We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verandah Resort - Matt & Deb C” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verandah Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Verandah Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Verandah Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 50% Off!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Saint Philip
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Verandah Resort - Matt & Deb C”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Verandah visiting from the 6th-13th of October and this was possibly one of the nicest resorts we have stayed in the Carribean. The staff were fantastic and found nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were spotless the food was always delivered to a high stadard and with plenty of variety. You are made to feel welcome from the minute you arrive by Myriam the resort Manager who takes a personal interest in all of the guests. We were so impressed that we are intending a return visit in the new year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,107
    629
    175
    85
    25
See reviews for
679
998
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all shop very expensive try to avoid ,if you do go shopping by snacks out ,make sure you take enough suntan lotion especially for kids SPF 50 sun very strong, day trips very expensive, be-careful you still have to pay for your own travel on some day trips. not a lot of trips for young children St John's not a lot of shops, taxi's do not charge half price for kids .
Wonderful beaches. Most of the bands in the evening sing the same songs, same band on same day each week they need new bands,entertainment . Food not very impressed Buchaneers has same menu for quite a few days, need to change each night also hair found in child's food. Sea breeze breakfast very nice but quite greasy.I think it all depends when you go ,what the menu for lunch and dinner will be, again same menu each day of the week. Bar Grill very good food, will alter any dish for you. Nicole will also charge a child adult price shame you don't get the air conditioning in the main restaurant like Nicole but then I suppose the birds in the restaurant flying about is the air conditioning.
Iran,Shane,Kieran and Noel fantastic staff very friendly and polite, all staff were friendly but these ones stood out and went the extra mile.
The Spa is lovely the deep muscle massage out of this world, double check if you get discount or a free body scrub, was not really explained.
One beach not for wheelchairs, people who can not climb stairs as 40 steps not catered for disability, also bugs prams will need to be carried down steps, this is the active beach where a lot of children go. The quiet beach does have access to above but hardly any children go on this beach.
overall a very nice ,pleasant ,relaxing resort,secluded from the rest of the island. Only way to see the rest of the island is taxi, long beach 5 minutes walk away. Good but have been to better islands in the Caribbean where they have focused on the food.
Kids club very good, my children enjoyed very much.

Room Tip: If you have children request room next to main pool . So you don't need to travel far to main ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased your children enjoyed the Kids Club and overall you enjoyed the resort and vacation with us. The cost of the day trips and taxis are not set by the hotel but by the independent businesses, we are sorry if it was not made clear that some trips did not include travel. With regards to the entertainment we do try to offer a variety of bands and musicians so the programme varies throughout the week, however we have noted your feedback. We have checked all our records and there is no mention of a hair being found in the food and reported, if you did report it at the time this would have been followed up with Management during your stay. We apologise that you had this experience, all our kitchen staff work within the standard Health and Safety guidelines set out so this sort of situation should not happen. All your comments will be passed onto the Management, thank you for choosing The Verandah Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked this resort after reading the reviews here and looking through both our tour operator's and the resort websites, so we knew pretty much all we could before arriving; however the resort still to be beyond our expectations, so for a romantic, peaceful, get-away-from-it-all holiday we were extremely pleased with the Verandah. I'll now add some more substance so you can make your own mind up if this is the place for you.

The Verandah sits on the Atlantic side of Antigua so it is the other end of the island from St John's the capital and really the only place that would have outside of resort nightlife so as we weren't after clubbing type night entertainment it was perfect. There is a nightly band or DJ or group on every night but it does end at 11PM, as the Verandah is situated in the National Park area and therefore has strict noise rules applied, again fine with us as we had a room close to the main pool which meant we weren't overly worried if we just fancied a quiet night.

As for resort size and room placement, almost everything happens around the main pool, Seabreeze (the buffet restaurant), Nicole's and Buccaneers (the a la carte restaurants) and the main bar are all just a very short walk from the main pool so no worries for us. However if you do get a room closer to the reception area then, yes, you will have to walk a little way or ask for a golf cart ride, but given the food and portions you can have this may be a benefit in either working up an appetite or walking your meal off!! Reception to our room by the pool took a slow 10 minute walk no more so in our mind the spread of the resort is minimal and shouldn't be a problem for anyone.

