We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Verandah Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Verandah Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Verandah Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SPECIAL WINTER DEALS!!!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Kings Park, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Family went June 28 - July 5th.

Grounds: Outstanding, very clean. A fair amount of walking to get from here to there but helps work off your over eating on vacation!

Staff: Very friendly. Some of the bar tenders forgot to take their happy pills but all were fast and efficient - so I really cant complain.

Rooms; Very clean and water views are awesome. A/C worked great giving everything a chance to dry, unlike other tropical places we've been.

Beaches: Main beach not crowded, water activities always available. Fantastic views! Rasta beach quite and equally beautiful! We also spent a lot of time at Long Bay Beach, probably the best beach we've ever been too. Coral reefs on the right side are awesome! Just make right out of the main gate -- worth it!

Food: just right. Choices not as plentiful as other places we've been but food was very good. Typically waited for food at the grill but food quality and views make it worth every minute!

Excursions: We only did a couple, Sunday night at Shirley Heights and Rain Forest Ziplining - worth the effort/$. Ran to Devils Bridge national park just about every morning, don't forget to go down grass paths on right side for awesome views off the cliffs!

Antigua: Safe and Beautiful

Conclusion: we'll be back!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    701
    201
    93
    28
See reviews for
735
1,098
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had a short stay here and was for business.
Not the obvious choice for business, but like trying different settings and hotels.
It had a promising start (note that you are very far from everything), I liked the scenery and the first impression of the staff.

Although routers in each room (or compound) I had my hazzle.
First step when you arrive is to ask (10usd per day) for internet access (overpriced). If you make the mistake like me to go directly to your room without a code, you actually need to physically go back for one!!! stoneage approach.
Secondly, they were unable to help with the connection, so I had to go to the public areas.
Need to mention that I had to pay for the internet still upon leaving!
To the "defence of the hotel" I told management this in detail and had a good, clear and sufficient response.

I like the fact that you don't get the same "all inclusive feeling" as you do many other places. You have more free space and possibility to escape the hordes.

Not impressed by the food, but then again, I never am at any all inclusive hotels.

Rooms ok, and big.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We would like to thank you first and foremost and tell you that we do appreciate our guests sending in their comments. We see the gift of feedback as an opportunity to consistently improve our guests' experience while with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the surroundings and our staff.

Internet connectivity is available complimentary in all the public areas. At times, as in many island settings, there is a problem with connectivity but we make every effort to address these problems immediately. We make available phone and fax lines so that guests who need to conduct business or stay in touch with loved ones at home can do so.

We host hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews among our guests. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free stay in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean.

We strive to deliver the best possible vacation experience imaginable and look forward to greeting future guests with a vacation that exceeds expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked this without reference to Trip Advisor [!] having been personally recommended by 3 colleagues - we then read some of the reviews and were worried... but we needn’t have been.

Location - The resort is a distance away from any town, but onsite car hire enabled us to see the island [get a good map as there are little, if any, road signs] and the resort also has weekly visitors offering boat trips & souvenirs, which was good. Other island locations such as Jolly Harbour are better, but the hotel is not in the same league!

Restaurant - Yes there are birds of a morning, despite the windows being shut (they fly through when you walk through the doors), but as long as you leave one of your party at your table they don't bother you - the price you pay for being in a tropical vegetation/garden environment I suppose. Food buffet style was good, with significant choice, but repeated after one week (we stayed for 2), but the Buccaneer’s Restaurant (inclusive) provided for a nice change. There is Nico’s Restaurant available at a premium, but we didn’t feel the need to try it out.

Rooms - It would have been nice if the bed area could have been cordoned off from the living area, especially if you were more than 2 to a room (we weren't). The beds are firm, but mattress-toppers are readily provided. Verandahs nearly all round are great to relax, but are not that private. No separate shower, but an over-sized bath accommodates for that along with 2 sinks. Aircon is a bit loud, but it's the tree frogs that will keep you awake to start with as their croaking sounds like city car alarms at first!

Pools - These are for cooling-off, not for serious swimmers, since the depth is 3'11" - personally I like that. Good size and 3 to choose from. We found the adult pool especially nice as it was exceedingly quiet (probably because there was no bar - but water is provided as well as toilets) away from the main centre and had shade as well as electric points to recharge all those i-gadgets! And wifi too (albeit rather weak).

Other areas - The Mini Golf is fabulous although out of the way, but near the 2nd Bar and 2nd beach (which was virtually empty when we were there).

Beach - relatively small compared to others on the island, but great to relax or try your hand at all sorts of water sports. The staff are excellent is helping you with any activity, even sailing you around the bay if you lack the skills!

Beach Bar & Grill - great service & choice, albeit a walk up steps from the beach - we ate there most often as it's also open on some evenings

Overall – The resort & Island is ‘good’. We didn’t find any “wow” factor, hence the 4* rating, but nothing was missing; perhaps those elements to make 5* are merely superficial anyway?

