We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in Every Respect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curtain Bluff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Curtain Bluff Resort to your Saves list
Curtain Bluff Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Autumn / Fall Special
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful in Every Respect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Curtain Bluff is a very special place, in large part because the staff is very special. They all make you feel very much at home and at ease. Want a drink ... just ask; want to water ski ... just ask; want to take out a sail boat ... just ask. They make everything easy. My wife and I keep going back because it is easy to both relax and stay active. We enjoy the water skiing, snorkeling, scuba, deep sea fishing, wine tasting, yoga, tennis, swimming and food, as well as just relaxing on the two beaches. Also an excellent spa. Special to us is the fact that they have live music every night. There is no bad room. We prefer the convenience of the first floor units (just step out onto the beach) but friends of ours prefer the second floor units and suites on the bluff. All inclusive and no worries about tipping or carrying cash. We love it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    37
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
75
132
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at CB for a week in June (our 2nd time) and we fell in love with the resort all over again! The resort and beach are beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food/drink are great.

We stayed in an oceanfront unit which has a great view of the secluded ocean-side beach. We went to sleep listening to the waves crashing outside the window. The room was nice (basic, but comfortable) and was just a few steps from the bar/restaurant and a short walk to the spa/fitness center/tennis or the bayside-beach/restaurant/pool. We were there in low season and felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves (note: even though it was busier our first time here, it never felt crowded). There was never a line for the restaurants or bars, never a problem finding a chair on the beach and never a wait for watersports.

The food and drink were excellent for an all-inclusive resort. The main restaurant serves breakfast and dinner (full menu), and the beach restaurant serves lunch (buffet or menu) and special dinners (there were 2 during our stay). The main restaurant food was very high-quality and each meal was good (some excellent, some OK). The lunch buffet was very good, with a few hot entrees and a large salad bar, or you can order sandwiches or a few entrees off the menu. Drinks were good and plentiful - there were several cocktails to choose from, house wine (which was OK) and a local draft beer or a few choices in bottles. You can also order fine wines off the wine list at an additional cost, and prices were reasonable (for a resort). There was a band at dinner each night - we enjoyed most of them, and some guests even danced. There was a manager's cocktail party in the spa that was a great setting and a nice chance to socialize with the managers and guests.

The staff in general is very friendly and several will get to know you by name. You wouldn't know it based on the service, but there is no additional tipping required (although we did give tips to a few staff who went out of their way for us). We also got to know several of the guests, who were very friendly and a mixed crowd (old/young, Americans/Brits). It was like a small community.

We never left the resort but felt like we didn't need to. We kayaked, paddle-boarded, snorkeled, swam and walked the beaches end-to-end. Didn't get a chance to go fishing, water skiing or ride on an inflatable chair towed behind a boat, but we talked to several guests who did and had a great time. The organized snorkel trip to a nearby reef was very good, and you can also snorkel on the left side of the beach. There were some organized walks that were offered but we missed them each day - too busy enjoying the beach! The fitness center was small with a few treadmills/ellipticals and a couple of weight machines. We didn't go the spa.

Overall, if you're looking for a place to relax, enjoy the beach and eat/drink well, this is a great place to do it. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Curtain Bluff over our anniversary (July 4 week) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were looking for an all inclusive without the hustle and bustle and loud music this time. Just wanted a relaxed and comfortable environment. We opted for the Grace Bay Suite and weren't disappointed. The room was gorgeous with a fantastic view of the ocean and breezes blowing through all day, keeping it cool and comfortable. The bedroom and bath were air conditioned, so totally comfortable for sleeping and showering.
Reading some of the other reviews, we were a bit apprehensive that the service might not be all that great, but it was fine. Any time we wanted drinks, we dialed room service and they brought them right up. Had a meal on our balcony for our anniversary that was delightful. The food was excellent and the wine choices were fantastic. We really enjoyed the no hassle all inclusiveness as well. Want to take out a hobie cat or paddle board or kayak, just go down to the watersports hut and they'll drag it out to the beach for you. Snorkeling? Right in front of the resort. Scuba diving, just sign up and show up the next morning at 9 and you're good to go. No hassles, no difficulties in getting equipment, just good service. Lots of nice places to relax on the beach and very frequent visits by the waiter bringing drinks.
All in all, we thought it was a wonderful place and we couldn't have been more pleased.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice, but the bluff rooms are a bit of a hike up the hill. If you can swing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I put quite a bit of effort in planning the perfect vacation and Curtain Bluff did not disappoint! We decided to go all out and book the Morris Bay suite and WOW, what a room and what a great property. Starting from our arrival and drinks from the bar served to our magnificent suite to the views of the Ocean, Jacuzzi on the patio, large living room and the visits from the Finch's buzzing around the open area…It was fantastic.
The food… well all I can say is it was over the top! Fresh caught Mai-Mai, Snapper, Tuna each day. A wide variety of salads, (shrimp, chicken, Lobster) and each day, and that was just Lunch! Dinner and breakfast was just a wonderful! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and weather serving a meal, bringing you room service or a drink on the beach always with a help and a smile!
The wine cellar was outstanding, and Javid took the time to show me around thus wetting my appetite to purchase form their vast selection wine for dinner each night! The Sugar Mill bar reminded me of the type of bar you could only imagine from Novels and stories time has forgotten.
I could go on and on, but I will say this place is at the Top of my list for accommodations, food and service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this trip to get away for a few days and just forget about the world. This was one of the most relaxing trips Ive ever been on. The resort is fantastic. The food was very good. This was not your typical all inclusive meal plan. The drinks were great as well. No issues with quantity or quality when it came to food and drink. All inclusive activities were great - we went snorkeling a few times, deep sea fishing (although they do have to fix their fishing boat - it broke down a few times while we were there), water skiing, etc. No tipping was neccesary but we did tip some of the sevice personnel for making our stay extra comfortable and simple. The other guests were very friendly and most had been here before at least 2-6 times - many repeat guests, which says alot about this resort since there are so many resorts in the carribean to choose from. Rooms were great . Any room is a good choice. We stayed in the Terrace Room for a few nights and a junior suite for a few nights. The Terrace Room was amazing - it had great views and the terrace is huge - if you can spend the extra, i would go with the Terrace Room. The junior suite room was great too - direct access to the beach - just not that private. One thing - Make sure you bring bug spray, there a sand flees and mosquitos -especailly during the beach bbq. defintely will return