The Rooms are all the same and you pay extra for a view of the water or being on the beachfront; they are spacious, clean, well presented and housekeeping make your first venture into the room lovely with adding local flower blooms. The beds are firm, which may not suit everyone but my wife who normally has a soft mattress managed a good sleep every night despite this.

The beaches are at each end of the resort, with the main beach being the one with the watersports equipment whilst the "Rasta" beach, by reception, is quieter and less occupied. Although not strictly private beaches in that this is national park area, they cannot be reached by outside clients as you need to go through the main reception or arrive by sea to get to them so this lends an air of exclusivity, which was nice. The resort was filling up more as we left and was probably close to 75% full but we never had any issues with getting room or seats close to the pool or on any of the beaches.

As for drinks, the "Rasta" beach has its own beach bar, the main beach has the Beach Grill above it (a flight of 20+ steps) and the main pool is a very short walk from the main bar; however both the adult-only pool and main beach had coolers of drinks placed close by in case you didn't want to walk too far, a nice touch we thought and if anything ran out then just asking the staff brought replenishment. Also all areas have fresh beach towels laid out every day, so no need to take towels from the rooms, though the welcome pack did talk about exchanging a beach towel token which needed returning at end of trip or forfeiting $25, we talked with the staff as we didn't have on and this practice has been stopped. So just pick up a towel or 2 and off you go.
The beaches are also cleaned everyday so any vegetation washed ashore is removed and the sand stays its glorious white colour.

A number of negative reviews have complained about the food but we found it to be great. The buffet style of Seabreeze is nice and easy for breakfast with a good selection with cereals, fruit, fresh cooked eggs and omelettes, pastries, bacon, muffins and much much more. The buffet theme remains throughout Seabreeze and changes style nightly, so you can dine Indian, BBQ, Mediterranean or Caribbean during your stay and of course gorge yourself to your hearts or rather stomach's content!! The Beach Grill, Nicole's and Buccaneers are a al carte and the choice is therefore less but still more than adequate; steaks, fish, vegetarian, local etc. Yes only certain of these 3 restaurants are open each night but it means you can jump around and enjoy slightly different choices each night but be flexible in your eating times or be prepared to book early as all 3 of these restaurants need booking, preferably the day before (you can't book more than 24hrs in advance for any). The food in all was great though we didn't eat in Nicole's, mainly as we thought the $30 per head extra was a bit steep for the difference of ordering local lobster and having air-con! (Probably the only real gripe we had in our whole holiday, but it didn't detract from anything as the rest of the food more than made up for it)

Right onto the the more contentious bit from previous reviews, only Nicole's is air-conditioned, therefore all the others are essentially open to the elements, though fans are on and keep you cool. This did not cause us any issues and daytime temps for us were 32deg C. With the restaurants being open the local wildlife does come to visit, in Seabreeeze this means a few birds during breakfast and lunch but we never saw more than 6 at a time, they only ever went for food that had been scrapped off plates on the waiters tray tables and staff tried to prevent even this by covering much of it with plates but due to the buffet style and many people over filling their plates there was always some wastage. However the birds never went further into the restaurant than about 10-12 feet from the windows and never went near the buffet itself which was much further back, we also never saw any of them defecate on furniture. There are also a few cats that can be seem around the main bar and beach grill areas but again they proved no hazard and did not attempt to steal food as I've seen in other places.

We didn't mind the wildlife and actually it added a bit of charm for us so make of it what you will. If you wish to be completely sanitised in your dining experience, and by that I in no way mean that the food or tableware wasn't absolutely spotless in cleanliness and presentation it always was, then maybe the Verandah isn't for you.

The staff at the Verandah was what made it top-notch for us. We were always greeted with a smile and made to feel special, in fact almost like a big family at times. In the restaurants, Shane and Tanya stood out for us with great personalities and very good service; Shane will chat with you about everything and he is a great source of info about Antigua and he is passionate about his job which was a pleasure to see. Tanya was always very pleasant and made sure we were always well looked after as she did for all her guests, a real benefit to the resort.

