We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location make up for everything else” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location make up for everything else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the end of June. We had a problem with the room that was promptly rectified by Mr Ian the chief concierge. As a matter of fact Mr Ian made our holiday really special in many other ways, and I really want to thank him.
The courtesy of most staff (Lisa was fantastic) was very appreciated.
The gardens and swimming pool area immaculate.
The food (not huge variety) but of very good quality.
Free wifi in the lobby,
What made everything perfect was the beach, beautiful with Crystal water and many many shades of blue .
So if you can go past the looking of the rooms or the old style sun beds ( after all it is a 3 stars) It is the perfect location for the perfect holiday

Room Tip: Standard rooms are not suitable for 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    467
    986
    562
    279
    202
See reviews for
510
1043
67
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hardy, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the JBR in mid-May and were very pleased. The resort is as advertised - a 3+ star - a bit dated in areas, but the food was very good, the lobby and pool areas are very nice, the beach is beautiful and the rooms were clean. We felt very safe staying here and the staff were pleasant most of the time. Our week was just before the off-season, so not very crowded and we had no trouble finding chairs, getting food and drinks, etc. But - I can see why reviewers who stayed during peak season had problems. Overall, a very nice, clean, well-landscaped resort. If travelling to Antigua in the future, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was a king standard - very nice, clean and updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our one week vacation in Antigua at Jolly Beach Resort and Spa. We were well aware that this is not a 5 star hotel (although I don't think it should be rated as low as a 3. We would give it a four). All that was really important to us was the beach and after reading reviews about their amazing beach, we knew it would be perfect for us. We had an amazing time at JBR, the staff are friendly (especially Neil the bartender!), the beach is fantastic with the beautiful blue waters and white sand. There are a lot of sea shells along the beach that made it nice to collect a few to bring home. They provide a ton of activities (the pool volleyball was a big hit) making it hard for any boredom to happen. The grounds are beautiful and over all the resort is very clean.

We stayed in a standard room as we are not picky people, nor did we spend a lot of time in the room except to sleep so we didn't need anything fancy. The room was cleaned daily and provided all that we needed, plus we had an ocean view that was beautiful. The pools are clean, but we were a little disappointed that they don't utilize the pool bar, instead guests have to get out of the pool and use the top bar. Bottled water is not provided and it is recommended to drink bottled water, but there is a supermarket that is about 5 min walk where you can buy huge bottled waters cheap.

The food was good, but the restaurant Hemisphere is not so good. The Coconut grill makes delicious jerk chicken! They also bbq burgers, hot dogs, fried chicken and other stuff but we loved the jerk chicken so much we ate it everyday for lunch. Lydias (the seafood restaurant) was also very good (the grilled tuna was amazing) and the Indian restaurant was also very good (not too spicy). The Italian restaurant also was good, but we only had the chance to eat there once.

There are not a lot of people trying to sell you stuff on teh beach and they listen pretty good if you say no nicely, but you need to plain out say no, because if you give any indication that you may be a little interested then they will come back to you. However we did purchase a bracelet and ankle bracelet from one of the women at the beach vendors for $10 because we do like to support their businesses as well as understand they are only trying to make a living and every dollar counts.

The only real complaint I have is on our last day we were trying to soak in all the sun and beach time we could before leaving.There was a young local girl with a little very cute puppy on the beach and one of the security men was playing extremely rough the puppy (including holding it up by its back legs and throwing it around by its paws, causing the puppy to cry in high pitch yelps). This was very disturbing to guests as this is considered animal abuse. After a beautiful week on the resort, this really upset me to think this kind of behavior is acceptable there...or thought of as funny. I meant to send in a complaint before leaving, but lost track of time and remembered when it was already to late. Some of the female staff aren't as friendly and appear to not like their jobs especially if they were bar tending. But the male staff are excellent, fun, friendly, out going and love interacting with the guests.

