We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tired villa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HBK Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HBK Villas to your Saves list
HBK Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jolly Beach | P.O. Box 1793, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, tired villa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom villa with friends. Most villas are in a superb location for the beach and amenities. Our villa was a disappointment. The showers had recently been renovated, with very pleasant tiling etc. The plumbing was very badly fitted. There was never any hot water and the pressure was merely a tickle. Someone came out on a couple of occasions, but it couldn't be fixed.

The awing on the patio are overlooking the marina was broken and couldn't be extended. It couldn't be fixed. The kitchen was poorly equipped, with insufficient plates, but seven - 7, frying pans?? The TV was very old (not LCD) and the remote control had calcified batteries in it. New batteries didn't work.

The air conditioning unit in the bedroom packed up after a few days, but the one in the lounge was new and very efficient.

But we didn't go to Antigua to stay in the villa. The flora and fauna are fantastic and the beaches simply stunning. There are plenty of places to eat and drink, but the staff at Castaways by the beach are friendly and helpful. The location is also wonderful for watching the superb sunsets. Watch out for mosquitoes at dusk, however. There's lots to do if you're active, like boat trips, jet-skis, etc. I would very much recommend the guided 3 hour self drive boat excursion, which includes a wonderful snorkelling opportunity on an outstanding reef.

Getting around the resort on a hired golf cart is great fun, but beware who you hire from because many are in poor condition and the lights don't always work. We used head torches!

For a winter break, the climate and location are superb. If you can cope with the manana lifestyle and attitude you'll have a great time. US dollars are accepted everywhere, but cash machines on the island only give local, East Caribbean currency.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at one of the standard 2-bedroom villas at Jolly Harbour.
The villas are spacious and conveniently located close to the beach. They have nice balconies overlooking the marina. The area is quiet and beautiful, just 2-5 minutes walk to the beach(depending on where your villa is).
The restaurants(5 of them) were quite nice, especially Castaways, which is right at the beach. Food was good, prices are also average and the staff was also very friendly. Peter's Steakhouse offered some good food as well, but the service was a bit slow and not so welcoming and friendly and personal.
Overall positive experience, just few notes/recommendations for management:

1) The bathroom in my villa needed a bit of work. Some of the tiles were cracked and the shower was a bit old
2) The microwave did not work. The issue was not the microwave itself, rather the plug was not fitting tightly in the outlet
3) The bedroom duvet was worn out and was torn at a couple of places

And lastly, Antigua is not a cheap place, so I would recommend that even the standard villas have internet connection, even if it is for a daily fee. Having to always go to the rental office is a big pain. Not to mention that if you want to talk to your friends over skype, it is not really nice to talk in front of anyone else who might happen to be there at this time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I went with 2 friends and a 5 Month old baby, we had a great time, our villa was a short walk to the beach.

my only complaint is i had to ring reception on more than one occassion to get an adapter it eventually came the next day.

i also called reception for some new sheets as the one my friend had became dirty after an accident, we never received the sheets, we had to wash the sheets which ourself. The sheets got changed 2 days later when the cleaner was due.

Staff very friendly, each time i went to reception i was welcomed with a smile.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

My fiance and I travelled to Antigua to celebrate our engagement and was fortunate enough to stay at HBK Villas. It was perfect. The staff, the accomodations, the location - could not have asked for more. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are now contemplating purchasing one of the villas. AMAZING - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

HBK Villas is a relaxing, quiet, wonderfully situated vacation spot. This was our second trip there with our 5 year old. Once situated in a roomy villa, it isn't even necessary to leave the villa grounds unless sightseeing is opted for. The grounds offer a surprisingly well stocked grocery store and a nice selection of restaurants. Jolly Beach is a short walk or golf cart ride away and guests have access to a scenic outdoor pool. The staff is extremely courteous and the manager, James Richards, does an incredible job to ensure that your stay meets with your satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We have been enjoying a two month stay at HBK villas for the past six years. One of the nicest things is being greeted by James, the manager, the office staff and the housekeeping staff with a "Welcome Home" each year when we return. The villas are fully equipped with dishes, pots and pans etc.and we have always found them to be cleaned and well cared for.A two month stay will often require a special need such as a cookie sheet and the housekeeping staff helps out quickly. Our villa this year was attractively decorated and had a lovely tile deck. We often enjoyed meals there as well as entertaining our friends and enjoyed the inland waterway view. Housekeeping was provided two days a week and any extras were always readily available.Several restaurants, a market and banking are within walking distance.Internet access can be found in the HBK office. We will most certainly be returning next year!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

HBK Villas is the ideal place for relaxation, beach, fun and whatever else you want. My sweetheart and I spent spring break there. What a great choice. We were greeted by a cheerful HBK staff. Checking in was a breeze. They even have an exchange library of books. Jolly Harbour has everything you need for an abosolutely marvelous vacation; bank, grocery store, liquor store, pharmacy, various restaurants and the convenience of docking your boat, if wanted. There are many boat cruises which you can board right there on the property; day and evening cruises. We went on one day cruise, with snokeling/lunch/rum punch and one evening cruise. Both were fabulous! The villa was roomy, clean, modern and the property is well secured. We didn't worry about anyone just walking on the property. We both felt like the villa was our vacation home! We had a full kitchen, living room, two bedrooms upstairs and a very spacious deck. The place was immaculately clean. We ventured out to town and bought fresh fish to cook. We also bought many meals from Carvelle, a popular local eatery close by. Carvelle is fantastic. Don't let the location throw you off. Everyone eats there! Carvelle is a fantastic cook and a beautiful person. We spent many evenings having dinner out on the deck of our villa. (Make sure you take your mosquito spray. It is the caribbean. I just made it a part of my daily routine. No problem.)
The housekeeper, Jennifer, was so pleasant and helpful. The beach was excellent. White sand. Restaurant right there, in case you want a quick bite and drink. Water sports. If you're looking for the perfect place to vacation, look no farther than HBK at Jolly Harbour. Give James, the manager, a call. He's the absolute best!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HBK Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HBK Villas

Address: Jolly Beach | P.O. Box 1793, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HBK Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bedroom town houses with large spacious living areas, fully fitted kitchen and gallery. All villas are situated waterside and air conditioned throughout for your comfort with have maid service 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HBK Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hbk Villas Hotel Saint Mary`s
HBK Villas Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HBK Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.