We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change from the galley!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Restaurant

East Restaurant
Carlisle Bay Hotel, Saint Mary's, Antigua
268 484 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 restaurants in Saint Mary's
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seaforth, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A change from the galley!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For a hotel that charges 19$US plus tax and service of 25 o/o for a gin and tonic East is surprisingly not extortionate. The service is excellent and the food, which is a choice from Japanese, Indonesian or Thai exceeds expectations. East is great for a special occasion.
As we are anchored in the bay on our sail boat it is nice to be able to use a well maintained dinghy dock.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    17
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food is outstanding, the service is outstanding and it is right at Carlisle Bay (where we were staying). Even if the restaurant was not at the hotel we would have made the trip. A fantastic restaurant!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Welcome Change of Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

East is one of two restaurants at the all-inclusive Carlisle Bay Resort. We were staying at another
all-inclusive, but needed a change of pace and, in this case, change of taste. We'd visited for lunch and dinner at the sister restaurant, Indigo on the Beach, and our experience more than justified a dinner at East. Unlike the open-air Indigo which offers tables on the edge of the beach, East is an enclosed, air-conditioned, interior, boxy, high-ceilinged space in need of warmth and ambience. On a balmy Caribbean night, confinement in East is a bit of a downer. The situation of the diningroom and the fact that occupancy at Carlisle Bay seemed low is probably why the restaurant was very quiet when we dined on 12/28/12.

The experience was salvaged by a wonderfully diverse Asian menu. We sampled sushi, sashimi, spring rolls, with Thai curried prawns and Indonesian mee goreng entrees. On islands, like Antigua, one worries about the quality and freshness of more exotic, less local, fare. But, at East our fears were allayed. The food was consistently very good. The wine list at East was also much better than one would normally anticipate in the islands. There were lots of great, relatively well priced options.

Overall, we welcomed and enjoyed the change of taste at East.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“High Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

High quality Pan-Asian restaurant which caters for those not wanting to use the main dining room each night. Sushi & Sashimi very good and a good variety of Asian dishes

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This restaurant food was very good.The service good and the food very tasty.Large room so probably needed a bit more atmosphere with plants etc etc but we went a few times and food was excellent

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Restaurant also viewed

Saint Mary's, Antigua
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 

Been to East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.