Despite the minor complaints, we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning again one day :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the moment we pulled down the exotic floral lined driveway we knew we had made the right choice by booking the Jolly Beach Resort & Spa for our wedding and honeymoon. Our Concierge, Ian, was there to introduce himself, welcome us, as well as give us our Wedding Package for our meeting with their on-site Wedding Coordinator. Then, he attended to our every need. He gave us many local recommendations for things to do and sites to see. He even went over some safety travel measures. Our Resort Wedding Coordinator, Beverly, made all of our dreams come true in a very professional manner. The Wedding Chapel Gazebo was decorated beyond our expectations. The Champagne Toast was absolutely delightful. The contracted Photographer, Abina, was very easy to work with. Her photos were amazing! Better than anything we could find back home. The Wedding Album she put together was fantastic! Even the Wedding Cake was beyond our expectations. Cleo, the Antigua Wedding Officer, put together the most amazing ceremony. She truly touched our hearts as if she were a life long friend. On our wedding Night we enjoyed an exquisite dinner at the Bocciolo Restaurant. As we entered the restaurant we were handed glasses of French Champagne. The table was decorated with flowers, scattered rose petals and rhinestones. After a fabulous dinner, our wedding cake was delivered for us to enjoy for dessert. Hemispheres Restaurant served a great buffet for breakfast and dinner. The Afternoon Tea had a sweet selection of pastries and cheeses, coffee and tea. The Coconut Grill makes great Jerk Chicken! Staff: If there is one thing I must say, after reading a few negative reviews about Jolly Beach Resort . . . please treat the staff as you would want to be treated. Though your trip may be All Inclusive, it benefits everyone to tip the staff. We were treated like family from the moment we arrived. Everyone on staff, even the gardeners, knew who we were and congratulated us on our wedding. We took the time to say thank you, ask them about their native countries and even shared family stories. If you wanted to be treated with respect, it helps to treat them with the respect they deserve. Dinning: We, as Americans, are used to large portions in a restaurant. The Antigua community eats light and healthy. You can always ask for more or for something else. The staff is always willing satisfy. The Resort uses as much fresh local cuisine as possible. The lobster was fresh from Barbuda. Fruit, right off the bush. Coconut water from their our own tress. Fresh and light meals were just the ticket!. Resort: Though the Resort is older it has wonderful charm. Both in the buildings and the grounds. Everywhere you look there is beautiful history mixed with flora and fauna. Taxi Tour (resort taxi): 5 stars! Ivor was a great guide. He knew all the local ins and outs of the island. He showed us all the hidden gems and then some. By the time our departure rolled around we had made many friends with the staff. We hated to leave. It felt as if we were leaving life long friends. We will be back again. PS: Our Alexander Parish Taxi did not have AC and was the driver was dangerous. Use your Hotel Taxi service!

Room Tip: Pay extra for an Upgrade, like we did. The Beach Cabins are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

You pay for what you get. Not a five star resort. A three star I would give it. The food was delicious. The staff was a hit or miss. Friendly sometimes and rude sometimes. Management at the resort was excellent.
The rooms need updating BADLY. The shower was olddddddd. The toilet was olddddd. The bathroom need a total face life.


The beach was INCREDIBLE. Mind blowing. Calm/crystal clear. Amazinggggg.

If I had to give it a con, it would be the birds. There are black birds in the breakfast/lunch area. It was a bit scary at first, but then I go use to it. If you put your food down, they would attack you.

The coconut grill was the worse with the birds. I saw the birds attack a man for his food. He has to drop his food and run. I wish the resort would invest in something to scare the birds away. The food was great at coconut grill. The jerk chicken was off the chart......

Room Tip: Stay to the left of the resort. The rooms are updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Jolly Beach Resort for one week between June 15-June 22 with my mum and her partner. I have never been to such an amazing place as the Jolly Beach ! And I have done a lot of travelling !

On arrival you are greeted with a yummy cocktail and a huge smile ! The staff can not do enough for you! We were quickly checked it and shown to our rooms. The room was quite small but for one person and the amount of time you spend there does not matter! The rooms are cleaned every day and towels are also changed daily which is always good.

No sooner had I arrived i went to check out the beach ...the most breath taking beach in the world ! You can literally stand there and pitch yourself because you can't believe how lucky you are to be standing on such beauty, pure white sand and clear crystal sea!

There are two pools one of which has a swim up bar and it nice to sit up at when the sun gets a little too much for you!

The hotel has four different resturants, an Indian, seafood, Italian and buffet service resturants. Defo recommend the seafood lobster was awesome !

As stated previously the staff can not do enough for you, and often ask is everything ok with your stay Etc. You will get to know a lot of the staff but my personal favourite is Alvin at the bar ! Amazing bartender and no one makes cocktails like him, he's funny too!

Planning my return for Jan/Feb next year also !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husaband and I went for our Honeymoon and had a fantastic time.
The beach was postcard perfect the food was good lots of variety, and very tasty.. My husband is a fussy eater but he enjoyed it..now thats saying somethng.
The rooms and hotel itself is very dated and could do with a renovation and modernisation but the staff definetly make up for it, They cant do enough for you very polite, bubly and warming and are always bending over backwards to make you smile. They also make an effort to get to know you on a personal level which is nice as your always made to feel speicial.
The entertainment was OK nothing special we was there for a week and on 2 or 3 nights it was just music. Luckily we wanted a chilled out place so it suited us just fine.

I have to mention the Chef Barrymore in the hemisphere restaurant who was absolutley fantastic he is a top guy and is one of the reason we will go back. through out our stay he was very carring, kind and polite and made us feel very welcome. I asked for a recipe (jerk chicken-very tasty) and the following day he gave us a popular Antiguan marinaded for us to take back to the UK. He went out of his way and bought it for us without hesitation. We didnt expect that all.

Overall We highley recomend this place and is definetly a place we will visit not for the resort but for the wonderfull personality that work there... Thank you Ian, Barrymore,Claudia, Maria. Alvin, Charlie,Terry, and Neil.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Hotel
Jolly Beach Resort
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans
Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive, 464-room Jolly Beach is an exceptional Caribbean experience. Resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized watersports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, Think Jolly Family Program, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.