We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Relaxing, Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curtain Bluff Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Curtain Bluff Resort to your Saves list
Curtain Bluff Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Specials
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing, Relaxing, Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this trip to get away for a few days and just forget about the world. This was one of the most relaxing trips Ive ever been on. The resort is fantastic. The food was very good. This was not your typical all inclusive meal plan. The drinks were great as well. No issues with quantity or quality when it came to food and drink. All inclusive activities were great - we went snorkeling a few times, deep sea fishing (although they do have to fix their fishing boat - it broke down a few times while we were there), water skiing, etc. No tipping was neccesary but we did tip some of the sevice personnel for making our stay extra comfortable and simple. The other guests were very friendly and most had been here before at least 2-6 times - many repeat guests, which says alot about this resort since there are so many resorts in the carribean to choose from. Rooms were great . Any room is a good choice. We stayed in the Terrace Room for a few nights and a junior suite for a few nights. The Terrace Room was amazing - it had great views and the terrace is huge - if you can spend the extra, i would go with the Terrace Room. The junior suite room was great too - direct access to the beach - just not that private. One thing - Make sure you bring bug spray, there a sand flees and mosquitos -especailly during the beach bbq. defintely will return

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. We stayed in the Terrace Room for a few nights and a junior suite for a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    30
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
116
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

stayed here in June 2010, even though i stayed a while ago, i still recommend this hotel as it is one of my favourite hotels in the world, every friday we were invited up to the owners house on top of the cliff which had breathtaking views (i don't think any other owner would do that!)
If your thinking of going to Antigua then stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wrote a review for Curtain Bluff last year when my wife and I took a "family honeymoon" and brought all the kids to celebrate our marriage. So a year has passed and we decided to return to Curtain Bluff for our 1st wedding anniversary, and frankly to see what if anything may have changed since our last 2 visits. (We also took a 4-day hiatus to CB last October)
Like a fine wine, Curtain Bluff just gets better all the time! From the moment we exited the 1/2 hour taxi ride from the airport to be greeted by a "Welcome Back!" chorus and that much-anticipated iced washcloth, we thoroughly enjoyed the unlimited water sports, classic tennis, outrageously great food (3 superb meals a day) and the courtesy and hospitality of a wonderful staff. It all added up to another incredibly restful interlude.
We had a wonderful surprise when at our anniversary dinner the chef prepared a cake for us, and upon returning to our room we found a ribboned bottle of champagne on ice, with a lovely note from the management wishing us a Happy Anniversary. These are nice touches, but that's what Curtain Bluff is all about - nice touches everywhere: an attention to detail and comfort to which even a fussy and cantankerous traveler would give a nod of approval for its all-inclusive excellence and luxury.
We also treated ourselves to a luxurious couples de-stress massage the day after our arrival, which we would highly recommend as a great jump-start to getting relaxed.
If you enjoy a quieter time of the season, schools are still in session until the end of June so I would advise that to be a great time for couples to enjoy an enhanced peaceful time. But having been at Curtain Bluff in both school and off/school seasons, there's so much room to do so many things, the place never feels crowded. You can have as much solitude or social activitiy as you like.
The evening entertainment never fails to be a joyful and spontaneous time to hear local Antiguan music along with the standards for your listening or dancing pleasure. It all goes quiet at 11 pm, and then it's looking forward to another day in Paradise!
Curtain Bluff is indeed one of the most beautiful vacation spots in the world!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Bluff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at Curtain Bluff during the first week of June. Occupancy seemed very low, which is probably not so great for the resort, but was great for us. We stayed in room 45, with direct access to the beach from our patio. We felt like we had our own private beach all week, never seeing a single soul except for one person out for a stroll in the distance on our last day there. Breakfast was served daily to our patio where we enjoyed starting our day with the sound of waves crashing 50 feet away and the peaceful view of a long vacant beach and swaying palm trees. We made good use of the inviting hammock, hanging between two coconut trees just a few feet in front of our room. One evening, we were treated with a visit from a giant sea turtle that came ashore to lay eggs directly in front of our room.