Our first few days did not get off well as my wife suffered a very bad migraine headache which caused very severe nausea and needed a doctor's visit; Guest services helped so much it meant we could get back to enjoying our holiday once my wife was back up to full strength. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Larissa and Coleen for their concern and help through this period and their calls afterwards to ensure that everything was okay and that my wife was recovering well. These small touches just made us feel more welcome and again almost part of a family.

The only negative for us though it didn't spoil of holiday was the prices being charged by the Spa for their treatments; now whilst there was always 'deals' being offered such as adding a body scrub for free if you booked a massage, we thought that lowering the prices by 1/3 or so would've encouraged more business.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Verandah Resort and Spa and look forward to returning to this little bit of Caribbean paradise.

Room Tip: Look at the hotel website for a layout of rooms if you wish to try and book a room closer to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

While I think this is a great resort I read reviews before I went and must admit my expectations were a little high. Make no mistake, if you are on the resort, you are pretty much stuck on the resort unless of course you take some of the day trips or walk a few hundred yards down the road to a larger beach which is on the Pineapple Resort, nothing much else to see or do for a few miles which seems to be the case with a number of resorts in Antigua.
Rooms were spacious and clean but just seemed a little "worn" house keeping staff were great and always seemed to be on top of things. I think we were a little lucky here as we had a room close to the main pool so the main restaurants and bar were very close, can't say I'd be too happy if we were in one of the further away rooms as it's a long walk to get to the bar, perhaps management should look at putting a small stock of soft drinks and beers in the fridges supplied, also noticed this was a problem at the lovely little adult pool....can't get a drink.

Quality of food seemed to be good but selection seemed to be a problem, really not a big buffet to choose from and as mentioned in previous reviews birds seemed to be a problem in the main restaurant flying around eating food off the tables and crapping in the seats and tables, a hygiene problem surely ! Perhaps it is time to think about air conditioning in the main restaurant or screens on the windows. Other two restaurants were good also and Nicole's was really good, seems a shame you have to pay extra for this and it's only open on selected nights. Beach bar and grill was closed for reno's while we were there, I have no problem with this as I understand it is their slow season and they use this time of year to get things done around the resort, hence the good deals. Main bar had lots of premium drinks and the staff were not shy in pouring you a good one !

Beaches were small clean and not over crowded, lots of sun beds available and both beaches had a small bar. Little tip here, beaches could use some small tables like they have around the pool or even just small plastic tables just to but drinks and other items on like sunscreen ect instead of having to place them in the sand.

Nightly entertainment was not up to much and usually was done well before 11pm, not sure again if this was due to the " off season "

This is certainly a couples resort, not the place for teenagers, they would go stir crazy. If you want a quiet romantic vacation this is the place.

We have done all the island tour things and catamaran trips before so didn't bother with them this time but we did do the"swim with the stingray trip" well worth it, you are totally in the wild with them and the experience is wonderful while you are holding them, I even got myself a " love bite " on the back while feeding them, great trip around $50 per person.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main pool otherwise you are in for a good walk every time you go to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate guest feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed the resort and its amenities. The resort is situated in a National Park with the famous Devil’s Bridge minutes’ walk away, there is also Long Bay beach just outside the resort if guests wish to try a different beach. We find guests enjoy the tranquillity of the location or hire a car or go on a day trip if they wish to explore the island, we apologise if you felt that it was not clear about the location of the resort.
We are aware of the birds in the restaurant and work hard to reduce the impact on diners. We have feeding stations away from the restaurant itself to encourage them not to fly in, but as you can appreciate we have the windows open so guests can enjoy the breeze. The Staff continuously clean down chairs and tables so guests are not affected. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, we offer a range of hot and cold cuisines on the buffet and try to cater for all tastes. Thank you for your suggestion about beach tables, this idea will be passed onto Management. All the pools, including the adult pool have a stocked cooler so guests do not have to visit the main bar for refreshment. As The Verandah Resort is situated close to a residential area entertainment does cease at 11pm throughout the year. All your comments and suggestions will be shared with Management, we are delighted you enjoyed the resort and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

To really appreciate this resort, one needs a benchmark of comparison, so, we visited 5 other resorts on the Island, 4 of them rated as 5 star: Without a doubt the Verandah was in the top 2.

