we felt very safe, quiet, pretty. Local restaurants were Castaways at the beach, The Sports Bar at the pool, Melines for pizza. Across the main road, Valley Road, is a fantastic Greek Restaurant, The Acropolis. Fabulous food, warm, family owned. Good bargains on clothes in St.John's, but be careful, one of the items we paid for was not in the bag when we got home. Everyone wants cash, a few places would take Mastercard & Visa. Use Hertz if you want a car. You can get around Jolly Harbor with a less expensive golf cart.

Room Tip: Some villas face the beach, but ours faced the marina. It was very nice. Jolly Harbor was a very f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We recently ended our fourth trip to Antigua and have stayed in HBK villas each time. We enjoy the great location and feeling of safety and security in Jolly Harbor. HBK makes it simple to rent a usually well situated two level villa with full kitchen so we can enjoy the freedom to eat in or out as we please. While different villas do range in quality and decor, we've been pleased every time we've visited and have found management to be very responsive to any of our requests. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom villa with friends. Most villas are in a superb location for the beach and amenities. Our villa was a disappointment. The showers had recently been renovated, with very pleasant tiling etc. The plumbing was very badly fitted. There was never any hot water and the pressure was merely a tickle. Someone came out on a couple of occasions, but it couldn't be fixed.

The awing on the patio are overlooking the marina was broken and couldn't be extended. It couldn't be fixed. The kitchen was poorly equipped, with insufficient plates, but seven - 7, frying pans?? The TV was very old (not LCD) and the remote control had calcified batteries in it. New batteries didn't work.

The air conditioning unit in the bedroom packed up after a few days, but the one in the lounge was new and very efficient.

But we didn't go to Antigua to stay in the villa. The flora and fauna are fantastic and the beaches simply stunning. There are plenty of places to eat and drink, but the staff at Castaways by the beach are friendly and helpful. The location is also wonderful for watching the superb sunsets. Watch out for mosquitoes at dusk, however. There's lots to do if you're active, like boat trips, jet-skis, etc. I would very much recommend the guided 3 hour self drive boat excursion, which includes a wonderful snorkelling opportunity on an outstanding reef.

Getting around the resort on a hired golf cart is great fun, but beware who you hire from because many are in poor condition and the lights don't always work. We used head torches!

For a winter break, the climate and location are superb. If you can cope with the manana lifestyle and attitude you'll have a great time. US dollars are accepted everywhere, but cash machines on the island only give local, East Caribbean currency.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at one of the standard 2-bedroom villas at Jolly Harbour.
The villas are spacious and conveniently located close to the beach. They have nice balconies overlooking the marina. The area is quiet and beautiful, just 2-5 minutes walk to the beach(depending on where your villa is).
The restaurants(5 of them) were quite nice, especially Castaways, which is right at the beach. Food was good, prices are also average and the staff was also very friendly. Peter's Steakhouse offered some good food as well, but the service was a bit slow and not so welcoming and friendly and personal.
Overall positive experience, just few notes/recommendations for management:

1) The bathroom in my villa needed a bit of work. Some of the tiles were cracked and the shower was a bit old
2) The microwave did not work. The issue was not the microwave itself, rather the plug was not fitting tightly in the outlet
3) The bedroom duvet was worn out and was torn at a couple of places

And lastly, Antigua is not a cheap place, so I would recommend that even the standard villas have internet connection, even if it is for a daily fee. Having to always go to the rental office is a big pain. Not to mention that if you want to talk to your friends over skype, it is not really nice to talk in front of anyone else who might happen to be there at this time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I went with 2 friends and a 5 Month old baby, we had a great time, our villa was a short walk to the beach.

my only complaint is i had to ring reception on more than one occassion to get an adapter it eventually came the next day.

i also called reception for some new sheets as the one my friend had became dirty after an accident, we never received the sheets, we had to wash the sheets which ourself. The sheets got changed 2 days later when the cleaner was due.

Staff very friendly, each time i went to reception i was welcomed with a smile.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My fiance and I travelled to Antigua to celebrate our engagement and was fortunate enough to stay at HBK Villas. It was perfect. The staff, the accomodations, the location - could not have asked for more. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are now contemplating purchasing one of the villas. AMAZING - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HBK Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HBK Villas

Address: Jolly Beach | P.O. Box 1793, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HBK Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bedroom town houses with large spacious living areas, fully fitted kitchen and gallery. All villas are situated waterside and air conditioned throughout for your comfort with have maid service 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your HBK Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hbk Villas Hotel Saint Mary`s
HBK Villas Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HBK Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.