We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curtain Bluff Resort

Save Saved
You added Curtain Bluff Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Curtain Bluff Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Free Night Special
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Saint Mary's
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at CB for a week in June (our 2nd time) and we fell in love with the resort all over again! The resort and beach are beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food/drink are great.

We stayed in an oceanfront unit which has a great view of the secluded ocean-side beach. We went to sleep listening to the waves crashing outside the window. The room was nice (basic, but comfortable) and was just a few steps from the bar/restaurant and a short walk to the spa/fitness center/tennis or the bayside-beach/restaurant/pool. We were there in low season and felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves (note: even though it was busier our first time here, it never felt crowded). There was never a line for the restaurants or bars, never a problem finding a chair on the beach and never a wait for watersports.

The food and drink were excellent for an all-inclusive resort. The main restaurant serves breakfast and dinner (full menu), and the beach restaurant serves lunch (buffet or menu) and special dinners (there were 2 during our stay). The main restaurant food was very high-quality and each meal was good (some excellent, some OK). The lunch buffet was very good, with a few hot entrees and a large salad bar, or you can order sandwiches or a few entrees off the menu. Drinks were good and plentiful - there were several cocktails to choose from, house wine (which was OK) and a local draft beer or a few choices in bottles. You can also order fine wines off the wine list at an additional cost, and prices were reasonable (for a resort). There was a band at dinner each night - we enjoyed most of them, and some guests even danced. There was a manager's cocktail party in the spa that was a great setting and a nice chance to socialize with the managers and guests.

The staff in general is very friendly and several will get to know you by name. You wouldn't know it based on the service, but there is no additional tipping required (although we did give tips to a few staff who went out of their way for us). We also got to know several of the guests, who were very friendly and a mixed crowd (old/young, Americans/Brits). It was like a small community.

We never left the resort but felt like we didn't need to. We kayaked, paddle-boarded, snorkeled, swam and walked the beaches end-to-end. Didn't get a chance to go fishing, water skiing or ride on an inflatable chair towed behind a boat, but we talked to several guests who did and had a great time. The organized snorkel trip to a nearby reef was very good, and you can also snorkel on the left side of the beach. There were some organized walks that were offered but we missed them each day - too busy enjoying the beach! The fitness center was small with a few treadmills/ellipticals and a couple of weight machines. We didn't go the spa.

Overall, if you're looking for a place to relax, enjoy the beach and eat/drink well, this is a great place to do it. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    28
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
56
108
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Curtain Bluff over our anniversary (July 4 week) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were looking for an all inclusive without the hustle and bustle and loud music this time. Just wanted a relaxed and comfortable environment. We opted for the Grace Bay Suite and weren't disappointed. The room was gorgeous with a fantastic view of the ocean and breezes blowing through all day, keeping it cool and comfortable. The bedroom and bath were air conditioned, so totally comfortable for sleeping and showering.
Reading some of the other reviews, we were a bit apprehensive that the service might not be all that great, but it was fine. Any time we wanted drinks, we dialed room service and they brought them right up. Had a meal on our balcony for our anniversary that was delightful. The food was excellent and the wine choices were fantastic. We really enjoyed the no hassle all inclusiveness as well. Want to take out a hobie cat or paddle board or kayak, just go down to the watersports hut and they'll drag it out to the beach for you. Snorkeling? Right in front of the resort. Scuba diving, just sign up and show up the next morning at 9 and you're good to go. No hassles, no difficulties in getting equipment, just good service. Lots of nice places to relax on the beach and very frequent visits by the waiter bringing drinks.
All in all, we thought it was a wonderful place and we couldn't have been more pleased.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice, but the bluff rooms are a bit of a hike up the hill. If you can swing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I put quite a bit of effort in planning the perfect vacation and Curtain Bluff did not disappoint! We decided to go all out and book the Morris Bay suite and WOW, what a room and what a great property. Starting from our arrival and drinks from the bar served to our magnificent suite to the views of the Ocean, Jacuzzi on the patio, large living room and the visits from the Finch's buzzing around the open area…It was fantastic.
The food… well all I can say is it was over the top! Fresh caught Mai-Mai, Snapper, Tuna each day. A wide variety of salads, (shrimp, chicken, Lobster) and each day, and that was just Lunch! Dinner and breakfast was just a wonderful! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and weather serving a meal, bringing you room service or a drink on the beach always with a help and a smile!
The wine cellar was outstanding, and Javid took the time to show me around thus wetting my appetite to purchase form their vast selection wine for dinner each night! The Sugar Mill bar reminded me of the type of bar you could only imagine from Novels and stories time has forgotten.
I could go on and on, but I will say this place is at the Top of my list for accommodations, food and service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this trip to get away for a few days and just forget about the world. This was one of the most relaxing trips Ive ever been on. The resort is fantastic. The food was very good. This was not your typical all inclusive meal plan. The drinks were great as well. No issues with quantity or quality when it came to food and drink. All inclusive activities were great - we went snorkeling a few times, deep sea fishing (although they do have to fix their fishing boat - it broke down a few times while we were there), water skiing, etc. No tipping was neccesary but we did tip some of the sevice personnel for making our stay extra comfortable and simple. The other guests were very friendly and most had been here before at least 2-6 times - many repeat guests, which says alot about this resort since there are so many resorts in the carribean to choose from. Rooms were great . Any room is a good choice. We stayed in the Terrace Room for a few nights and a junior suite for a few nights. The Terrace Room was amazing - it had great views and the terrace is huge - if you can spend the extra, i would go with the Terrace Room. The junior suite room was great too - direct access to the beach - just not that private. One thing - Make sure you bring bug spray, there a sand flees and mosquitos -especailly during the beach bbq. defintely will return

