We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ole Years 2011 into New Years 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 50% on All Inclusive
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
St. John's, Antigua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ole Years 2011 into New Years 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Over nighted for the Celebration and enjoyed the day pass. Entertainment, food and drinks were nice.......especially the ole years party. I can't stop stressing on it. Constant security patrols makes you feel.

Room Tip: Really nice to spend with family and friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    1,015
    572
    286
    208
See reviews for
528
1097
70
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pei
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from jolly beach
The hotel was very quiet as the busy season did not start yet.
Room was a little small and dated but I only sleep there anyway , most of time spent on beach. No problem getting a beach chair. Keno thanks for the tequila, had a great time. Took the island tour with Marcus, learned a lot about the island and the black pineapple he got for us was excellant, thanks. Not a large variety of food but more than enough, never went hungry. Overall a very peaceful vacation just wish it lasted longer

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We travelled to Jolly Beach in October 2013 with our four children, two teenage boys and two under 7 girls. One of the drivers for choosing this resort was the promise of a kids club for the girls, and a teens club for the boys.
We booked the hotel via Virgin Holidays 6 months in advance, and at that time requested interconnecting rooms.
Two weeks before travelling I contacted the Virgin Concierge asking for confirmation of the interconnectivity, only to be told that this wasn't possible. I then contacted the hotel directly with the same results. I did not give up, and send many replies to all of their emails almost begging for the interconnectivity, they continued to insist that they couldn't accommodate our request.
Imagine my surprise when we turned up to be told that we had connecting rooms. Without them it would have been awful frankly. However as the hotel didn't even appear to be 50% occupied I am surprised it was so difficult.
Paying a $10 deposit for towels is no hardship, the towels are fine, you can take them on excursions with you, and you can swap them for clean fresh ones whenever you like.
Paying $3 per day for a lock for the safe seems a bit harsh, especially as the staff forget to lock you room when they leave, and anyone really can break in through the sliding doors if you are on the ground floor. the sliding door locks don't work.
Staff in Hemispheres failed to inform us on day 1 that we could order children's meals, so my girls were eating bread rolls and desert for 6 days until one of the staff accidentally let slip that we could order nuggets and chips for them.
By this time luckily Miss 5 had befriended Bradley, one of the managers, and she also scored some chocolate ice-cream for the both of them. He should be commended, if you go and need anything, find Bradley, he will help, and remember your name, and the names of all the staff as well, as far as we could tell.
We stayed in a room in the furthest block from the resort, in itself not an issue but quite a walk for the girls after dinner when they were tired. the room was fine, the aircon worked, and there was a fridge. bathroom dated but functional, we didn't need more than that.
Buy your own water from the supermarket at the Jolly Harbour.
The buffet dinners were a little like school dinners, our teen boys ate for England!
The teen club was non-existent, and my girls were the only ones to go to Kids club all week, they went on three afternoons and then didn't want to go again. I didn't blame them. Sharon who runs it was very nice, but it must get hard for her when no one goes, it is also tucked away at the back of the resort, not easy to find.
The daily 'what's on' notice on the board promised water sports / sailing lessons that didn't happen.
The staff at the poolside grill were amazing, always ready with a smile, and served everyone in turn, patiently and calmly, despite the rudeness of some of the patrons! It doesn't cost anything to say please and thank you people!
Non-resort people using the facilities and pool etc were annoying, putting towels on all the best poolside spots and then disappearing for hours on end. Not enough pool side umbrellas.
Getting a coffee or juice at breakfast took ages, goodness knows what it would be like if it was full, we ended up just going and finding our own.
Careful as you walk around the pool, it is slippery! ice rink when it rains, and just slippery other times.
Your all -inclusive stops at 12.00 on the day you leave regardless of the time you arrive, and of the time you are actually leaving, however you can keep your towels, and the resort will give you a room to shower and change before you go, and a complimentary buffet lunch in the restaurant.
It is a budget resort, it doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't, the pool is great, and the beach is fantastic. You just have to manage your expectations. We probably would go back if the opportunity presented itself, however next time we would know exactly what to ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for interconnecting rooms well in advance Go for the superior room, larger, and you'll get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just arrived back from jolly beach. Yeas we read the reviews before going too. But i do have to say we had agreat time. The beach was fabulous, the sea wonderful and the people great. The hotel is dated but the room was clean and the shower fine. The air con unit was old but worked but the ceiling fan did not work at all. The hotel is 3* the gardens are beautiful i loved the mongoose running around but hated the birds at the hemispheres restaurant. the food on the whole was good but the italian restaurant was awful. My husband had to wear long trousers but the meal was far from italian too much garlic. the indian was ok as was the meal at Lydias. The resort was so quiet we had no problem getting sunbeds and we were the only ones on the beach. The beach vendors did not anoy us at all in fact crystal was very good for gifts.
The staff were excellent especially Jennifer at the concierge desk and neil at the bar. we thought we got our money's worth. just disappointed that at check out 12 noon we lost our wrist bands and could not have a drink . we left at 3.30pm my advice is find some friends with wrist bands or load up with drinks. We would go back. It was worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Read all the reviews both good and bad prior to going to the JBR on 26th October 2013. To the point... if you want 4 or 5 star then dig deeper and pay for it. Don't go to the JBR and expect to get 4 or 5 star..simple. We are a family with 2 daughters aged 12 and 14. We stopped in a superior room which worked fine for us. Toilet broke and TV remote packed up, both fixed within 2 hours. Air con was fine and no more noisy than any other Caribbean room we have stopped in. The buffet restaurant worked ok for us for breakfast, but we found it drab at night. Lydia's, Ustavs and the Italian restaurant all worked well for us with a high level of service, good wines, and a general feeling of being well looked after. The local beer ( lager ) is more than acceptable. There are birds flying around at breakfast time as there are at many Caribbean hotels, just don't leave your food unattended....not difficult really.
The beach and sea are fantastic. Yes there are some shells on the beach...and yes there can be a small drop in to the sea when walking in, this is standard on all of the beaches throughout the Caribbean we have been to. Water Sports were accommodating, and yes, the local beach vendors will ask you to part with your dollars, but a polite no thank you always does the job and we never felt threatened. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has a genuine grasp on Caribbean hospitality.