Occupancy may have been low, but resort services were not skimped in the least. Excellent live entertainment was provided with every meal. The grounds were kept impeccably clean. Our room was cleaned twice a day, and turndown service welcomed us back to our room after dinner. The food was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the Italian dinner down on the beach.

The cabanas and chaise lounges were comfortable and well-attended by staff. We enjoyed a great snorkeling venture out to the reef. With two staff members joining just my wife and I in the water, we felt like VIPs. We saw lots of beautiful fish, several barracuda, and even a timid nurse shark, which swam directly beneath us.

I was a tiny bit nervous about the resort after reading a few negative reviews on trip advisor. This was, after all, our honeymoon; not something I wanted to screw up. I was relieved to find an experience that surpassed our expectations. Some of the facilities do show mild signs of wear, and the patio furniture and chaises on our beach seemed cheaply out of place. Other than that though, the entire resort had a very pleasant feel. The swimming pool and spa are particularly beautiful areas with beautiful plantings.

Most of all though, we enjoyed the privacy of our vacant beach and the wonderfully relaxing sounds of the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at Curtain Bluff and all we can say is "Fantastic". When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the receptionist and served a cool sea breeze cocktail to accompany our tour. We had a Deluxe Room on The Bluff which was fabulous with spectacular view over the bay. The room was spacious, well designed and tastefully decorated with a huge shower room separate to the bathroom. Our room was cleaned daily, fresh sheets and towels every day and a turn-down service in the evening.

The food, well what can I say, you certainly feel like you are dining in a Michelin Star restaurant everyday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Everything is fresh and superbly cooked and presented. All the staff are extremely friendly, warm and helpful. Nothing is too much for them, they just want to make your stay perfect. And perfect it was - we couldn't and still can't think of anything that could have been done to improve our holiday.

The beach staff are great and extremely helpful and Leon keeps your thirst at bay all day long - thanks Leon! If you don't fancy any of the water sports there's plenty more activities behind the beach too!

Ideally we would like to keep this place a secret but that would be unfair to all at Curtain Bluff and any of you reading this review. If you stay at Curtain Bluff you will certainly return time and time again.

Room Tip: Take a room on The Bluff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We've stayed here numerous times and it just gets better and better. from the moment you check in, to being shown to your suite, the beach, the service, selection at all meal times, the peace and quiet, the fun, the staff.......I won't go on. Just try it yourself. We had a beach suite on the beach complete with lapping waves, sea breeze, a very romantic setting after a wonderful breakfast. It's safe, quality and very 'more-able'.

Room Tip: there are two levels: one right out onto the beach and one first floor. We wanted to open the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided upon Curtain Bluff as the destination for our honeymoon on the back of the reviews on Tripadvisor and we are so glad we chose it. From the very moment we landed the service was excellent, the hotel organised a taxi to pick us up from the airport which arrived very promptly and took us on the 30min transfer to the hotel. Antigua itself is very beautiful.

Once we arrived at the hotel the service was as you would expect from a luxury hotel, we were offered cold towels, a drink and our bags were taken from the taxi to our room. The check in service was plain and simple and within no time we were ready to take a look around our new home from home. We weren't disappointed, the hotel was as we expected and were liked our room, we maybe would have preferred one a bit further up the Bluff (we had Room 59) but it was still a very nice room. Note, the rooms up the bluff all have a number of steps to get to them so if you are looking to book one of these then bear that in mind.

Scuba Diving:

The instructors we had Junior, Jensen and Bush were all very good there are around 5 different dive sites around Curtain Bluff and they do diving every day between 9-10 unfortunately this is the only time they do it, but for us this worked fine was a great way to start the day. The sites themselves are good, not the most amazing sites to dive ever but definitely not the worst and tie this with the fact we saw loads of fish, lobsters and even managed to see a shark, a turtle and a sting ray all in all excellent scuba diving made even better by the instructors themselves.

