We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, great for families or a destination wedding.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Verandah Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Verandah Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Verandah Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SPRING SALE UP TO 35% OFF
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Mississauga,Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, great for families or a destination wedding.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I and our friends had the chance to visit this resort when we were staying at their sister resort St. James Club. The duty manager was nice enough to give us a tour of the property as we were in the area and wanted to see the features they had. We were very impressed and all plan to come back and stay at the Verandah soon. Some things that stood out in comparison to St. James Club were the two small but very nice beaches, the large pool and the mini golf. As well, there seemed to be more energy at this resort, the service seems to be much better from staff and the layout and grounds were very nice. I was concerned based on past reviews that the resort was too hilly and therefore chose a different location for my destination wedding but in hindsight I wish I had ignored those comments and checked out the Verandah for myself as it is a great resort for a destination wedding. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    764
    221
    95
    28
See reviews for
792
1,198
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I had a weeks break and chose Antigua and importantly The Verandah Resort and Spa.
We had a superb time and the weather was brilliant
I will try to bullet point the real advantages of staying at this venue ( in no particular order).

The location is set in extensive well kept beautiful grounds
The 2 beaches are wonderful with safe swimming,white sand beaches
The 2 pools are lovely with loads of sun beds and shade
The rooms are very well appointed, clean with comfortable beds and with great views of the bays and the wildlife.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
The food and drinks are again excellent Special mention to the Chefs and in particular the Executive Chef. He works hard to produce high quality restaurant and buffet meals with his team.
The management team are visible and approachable.
My wife and I would definitely return to the Verandah and happily commend a stay to friends and family

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Celebrated our 30th in September at the verandah. A great place. Clean and well looked after. Staff at the main bar and buffet go out of their way to help you out. A big shout out to Alicia, Justine and Shane. These three go the extra mile. Food was amazing. Anything you could want and more. Get the waterfront room. It's worth it. Drinks are generous, had to ask them to tame them down a bit after a while. Take the tour with Elmo ! It's worth every penny. Informative and comfortable. Thanks Elmo. Thanks Verandah. Untill next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront that faces the Atlantic breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Would definitely go again. No complaints. Food good and the Staff were so kind and friendly.
I cannot walk too far, but that wasn't a problem as they use golf buggies to collect you and take you anywhere on site. Even if you are not disabled they have 'Bus Stops' everywhere.
A lovely island too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Have just returned from another wonderful week in paradise... the Verandah Resort and Spa. The staff are so friendly and obliging. The food and accommodation is of a very high standard. We ate a steak in Nicoles which was better than we had in the Waldorf Astoria New York in January. We have returned sun tanned, relaxed and recharged and looking forward to another visit next year.

Room Tip: The Sea View rooms are a little more expensive but we thought well worth it. We had a direct view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time in Antigua at the Verandah Resort. We went in July and were fortunate to have great weather except for some light rain twice during the day (it rained several times at night whlle we were sleeping, but that never affected our plans). We definitetely recommend a waterfront room... the view is amazing! The grounds were gorgeous and we loved that they grow their own bananas and tamarin, as well as some other produce. The main beach was our favorite with plenty of loungers, paddle boards, hobie cats, etc. We swam, snorkeled, and lounged in the turquoise water for hours. It is important to remember that you are in the Caribbean and on vacation and thus a relaxed mental attitude is a pre-requisite. I was surprised how uptight some people still were. We were definitely not THOSE people. We had fun! The food was decent, ranging from good to okay, depending on the restaurant and/or situation. However, this seems to be the case with all-inclusives. The drinks were definitely a highlight, and a big part of why we didn't care if the food wasn't perfect! :) The service was good, ranging from excellent and friendly to slow and less-than-friendly. Again, please refer to previous comments about relaxed attitude and good drinks, which really helped us to keep things in perspective. What really could we complain about?..... we were in paradise! This island is gorgeous with a lot of fun activities during the day (try the sting-ray and rain forest excursions). This is not a prime spot for night time entertainment, however we found the company of other guests entertaining and one band good enough to get everyone dancing. Bring your swimsuit, SUNSCREEN, and smile....you'll love it!

Room Tip: Waterfront if you like a good view and close proximity to beach. Noise wasn't an issue for us at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I came here at the end of April, the people were wonderful, Antigua is a beautiful island and the hotel is lovely,Only a couple of gripes for us really. Nicoles was raved about in many reviews (the a la carte restaurant you pay extra for) we were fortunate to have been given this complimentary, ( we would have been disappointed to have paid) my lobster was so awful I hid it under the rice, my hubby had never had it before and when he asked if I enjoyed my meal I couldnt lie,,,, it was awful!!! he said thank goodness you said the same!!! I thought Lobster was supposed to taste like rubber!!! Our main gripe was that .... an american t v crew were staying and filming at the resort - we feel like we should have been informed of this at booking because in truth we would have changed resorts!!! they were loud, rude took over every area they were at!!! areas of the hotel were closed for filming as were local attractions. The staff were lovely but the crew took preference when service was required, I do feel disappointed that we wrote personally to the manager and havent had any sort of a response. I would recommend the Verandah!!! but definitely not if they are going to have some sort of event there!!! regards Carolyn Andrews

Room Tip: Request a sea front room for beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Verandah Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.