We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jolly Beach Antigua” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best All-Inclusive Value
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Jolly Beach Antigua”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Jolly Beach Resort is OLD!!!! The front desk staff is not the most pleasant group of folks to deal with; however the maids, servers, bartenders are the best. The beach and pools are nice. I will be looking elsewhere next time.
One more thing, leave Antigua early when going home. The security staff at the airport are the worst! Just rude and nasty!!! The lines are LONG and the airport is always crowded..

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    1,083
    621
    310
    236
See reviews for
567
1,192
78
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went on a cruise in June to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. One of the port of calls was Antigua. We chose this destination for my parent's vow renewal - it was the best decision we made and our favorite day of the cruise. Beverley, the wedding coordinator, at Jolly Beach Resort and Spa was awesome! She exceeded our expectations and my parent's had a day they will never forget! The beach was the best beach we visited on our 7 day cruise through the Caribbean and the service at the hotel was extraordinary. The day was perfect! I would recommend this hotel, beach and especially Beverley and the staff at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to everyone who visits Antigua! We had a great day and an awesome trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food was good, but very little to choose from. Pool was rather cold for July. Entertainment is set in a location where most rooms could hear it from 9 to midnight whether they wanted to or not. Our room was at the Indian Restaurant which doubled as the Continental Breakfast. When you walked down the steps, you were in the restaurant, which you heard from opening to closing. In the morning it seemed they needed to count each plate and the clanging started at 6 am. Air conditioning worked only at a minimum. Came in our room one day and found a worker taking inventory??? Men were friendly, most women seemed indifferent. The island is littered and many did not care for their properties. Not an attractive island. I do not ever intend to return.

Room Tip: Don't go here. Perhaps another resort is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having read the reviews for this hotel prior to booking we were a little apprehensive, but the location and the all inclusive price for the Caribbean seemed too good to be true.

However, the hotel is very outdated (70s) and in need of some serious renovation. When we arrived we had no towels in our room, so I called reception and was told that some would be delivered shortly. Eventually I went to look for a member of staff and was told by one of the maids that there were no towels available, as they were all on the beach!! It wasn't until I said I would go and buy some at the Marina that some freshly laundered towels appeared from no where with very little effort. The next day I realised that the beach towels were a different colour and that I was being given the run around by the maid.

The Air Con leaked for 2 weeks non stop despite efforts to repair it on several occasions. The main restaurant was good, with plenty of well prepared and cooked food for all tastes. However the plastic chairs were both uncomfortable and unsightly and was a stark reminder of a factory canteen.

The themed restaurants were particularly laughable, the only thing that represented a glint of Italy in the Italian restaurant was the flag on the wall. The Indian was even worse, unfortunately the chef/cook had no idea what Indian food should consist of or look look like, never mind taste like!!

On the plus side, the staff were generally very accommodating and friendly and would do their best to make your stay enjoyable. The Bar staff could be a bit boisterous on occasions and the language and topic of conversation between staff members became very crude and inappropriate on the odd occasion.

The Beach was fantastic and the views were great, which made up for the disappointing accommodation. We would not hesitate to return to Jolly Beach, but would chose to stay elsewhere.

The Extreme boat trip around the island and the swim with the stingrays is a must, a great day out if not a little tiring. A trip to Shirley Heights for a Bar B Q is also a nice night out.

Stayed here in April 2013 for two weeks.

Room Tip: There are no sea views, as the vegetation, Trees and Shrubs are fairly dense and block most views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the end of June. We had a problem with the room that was promptly rectified by Mr Ian the chief concierge. As a matter of fact Mr Ian made our holiday really special in many other ways, and I really want to thank him.
The courtesy of most staff (Lisa was fantastic) was very appreciated.
The gardens and swimming pool area immaculate.
The food (not huge variety) but of very good quality.
Free wifi in the lobby,
What made everything perfect was the beach, beautiful with Crystal water and many many shades of blue .
So if you can go past the looking of the rooms or the old style sun beds ( after all it is a 3 stars) It is the perfect location for the perfect holiday

Room Tip: Standard rooms are not suitable for 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the JBR in mid-May and were very pleased. The resort is as advertised - a 3+ star - a bit dated in areas, but the food was very good, the lobby and pool areas are very nice, the beach is beautiful and the rooms were clean. We felt very safe staying here and the staff were pleasant most of the time. Our week was just before the off-season, so not very crowded and we had no trouble finding chairs, getting food and drinks, etc. But - I can see why reviewers who stayed during peak season had problems. Overall, a very nice, clean, well-landscaped resort. If travelling to Antigua in the future, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was a king standard - very nice, clean and updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our one week vacation in Antigua at Jolly Beach Resort and Spa. We were well aware that this is not a 5 star hotel (although I don't think it should be rated as low as a 3. We would give it a four). All that was really important to us was the beach and after reading reviews about their amazing beach, we knew it would be perfect for us. We had an amazing time at JBR, the staff are friendly (especially Neil the bartender!), the beach is fantastic with the beautiful blue waters and white sand. There are a lot of sea shells along the beach that made it nice to collect a few to bring home. They provide a ton of activities (the pool volleyball was a big hit) making it hard for any boredom to happen. The grounds are beautiful and over all the resort is very clean.

We stayed in a standard room as we are not picky people, nor did we spend a lot of time in the room except to sleep so we didn't need anything fancy. The room was cleaned daily and provided all that we needed, plus we had an ocean view that was beautiful. The pools are clean, but we were a little disappointed that they don't utilize the pool bar, instead guests have to get out of the pool and use the top bar. Bottled water is not provided and it is recommended to drink bottled water, but there is a supermarket that is about 5 min walk where you can buy huge bottled waters cheap.

The food was good, but the restaurant Hemisphere is not so good. The Coconut grill makes delicious jerk chicken! They also bbq burgers, hot dogs, fried chicken and other stuff but we loved the jerk chicken so much we ate it everyday for lunch. Lydias (the seafood restaurant) was also very good (the grilled tuna was amazing) and the Indian restaurant was also very good (not too spicy). The Italian restaurant also was good, but we only had the chance to eat there once.

There are not a lot of people trying to sell you stuff on teh beach and they listen pretty good if you say no nicely, but you need to plain out say no, because if you give any indication that you may be a little interested then they will come back to you. However we did purchase a bracelet and ankle bracelet from one of the women at the beach vendors for $10 because we do like to support their businesses as well as understand they are only trying to make a living and every dollar counts.

The only real complaint I have is on our last day we were trying to soak in all the sun and beach time we could before leaving.There was a young local girl with a little very cute puppy on the beach and one of the security men was playing extremely rough the puppy (including holding it up by its back legs and throwing it around by its paws, causing the puppy to cry in high pitch yelps). This was very disturbing to guests as this is considered animal abuse. After a beautiful week on the resort, this really upset me to think this kind of behavior is acceptable there...or thought of as funny. I meant to send in a complaint before leaving, but lost track of time and remembered when it was already to late. Some of the female staff aren't as friendly and appear to not like their jobs especially if they were bar tending. But the male staff are excellent, fun, friendly, out going and love interacting with the guests.

Despite the minor complaints, we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning again one day :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's best all-inclusive value, the 464-room Jolly Beach Resort & Spa is an exciting Caribbean experience. The resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized water-sports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.