We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach but hotel has had its day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing beach but hotel has had its day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

When I arrived I could think only that it was Jolly by name but nothing else. The food was a basic selection, the room was tiny but the beach is great. The staff are very friendly here but don't expect 5 star service.

I met so many people who'd been coming for 15 years and longer and at first I couldn't understand why. You pay extra for a safe, for many of the meals in the extra restaurants but if you're looking for a nice beach and you're not too bothered by amazing food Jolly beach is for you.

There were lots of solo travellers and no one made you feel any different for travelling on your own....they do sometimes make you feel so at more expensive resorts. I did wait for clean towels for 1.5 hours one evening there seemed to be a shortage.

From the regulars I've spoken to the hotel has lost it's edge but they still keep coming back. I think with a better selection of food, more towels and giving the rooms a refresh this could make a come back.

Room Tip: Don't go for a super saver room, if there's more than one of you they are incredibly small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    1,021
    572
    285
    207
See reviews for
522
1089
69
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Having visited Antigua a few times before, decided to try out Jolly Beach hotel as pictures of hotel looked nice and heard beach was fantastic. Chose super saver room as we only sleep there and spend most of our time on beach. When we arrived the hotel staff at reception were not very friendly, we had to pay for towel tickets, room safe and room keys. Our supersaver room was tiny, only big enough for one person, so we upgraded to a standard room. The beds are rock hard as are the pillows, had to go to local supermarket and buy other ones,
the aircon dripped water constantly and sounded like a tractor engine, the ceiling fan also was loud and noisy, these were also the complaints from every other guest I spoke to. Clean towels usually got delivered to our room at 5.30 pm. The food was fine, usual standard for a carribean hotel, local vodka was like paint stripper, no branded drinks.the only good thing about this hotel was the beach, absolutely fantastic, but beware of a local who goes by the name of Cloud, don't pay to go on what he calls a trip to see the real Antigua, it's a con, ourselves and another couple did go with him and regretted every penny we spent.
Checking out was another experience, the staff member argued that I hadn't paid for my safe key and had eated steak dinners which I still had to pay for, after 10 mins of arguing another staff member told the one that was dealing with me that they sometimes just add things onto the room, I did get my money back in the end, but another couple we spoke to didn't.
I will be back to Antigua but will avoid Jolly Beach hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We find that most of our guests love our staff and really appreciate their friendliness and help, so I’m disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with reception/checkout staff.

We do take your comments seriously and I will be sure to raise your issues with this particular division to ensure we maintain and exceed the level of service our guests both deserve and expect and for which we have received consecutive awards in the past.

Our rooms are on the smaller side, as we find so many of our guests prefer to spend their time outside on our incredible beach - Antigua’s best, in fact. As stated on our website, the room safe is an extra service not included in the all inclusive pricing. There is also a small security deposit required for towels, which is refunded once the towels have been returned.

We’re proud to be able to offer one of the best price points in all of Antigua and an array of value-friendly amenities that most guests enjoy, and I’m very happy to know you enjoyed our beach, the food, and prompt towel service.

All the best,

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Staying here nearly 2weeks, holiday nearly over. Beach is absolutely fantastic superior room ok, but food and service the worst I've ever had on an caribian island. 3 a la carte restaurants, what a joke only 1 open at the time, otherwise buffee which was actually the best food. The Italian is outstanding for service. The hotel changed the breakfast facility to the furthest location possible. It is a shame that it that off putting like this, as it has as far the best beach! No surprise that the hotel is nearly empty. Night entertainment is advertised but nothing is happening. Will stay somewhere else next time and go on the beach only. What a shame

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Jolly Beach Resort typically has 5 restaurants available for guests to choose from, ranging from casual buffet dining to tasty grab-and-go beach fare to Italian classics and authentic Indian. During this time period, we did unfortunately close the usual buffet restaurant for some upkeep, re-routing guests to Lydia’s, where we felt they would enjoy the open-air beachside dining.

We hope all guests can understand that it is not economically feasible to have all 5 restaurants operating during low season travel periods.

That being said, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the buffet food and service at Bocciolo, and that you absolutely loved the beach. We’re very proud of our world-class beach, Antigua’s best, and couldn’t agree more with you - it really is fantastic!

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

An all inclusive holiday in comfortable accommodation in beautiful grounds leading to a long white sand beach and striking turquoise sea, what's not to like? Buffet meals were fine with a choice of 3 other restaurants with the Italian Boccacilo really justifying its claim for fine dining. The staff were good humoured and helpful.

Room Tip: We chose the King Superior room which was nice and roomy with a balcony overlooking scenic gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit here in 2 years. Had a lovely 10 days. I don't know why people give it negative reviews it is only three stars remember. The layout is lovely pools and grounds wonderful. Room we had was fine the only problem we had was they kept forgetting towels we had to keep asking reception for them. The beach is lovely and plenty of space to sit and relax. The sea was a bit rough so we. Didn't go in but the pools were fine. Food in the buffet could have been better and more choice but we asked for chips a couple of times. As there was only rice which we don't like. They were very obliging and cooked us up some chips also the chef on the grill done us steak ect to order without garlic and curry stuff on. We went to two al a carte resurants five nights and were excelent service all cooked how we wanted wouldn't have got better service in a five star resort. The staff we found were very friendly and willing to help. The entertainment was pretty good especially the fire dancers on the beach. Really enjoyed the holiday and hope to return some time in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor above ground level as ground floor rooms darkish and the balcony is not so private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We actually travelled here in Feb 2012. the resort has a fantastic beach, sand and water was gorgeous. Resort was small but very clean and well kept. View from our room of partial ocean was beautiful. Food was good but a small resort with few restaurants didn't have alot of variety. Great to walk to the marina where we had a delicious meal at an italian restaurant. We also took the local transportation to town and had a lot of fun. Best was our tour of the whole island with G-Smart!! He took 6 of us all around the island - stopping when we wanted and recommended popular restaurants. I would return to Antigua, it felt safe and is very beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We visited this resort in early November for a little pre winter sunshine! The hotel is very basic! The rooms very small and tired, as was the rest of the resort, but the ala carte restaurants were very good, the bar and waiting staff were good, we had read a couple of reviews before we went and have to agree with others.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive, 464-room Jolly Beach is an exceptional Caribbean experience. Resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized watersports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, Think Jolly Family Program, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.