Room Tip: Best sea view rooms ae 163-183, or anything near the main pool. Any other rooms and you might find y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went for a week to The Verandah Resort in June. It exceeded all my expectations. I've never done an all inclusive holiday before and this was lovely. Large, sprawling, well tended gardens and all accommodation is beach bungalows on stilts. Beware that it is quite hilly and covers a large area so you do end up walking alot every day which might not suit all people. Lots of humming birds, hermit crabs and butterflies everywhere as well as an interesting array of insects (we saw a tarantula one evening!). It has two private beaches - both are heaven - white sand and clear turquoise sea. One is a quiet beach and one has all the water sports. Am not a fan of going in sea, but there wasn't a ripple on it, it was so clean and inviting that I was in there every day! Alot fish to see so borrow their gear and go snorkelling. Whatever time we arrived at either beach, we could still find a sun lounger in the shade (the sun is very strong there!). They have a full itinerary every day which you can choose to do. None of it needs booking. Walks, gym classes, aqua aerobics, sailing, kayaking, wind surfing, tennis (actually this is the only one that does need booking). All are free and the tuition is great. Free drinks - alchoholic and soft drinks all day and a choice of four restaurants (one for breakfast, two for lunch and 2-3 for dinner) - so not all open at all times. One of the four has an extra charge but is well worth it ($25 each) - we had lobster and it was delicious! Do book the good restaurants 24 hours out as they are alot better than the buffet restaurant. Mix of people there - couples, families, older people - but all friendly. The staff were amazing. Mostly locals and alot who had been there since the place opened six years ago. All so helpful, cheerful and couldn't do enough for you. Lots of day trips you can do which cost extra - we didn't as there was so much to do onsite and we were only there for a week. We did go scuba diving offsite which was amazing (boat ride out was rather hair raising!). The decor in the rooms I thought was a bit plain and possibly a bit dated but it was spacious and perfectly clean and comfortable. All round a lovely trip - beautiful and relaxing. I did mention that my pillow was too hard and a new soft one showed up by that night!

Room Tip: All rooms have A/C. If you don't want to walk far, then ask for a room near to the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When I made reservations at the Verandah Resort for my family, I was told that the resort is an all-inclusive resort. I found the cost to be expensive, but I was told that all meals, drinks, and activities would be covered in the cost. When we got there, we discovered that one of the restaurants required a $30 per person additional charge. My husband and children were told that they could not use the sailboats because of the wind (really?), and we had to wait for about an hour for hamburgers and pizza. My son ordered the same drink at the bar that he had previously and was told that they did not have the ingredients. When he said that he had already had one, he was told "no you didn't". While the property is beautiful, the staff is only average. It is also located about as far from anything as you can get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Verandah Resort & Spa. We value guest comments as a way to continuously improve the vacation experience.

We host hundreds of guests every week, the vast majority who tell us both in online reviews and forums and guest satisfaction surveys that they thoroughly enjoy all aspects of the resort with special emphasis on our gracious and friendly staff.

We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. Please take the time to read the other very positive reviews left by recent guests and know that we are always working to maintain our usual high levels of guest satisfaction.

Antigua is a fantastic island for a very full, authentic Caribbean holiday experience and The Verandah Resort and Spa provides a perfect setting for an island retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a week long beach break with guaranteed warm weather and complete relaxation, we found it at Verandah Resort & Spa. From the glass of sparkling wine on arrival and right through our stay they staff at the Resort provided friendly service and were always smiling.

The food served in the main sea breeze restaurant was of excellent quality and there was a different theme each night so always something new to try. The breakfast buffet provided something for everyone from traditional full english, to cold meats, omelettes or waffles. We mainly had lunch at the Beach Bar & Grill which again served excellent food and good cocktails off of the menu.

We chose a Water Front Villa as the terrace gave us an unobstructed view of the bay, and was great for relaxing on before heading out in the evening. The room was spacious and the air-conditioning was superbly efficient. The rooms were kept immaculately clean by the ever smiling staff. A great feature of the hotel was that they have their own fresh water supply so drinking water from the taps was not an issue.

There were plenty of activities to keep you occupied for a week as well as the obvious relaxing on a sun bed and swimming in the sea. We did venture to Shirley Heights for the Sunday evening party which was good fun but slightly pricey so bring some cash (as there are no ATMs) if you are going to eat and drink. Sting Ray City was an awesome experience swimming with Sting Rays in the Atlantic Ocean. The helicopter trip to Montserrat was a thoroughly interesting experience as well.

I would definitely recommend the resort if you want a week stress free week away in the Caribbean Sunshine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I arrived on 6/29 after a sleepless crazy month. We arrived at Verandah to happy people, warm smiles and a glass of champagne. We were brought to our clean room and opened up the blinds to reveal our balcony overlooking a beautiful bay. Great start!! Then, one by one we started meeting all the staff and making friend after friend with other visitors. Every day was beautiful. Property is well-maintained and naturally beautiful. Food changed daily and there was plenty of choices for all different pallets. Beaches were very nice and pools as well-especially adult pool w waterfall. Anyone complaining about this place @ $119 a night is pompous and out of their mind. Go and enjoy!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah Resort & Spa

Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Verandah Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
The Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Verandah Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.