Room Tip: Request a room away from main bar and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in we had to check out at noon and our flight was not till 7pm if you wanted any food or drink you had to pay more money the hotel food was worst I have ever tasted it was cheap and nasty if you wanted a kettle or fridge in your room you had to pay extra no shuttle bus to st johns the capital if this is classed as three star hotel the people who revied it must be blind it could do with a make over it is more like a motel James lennie jresey channel islands

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyManager, General Manager at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to Jolly Beach Resort and Spa. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your experience was less than pleasurable.

Our check-out time is 12:00 pm each day, at which time All-Inclusive bands will be removed. That being said, a later stay can always be arranged with the Front Desk or Concierge at a small cost.

We offer extensive menus in all our restaurants which cater to the needs of our guests. For persons with special requests and dietary needs, arrangements can be made with our servers and hostesses to have special meals prepared at your convenience - once you are willing to appreciate the extra time it would take to have these done to order. This option is even available in our buffet restaurant. Special requests can also be made through our Reservations Department when booking your vacation.

We also acknowledge that our standard room category does not provide a kettle or fridge. However, these items are available at a small cost and are free when booking our Superior Room and Junior Suite categories.

We do offer a personalized shuttle service to St. John’s for US$12.00 per person, return. This is arranged by the Front Desk and leaves the property everyday at 9 am and returns at 12:30 pm.

Thank you once again for your review of our services. Feedback from our guests is essential to our success and we view each review as a means to improve our future guest experiences.

General Manager
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dibden Purlieu, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The holiday of a lifetime,absolutely fantastic,if we could afford it we would go back tomorrow.the people of Antigua are amazing.we spent most or our time on the beach getting to know the locals. Went on a cat trip round the island which was just amazing a really good way to see the island.we made loads of friends as everyone is so chilled out. We spent loads of time walking on the mile long beach,which was really clean, the water is cristal clear and so blue. The food at the hotel was plentiful and very good the staff all get to know you so quickly, they put hospitality in the uk to shame. The pools are cleaned daily,the gardens are immaculate and the gardeners are really friendly and will explain anything to you. You do need to take some sort of antiseptic cream or bug spray we took a 50% deet spray and we had next to no bites!we also gave loads away?we had a 5 hour delay going home and had to have extra time on the beach what a shame,

Room Tip: Get an upgrade as you have more room,even though we only slept in it as you are always out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive, 464-room Jolly Beach is an exceptional Caribbean experience. Resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized watersports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, Think Jolly Family Program, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.