We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 50% on All Inclusive
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Barry Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Jolly beach resort
Location- on the best beach in Antigua and also got a nice harbour which you can go for a walk got few shops, bars and restaurants.
Rooms- we had a supersaver room which was small but was ok, could do with a refurb but we managed for a week kept clean
Service- the staff were brilliant and always friendly could not fault them.
Food- food was good managed to get something all the time didnt manage to go to the alacartes but was told they were excellent and plenty of alcohol the cocktails were amazing, pinacolada and the strawberry daiquiries yummy.

The only thing we had were a lot of mosquitos got bitten a lot so take plenty of repellent with you.

Would defenetly go back to the jolly beach and antigua again.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    1,016
    572
    286
    208
See reviews for
528
1098
70
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a little bit nervous about my stay at jolly beach,I should not have worried,this is a very good resort,as long as you are not expecting 5star luxury.
Yes the rooms are dated and basic ,but more than adequate.Me and my wife stayed in the most basic room and although very small it had good air con,decent shower with plenty hot water,tv and kingsize bed.
Buffet restaurant was good always plenty of choice,some of the tastiest food i have had from an AI buffet,if a little repetitive.
The a la Cartes were fine (nice steak in the Italian and Lydia's). The Indian is a little different to what we get at home,but tasty never the less.
What makes this hotel is the staff.I don't think I walked past one of them who didn't ask how we were doing ,most seemed very happy and helpful.Too many names to mention but Real,Alvin and Wayne were very entertaining on the main bar,Jennifer on the concierge desk ( told you I wouldn't forget your name) was very helpful and Travis the chef was always chatty on a morning in the buffet restaurant.
The 5 star bit of the hotel is the beach absolutely stunning probably the nicest I have been on.There are lots of vendors but a polite no thanks was all it took to see them move on.
We weren't going to go to Shirley heights but we changed our minds at the last minute .so pleased we did,it was a brilliant night.Fantastic views of the dockyard,brilliant steel bands then a live band.the barbecue was a bit pricey but the drinks weren't too badly priced and were very strong.
Yes there are bugs,but its a tropical island so you have to expect that,just take plenty of repellant.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would go back and would recommend to others.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoreham by sea
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a typical Caribbean hotel, a bit dated and in areas could do with a little TLC but all this is outwayed by the fantastic beach,great food and attentive staff, this was our second visit and we will be going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

i came back from the jolly beach resort the most relaxed i have ever been, what a fantastic time myself and my mother had, we came here about 17 years ago and i got to say we got the same reception this time as we did back then, the resort is great a little dated i places but that does not matter, the food was great there was always something for everyone to eat, ever the fussiest, the staff were friendly and always ready to help, our room was spotless the decor was great, i have to say even though there is a spa here i would suggest you take a walk down the beach towards coco bay and you will come across a really nice white shop where you will find bernie who i got to say gives the best massages i have ever had, i would recommend bernie to anyone that would listen, all and all a fantastic holiday had by all.

Room Tip: we stayed in hacienda right by the beach and really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have just returned from the Jolly Beach Resort and after reading some of the reviews on here we were concerned at what we were going to find BUT we really had the BEST time!
From check in to check out all the staff we met were polite, friendly and helpful, we had a few issues with the shower in our cottage but was dealt with immediately. We had a 2 bedroom cottage on the beach and the setting was perfect and so peaceful, I would definately recommend it.
I must say a special thankyou to Terence from watersports who went out of his way to accomodate us, the kids really enjoyed their hobie trip to a very small secluded island!
Lydias restaurant is lovely, Utsav is not your usual indian restaurant, the buffet is just a standard buffet but for a 3 star resort there was always plenty of food.
Yes parts of the resort look tired but whether its 3 or 5 stars the sun is the same and the beach is to die for!
I would definately recommend this hotel, if you keep your expectations down you will be pleasantly surprised. I would also recommend going at this time of year as it was not busy

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cottage has 2 bathrooms and is very spacious, lovely hammock on the decking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from the jolly beach resort and have to say yes the hotel is old and needs a bit of an update but you do come to love it. We had several issues with our first room , the air con was really noisy, the telly blew up and the bath did not drain all with in the first three hours. We went to reception and asked for a new room and they put us in another down the corridor which was better. As others have said you only sleep in them but do not expect any thing but basic even in the superior roos. The specialty restaurnts were really nice and the buffet was ok. The beach is the best and it was really quiet whilst we there the end of may so never had any problems finding shade or chairs. The staff were all really nice once you get used to their layed back attitude. Water sports were really good at the resort and could use them as many times as you liked. They do have a massive bug problem so remember to pack super strength bug spray as well as a plug in for your room otherwise you will be eaten alive. We had a lovely holiday and really enjoyed our stay. This is definitely a basic three star and as long as go and remember that you will have a fab time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As a treat for my mother, I decided to book a two week holiday away to Antigua. There was no problem choosing to stay, Naturally it had to be Jolly Beach Resort & Spa. We stayed at this resort 16 years ago so I knew that was the ideal hotel for us. The hotel its self has changed quite abit but in a more positive way by creating a second pool which is far safer for younger children. The staff were always welcoming and were brilliant at remembering your orders, Especially Charlie, Clovis & Alvin. The grill bar does the best jerk chicken & hot dogs you must try them! The room was always clean and tidy with all flowers over the bed and in the bathroom. My only downfall with the hotel is check what plug socket you have in the room. It took us three days to find an adapter that would fit into a socket and even then it was through the television or reception. .
The food was always beautiful, so even the most fussiest of people will find something wonderful to get their teeth into, I recommend Lydia's on a Sunday for lunch, and Utavs for the best Indian meets West Indian mix.
All and all I can't wait to go again to this truly lovely hotel and Island.
Thank you to everyone at the Jolly Beach & Samantha from Virgin Holidays!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive, 464-room Jolly Beach is an exceptional Caribbean experience. Resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized watersports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, Think Jolly Family Program, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.