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. We stayed in the Terrace Room for a few nights and a junior suite for a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

stayed here in June 2010, even though i stayed a while ago, i still recommend this hotel as it is one of my favourite hotels in the world, every friday we were invited up to the owners house on top of the cliff which had breathtaking views (i don't think any other owner would do that!)
If your thinking of going to Antigua then stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wrote a review for Curtain Bluff last year when my wife and I took a "family honeymoon" and brought all the kids to celebrate our marriage. So a year has passed and we decided to return to Curtain Bluff for our 1st wedding anniversary, and frankly to see what if anything may have changed since our last 2 visits. (We also took a 4-day hiatus to CB last October)
Like a fine wine, Curtain Bluff just gets better all the time! From the moment we exited the 1/2 hour taxi ride from the airport to be greeted by a "Welcome Back!" chorus and that much-anticipated iced washcloth, we thoroughly enjoyed the unlimited water sports, classic tennis, outrageously great food (3 superb meals a day) and the courtesy and hospitality of a wonderful staff. It all added up to another incredibly restful interlude.
We had a wonderful surprise when at our anniversary dinner the chef prepared a cake for us, and upon returning to our room we found a ribboned bottle of champagne on ice, with a lovely note from the management wishing us a Happy Anniversary. These are nice touches, but that's what Curtain Bluff is all about - nice touches everywhere: an attention to detail and comfort to which even a fussy and cantankerous traveler would give a nod of approval for its all-inclusive excellence and luxury.
We also treated ourselves to a luxurious couples de-stress massage the day after our arrival, which we would highly recommend as a great jump-start to getting relaxed.
If you enjoy a quieter time of the season, schools are still in session until the end of June so I would advise that to be a great time for couples to enjoy an enhanced peaceful time. But having been at Curtain Bluff in both school and off/school seasons, there's so much room to do so many things, the place never feels crowded. You can have as much solitude or social activitiy as you like.
The evening entertainment never fails to be a joyful and spontaneous time to hear local Antiguan music along with the standards for your listening or dancing pleasure. It all goes quiet at 11 pm, and then it's looking forward to another day in Paradise!
Curtain Bluff is indeed one of the most beautiful vacation spots in the world!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Bluff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at Curtain Bluff during the first week of June. Occupancy seemed very low, which is probably not so great for the resort, but was great for us. We stayed in room 45, with direct access to the beach from our patio. We felt like we had our own private beach all week, never seeing a single soul except for one person out for a stroll in the distance on our last day there. Breakfast was served daily to our patio where we enjoyed starting our day with the sound of waves crashing 50 feet away and the peaceful view of a long vacant beach and swaying palm trees. We made good use of the inviting hammock, hanging between two coconut trees just a few feet in front of our room. One evening, we were treated with a visit from a giant sea turtle that came ashore to lay eggs directly in front of our room.

Occupancy may have been low, but resort services were not skimped in the least. Excellent live entertainment was provided with every meal. The grounds were kept impeccably clean. Our room was cleaned twice a day, and turndown service welcomed us back to our room after dinner. The food was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the Italian dinner down on the beach.

The cabanas and chaise lounges were comfortable and well-attended by staff. We enjoyed a great snorkeling venture out to the reef. With two staff members joining just my wife and I in the water, we felt like VIPs. We saw lots of beautiful fish, several barracuda, and even a timid nurse shark, which swam directly beneath us.

I was a tiny bit nervous about the resort after reading a few negative reviews on trip advisor. This was, after all, our honeymoon; not something I wanted to screw up. I was relieved to find an experience that surpassed our expectations. Some of the facilities do show mild signs of wear, and the patio furniture and chaises on our beach seemed cheaply out of place. Other than that though, the entire resort had a very pleasant feel. The swimming pool and spa are particularly beautiful areas with beautiful plantings.

Most of all though, we enjoyed the privacy of our vacant beach and the wonderfully relaxing sounds of the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curtain Bluff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curtain Bluff Resort

Address: Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Mary's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Curtain Bluff Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by water on both sides, Curtain Bluff sits on a rocky promontory (bluff) that juts into the sea between two beautiful beaches. One is calm, ideal for swimming and watersports; the other beach is washed by ocean surf. 72 Rooms and suites, all with staggering seascape views, are spread out along the Surf Beach and up the bluff. There are two restaurants: the open-walled Tamarind Tree serving breakfasts and candle-lit dinners, and the Beach Cafe & Bar, where barefoot-casual lunches are enjoyed one step from the sand and a few feet from the water's edge.The resort's exceptional facilities include a championship tennis center, a fully equipped watersports center (scuba, Windsurfing, paddle-boarding, waterskiing, Hobie Cats and kayaks), a squash court and fitness center. When it's time to relax, there's our tranquil spa overlooking the sea, a beachside swimming pool, a beach bar, and hammocks swaying in the shade of coconut palms.With the exception of a few above-and-beyond luxuries (Cuban cigars, vintage wines, spa treatments), everything is included in the room rate, making it one of the best values in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Curtain Bluff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curtain Bluff Hotel Bolans
Curtain Bluff Antigua
Curtain Bluff Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curtain Bluff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.