We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hermitage Bay to your Saves list
Hermitage Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 60, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Christmas Week
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed a few days at Hermitage Bay before moving on to our Seadream Yacht vacation. Nice place, extremely quiet even for my wife and I who enjoy a little quiet time adjusting to the time change and unwinding from the daily grind before our real vacation. Service was fair, not five star, with the restaurant help going through the motions and the food ok but not terrific. There were a lot of bugs and many folks were not prepared and complained a lot. Secret is always the skin so soft stuff from Avon and we didn't t get one bite. It is almost impossible to sit outside at night and the mosquito nets over the beds are a must. It is a bit remote and one gets the feeling that the place could use a shot of red bull for the absolute lack of energy in the place; it is way beyond quiet.... Also no gym and the spa is a bit lame...

Room Tip: Beachfront cottage or your up on the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysinging, Owner at Hermitage Bay, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear 3Tano89

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed that you found us lacking. We do focus on providing a calm and peaceful atmosphere which suits the vast majority of our guests as you can see from the other reviews. I do also think that Hermitage Bay is not really a place to pass through in two days. You do need to stay for longer. When you describe the Spa as lame I was a little perplexed. Were you referring to a treatment? I should add that we do now have a Fitness Centre. If you would like to get in touch please do not hesitate to contact me at andythesen@hermitagebay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    59
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
474
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at Hermitage Bay for our honeymoon in November. Everything was amazing. The resort is absolutely beautiful, the food delicious and the staff are so wonderful. We were between two resorts and are so thrilled that we were able to stay at Hermitage Bay. The view from our hillside suite was stunning and the suite itself was gorgeous. The trip was pure relaxation and bliss. Having the plunge pool was amazing - after a day on the beach it was so wonderful to come back to the room, make a drink and take a dip and watch the sun set before getting ready for dinner. We had the most amazing meals, everything was always prepared perfectly and there were always fabulous choices. We only wish we could get Wadadli beer here to make the Wadadli battered fish goujon. We cannot stop talking about our time at Hermitage Bay and hope to return soon. We cannot recommend this resort enough. If you are looking for a low key, relaxing vacation - this is the place! Thank you to Roz, Ken and Vera for making our stay so amazing. And thank you to Wendy for making this dream honeymoon possible, you were so wonderful and we thank you for all your help! You are simply the best! If there were more than five stars we would apply them to every aspect of this resort! Hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Hillside Suites are the best - private plunge pools, wrap around verandah and outdoor living space a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, West Sussex, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at Hermitage Bay last December as a couple and had an amazing time. My wife had been in hospital several times in 2010 and the surgeon recommended a complete breakaway in the sun, something we have never done before as we are more the adventuring types (or so we thought). Once we arrived at Hermitage Bay we where blown away by the simple rustic beauty, the amazing staff and the great amenities.

There is wild life literately all around you from the Mongooses to the stunning Humming birds.

Our 8 days where so good last year that we promised ourselves we would go back and we are on November 23rd for another 8 days of glorious luxury but this time we are taking our daughter and her boyfriend. Once again we have gone for Hillside Suites.

Room Tip: The hillside suites where nice as the plunge pools offered outstanding views of the bay and where al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My son, aged 17, and I went to Hermitage Bay to have a relaxing break away. The surroundings are beautiful, gardens immaculately kept and the beach is quiet and tranquil, no piped music, just the sound of the waves and no hard sell from beach vendors, just a lovely lady called Claudia selling home made jewellery made out of shells, wood and stones.
Our suites were excellent and the maid service ensured my son's room stayed immaculate despite clothes being dropped on the floor. While he took time out to study for exams in his suite I was relaxing on the beach being brought cooling drinks and chilled fresh fruit - just bliss.
The evenings were a delight, the bar and dining area are transformed with candles and make a lovely backdrop to cocktails and a delicious dinner. The food is excellent and the choices are wide ranging and all beautifully cooked and presented.
The staff are the true stars of this beautiful resort, they are welcoming, friendly, fun and yet professional - they are a very special part of my memory of this lovely holiday.

I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I are currently on our third of four days here. It is absolute paradise! Rustic understated exclusive elegance is the best way of describing it. Utter relaxation and the perfect escape from a busy urban life. The hillside pool suites are luxurious with all of the amenities you'd expect at a 5-star resort. Service is friendly and professional. Food was very good even for us picky foodies. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andysinging, Owner at Hermitage Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear DrRonMath

Thanks for the review. I just love pleasing foodies, being one myself.
We'll all look forward to seeing you back here.

Andy Thesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Here’s a Trip Advisor tip…never rely on the “terrible” reviews. I feel that the “very good” category gives you the most balanced review of any given property. Hermitage Bay is a wonderful resort, and my wife and I had a fantastic time during our honeymoon. We would recommend this resort to those looking for a romantic escape from reality.

Did we have a few issues that could be spun into a negative review by an angry person. Possibly, but I will not detail those items because the staff went above and beyond to make up for those inconveniences. This place met all of our requirements. Great food, excellent service, a unique and private room, a beautiful and private location, and finally a relaxed and low key atmosphere.

If you want a big tower, multi pool, multi restaurant, party centric crowd, then I’d suggest you don’t visit Hermitage Bay. This is the exact opposite of that. Here is my advise…for what it’s worth. If you want to travel somewhere to get lost with your wife/husband/partner, and focus yourself entirely on each other, then go here and leave the electronic devices behind. I was amazed at the amount of smart phone and iPad activity going on here…lol. That’s a complaint on the human condition, not this resort.

Thank you to the entire staff for making our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 35, and I would suggest 34, 37, 39, and 31.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Food was outstanding. Service the best! Resort is beautiful Entire staff willing to go th extra mile. I take my hat off to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Bay

Address: PO Box 60, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quiet, independently owned Hermitage Bay is comprised of just 27 luxury cottages so that "even at its busiest, the place seems remote and quaint." Whether visiting for the first time or returning as a friend, you'll enjoy a welcome familiarity and "sensation of belonging" from the moment you arrive. Tucked into a beautiful bay in one of the most secluded corners of Antigua, it is perfect for those seeking to escape the hustle and bustle of city life. Spanning 16 acres of lush tropical gardens, our eco-chic, luxury hotel provides all the comforts of a 5 star resort without compromising the natural habitat that thrives around it. Our open-air facilities, extensive beach and detached rooms allow you to unwind in isolated luxury. Each of the 7 Beachfront and 3 Garden Suites features a spacious split level lounge and patio, while the large wrap-around decks and private plunge pools of the 17 Hillside Pool Suites afford the added luxury of soaking up the Caribbean sun from the privacy of your own sun bathing deck. Whether enjoying lunch by the pool, dining in the beachfront restaurant, or having breakfast in bed, every meal feels privately catered. The menus change daily and feature freshly squeezed local juices, locally grown produce, and organic ingredients. At Hermitage Bay, all dishes are prepared to order, special requests are encouraged, and we are always happy to help with dietary requirements. Non-motorised water sports are included and a shuttle service to and from town and Shirley Heights is available for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hermitage Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Bay Hotel St. John`s
Hermitage Bay St Johns
Hermitage Bay Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.