This is not a resort for teens or early 20's looking to party, it is a perfect resort for couples, or families with small children.

The food in the buffet restaurant was really good, varied daily, the breakfasts were really good with a wide choice for everyone. Nicole's Restaurant was outstanding by any standard, and the steak was as good as any steak served in Canada or the USA; the lobster thermidore was huge and delicious.

Staff all over the resort were warm and friendly, bending over backwards to help, barstaff were fantastic cocktail makers using all the best international brands, such as Johny Walker Black, Courvoisier VSOP, etc.

There are some steps to the beach from most rooms, but a very easy trip for anyone who can actually walk, beaches are small, but perfectly private and lots of good equipment to use.

If you are looking to rent a car for a few days while there, have your travel agent book one for you before you leave, it is 3 times more expensive to book through the rental operators in the resorts while there. We paid only $28 per day and it was $100 through the resort. It's worth renting a car and "getting lost" travelling the island, the people are friendly and the roads, although quite small, are very safe.


We would absolutely go back!

Room Tip: If you like to walk less and be close to the main pool, restaurants and bar, anywhere from 240 to 27...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from two week stay here 21st sept -5th oct this is a beutiful resort were the staff are second to none. My wife and i enjoyed our stay but a couple of things could be better. There is no air conditioning in the main resturaut where birds fly freely about the tables picking at food and cats are left to walk freely around the resturaunt or perched apon an open window waiting for food. The selection of food is not great and is repeated on a weekly basis, if you take a later meal time the buffet is often empty and not refilled for quite a time. You can pay extra and eat at Nicoles an air conditioned resturaunt which is a,la carte which is beutiful, but it is a shame that you have to pay for this luxury. Entertainment on an evening is also basic with a good band on only on two evenings in a week. The rooms are kept clean and tidy with the help of very good housekeepers, the grounds and beach are also imaculate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Public Relations Manager at Verandah Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the staff made such a good impression. With regards to the birds in the restaurant, we do try and encourage them away from the restaurant by feeding them elsewhere. The windows are kept open so guests can enjoy the breeze. The Staff do clean down the tables and chairs and remove plates quickly to try and discourage the birds from visiting. We are thrilled you enjoyed Nicole’s restaurant, it carries a surcharge as it is our fine dining option where we try to create a different ambiance with an al a carte menu and live music. We apologise that you did not enjoy the selection of food in the Seabreeze restaurant and felt it was not being replenished quickly in the evenings. We try to cater for all tastes and provide a varied buffet for our guests, however we appreciate your feedback. All your comments will be shared with Management and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful location and well maintained grounds make for a lovely holiday!
The villas are clean and well positioned - we had 234 which had a partial view of the water.
The food was all delicious - we tried all the restaurants and our fave was the beach near and grill.
Cocktails were lovely and they used branded spirits. The beaches were clean and water sports were excellent. The staff were friendly and there was nightly entertainment ..... We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verandah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandah Resort & Spa

Address: Indian Town Rd, Saint Philip, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Phillip Parish > Saint Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Saint Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verandah Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandah Resort & Spa is a world-class all-inclusive resort overlooking the crystal blue Caribbean waters of Antigua. Perfect for couples, friends, families, honeymoons, and weddings. Guests love the resort's friendly, romantic atmosphere, with lots of activities for adults, teens, and children--not to mention our Two White Sand Beaches!The Verandah's four restaurants, four bars, four swimming, including the largest freeform freshwater swimming pool in Antigua. Activities include hobie cat sailing, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, pedal boats, supervised Kids Club, 18-hole miniature golf course, and much more.Indulge at our Spa Tranquility, featuring a wide array of massage and beauty treatments, or enjoy a workout in our air-conditioned fitness center.We look forward to having you as our guest, and thank for your choosing The Verandah Resort & Spa, Antigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Verandah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandah Resort And Spa
Verandah Hotel Saint Philip
Verandah Hotel St Johns
Verandah Resort All Inclusive
Verandah Resort & Spa Antigua/Saint Philip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verandah Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.