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. We stayed in the Terrace Room for a few nights and a junior suite for a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

stayed here in June 2010, even though i stayed a while ago, i still recommend this hotel as it is one of my favourite hotels in the world, every friday we were invited up to the owners house on top of the cliff which had breathtaking views (i don't think any other owner would do that!)
If your thinking of going to Antigua then stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wrote a review for Curtain Bluff last year when my wife and I took a "family honeymoon" and brought all the kids to celebrate our marriage. So a year has passed and we decided to return to Curtain Bluff for our 1st wedding anniversary, and frankly to see what if anything may have changed since our last 2 visits. (We also took a 4-day hiatus to CB last October)
Like a fine wine, Curtain Bluff just gets better all the time! From the moment we exited the 1/2 hour taxi ride from the airport to be greeted by a "Welcome Back!" chorus and that much-anticipated iced washcloth, we thoroughly enjoyed the unlimited water sports, classic tennis, outrageously great food (3 superb meals a day) and the courtesy and hospitality of a wonderful staff. It all added up to another incredibly restful interlude.
We had a wonderful surprise when at our anniversary dinner the chef prepared a cake for us, and upon returning to our room we found a ribboned bottle of champagne on ice, with a lovely note from the management wishing us a Happy Anniversary. These are nice touches, but that's what Curtain Bluff is all about - nice touches everywhere: an attention to detail and comfort to which even a fussy and cantankerous traveler would give a nod of approval for its all-inclusive excellence and luxury.
We also treated ourselves to a luxurious couples de-stress massage the day after our arrival, which we would highly recommend as a great jump-start to getting relaxed.
If you enjoy a quieter time of the season, schools are still in session until the end of June so I would advise that to be a great time for couples to enjoy an enhanced peaceful time. But having been at Curtain Bluff in both school and off/school seasons, there's so much room to do so many things, the place never feels crowded. You can have as much solitude or social activitiy as you like.
The evening entertainment never fails to be a joyful and spontaneous time to hear local Antiguan music along with the standards for your listening or dancing pleasure. It all goes quiet at 11 pm, and then it's looking forward to another day in Paradise!
Curtain Bluff is indeed one of the most beautiful vacation spots in the world!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Bluff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
10.8 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#4 of 17 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#3 of 17 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 2,422 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#2 of 17 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curtain Bluff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curtain Bluff Resort

Address: Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Mary's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Curtain Bluff Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by water on both sides, Curtain Bluff sits on a rocky promontory (bluff) that juts into the sea between two beautiful beaches. One is calm, ideal for swimming and watersports; the other beach is washed by ocean surf. 72 Rooms and suites, all with staggering seascape views, are spread out along the Surf Beach and up the bluff. There are two restaurants: the open-walled Tamarind Tree serving breakfasts and candle-lit dinners, and the Beach Cafe & Bar, where barefoot-casual lunches are enjoyed one step from the sand and a few feet from the water's edge.The resort's exceptional facilities include a championship tennis center, a fully equipped watersports center (scuba, Windsurfing, paddle-boarding, waterskiing, Hobie Cats and kayaks), a squash court and fitness center. When it's time to relax, there's our tranquil spa overlooking the sea, a beachside swimming pool, a beach bar, and hammocks swaying in the shade of coconut palms.With the exception of a few above-and-beyond luxuries (Cuban cigars, vintage wines, spa treatments), everything is included in the room rate, making it one of the best values in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Curtain Bluff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curtain Bluff Hotel Bolans
Curtain Bluff Antigua
Curtain Bluff Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curtain Bluff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.