Hobi Cats:

My wife and I hadn't done this before, so we had 2 lessons with the instructors and then went out on our own as well, was great fun and definitely something to do if you get chance

Water Skiing:

Once again all the instructors we had on this were excellent and by the end of it I had managed to get up and stay up as well, so that is testament to the Guys but once again to have this included and allowed to do it as much as you like was fantastic.

Food:

We found the food to be excellent, whilst we were there (and I believe it does change) the breakfast was from an al a carte menu and you could order everything from fruit platter, full English to pancakes. We would recommend the banana pancakes and the eggs benedict (not together....) both were excellent! But it all seemed very good and as always the service was excellent.
The lunch menu was also very good, this was a hybrid of an al a carte menu which didn't change but had a wide range of things on it like club sandwiches, burgers etc to the buffet selection which was a big salad bar and then a mix of BBQ chicken, fish with various other main choices eg. chicken curry. Overall the lunch menu was fantastic and probably our favourite meal of the day.
For dinner once again it was an al carte menu although it was fairly limited in choice, and tended to be fairly similar from day to day although they do have 2 restaurants with the Sea Grape one being open 3 or 4 nights a week and this provide a good alternative. Although in both the food was good, we didn't find it had the wow factor we maybe be expected, but as mentioned the food was still good quality.

Drinks:

Obviously all the drinks are inclusive apart from the wines on the wine list, I found the beer very good and my wife found the spirits to be very good as well including Grey Goose Vodka which was nice to see. A lot of the spirits that some hotels would charge a premium for were included, which was very refreshing to see. The only slight negative was we found the house white and red not to our taste, but that could be more us then anything else, the Rose on the other hand was very good.

Service:

Overall one of the massive plus points for Curtain Bluff is the overall service and this is from every member of staff you meet in the resort all the way from Chelle as the owner through all the various members of staff they are all very helpful and always have a smile on their face and happy to help. The attention to detail was very good, and the general level of service was the best we'd come across in our travels.

Rooms:

As mentioned we had room 59 and found this to be a very good room, although maybe would have liked one further up the bluff but only because the views get even better. The size of the room was very good, the bed itself was a good size and we had both a shower and a bath. The one negative on the room front for us was getting the mini bar stocked up, it seemed to take a number of phone calls to make this happen and to be honest I would expect someone to notice what we had drunk, and therefore liked, and re-stock that but a very minor point.



Recommendations:

If booking a room on the Bluff and if you're Ok with steps ask for one as high up the bluff as possible, although all the rooms seem to be very good from listening to other guests. Overall recommendation if you're reading this review and therefore looking to book Curtain Bluff would be to just do it, we did the same thing and didn't regret it one bit in fact would recommend it to anyone and would love to return at some point in the very near future.

Room Tip: Rooms: As mentioned we had room 59 and found this to be a very good room, although maybe would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curtain Bluff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curtain Bluff Resort

Address: Old Road, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Curtain Bluff Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by water on both sides, Curtain Bluff sits on a rocky promontory (bluff) that juts into the sea between two beautiful beaches. One is calm, ideal for swimming and watersports; the other beach is washed by ocean surf. 72 Rooms and suites, all with staggering seascape views, are spread out along the Surf Beach and up the bluff. There are two restaurants: the open-walled Tamarind Tree serving breakfasts and candle-lit dinners, and the Beach Cafe & Bar, where barefoot-casual lunches are enjoyed one step from the sand and a few feet from the water's edge.The resort's exceptional facilities include a championship tennis center, a fully equipped watersports center (scuba, Windsurfing, paddle-boarding, waterskiing, Hobie Cats and kayaks), a squash court and fitness center. When it's time to relax, there's our tranquil spa overlooking the sea, a beachside swimming pool, a beach bar, and hammocks swaying in the shade of coconut palms.With the exception of a few above-and-beyond luxuries (Cuban cigars, vintage wines, spa treatments), everything is included in the room rate, making it one of the best values in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Curtain Bluff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curtain Bluff Hotel Bolans
Curtain Bluff Antigua
Curtain Bluff Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curtain Bluff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.