We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mother &Daughter Holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Mother &Daughter Holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As a treat for my mother, I decided to book a two week holiday away to Antigua. There was no problem choosing to stay, Naturally it had to be Jolly Beach Resort & Spa. We stayed at this resort 16 years ago so I knew that was the ideal hotel for us. The hotel its self has changed quite abit but in a more positive way by creating a second pool which is far safer for younger children. The staff were always welcoming and were brilliant at remembering your orders, Especially Charlie, Clovis & Alvin. The grill bar does the best jerk chicken & hot dogs you must try them! The room was always clean and tidy with all flowers over the bed and in the bathroom. My only downfall with the hotel is check what plug socket you have in the room. It took us three days to find an adapter that would fit into a socket and even then it was through the television or reception. .
The food was always beautiful, so even the most fussiest of people will find something wonderful to get their teeth into, I recommend Lydia's on a Sunday for lunch, and Utavs for the best Indian meets West Indian mix.
All and all I can't wait to go again to this truly lovely hotel and Island.
Thank you to everyone at the Jolly Beach & Samantha from Virgin Holidays!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    1,022
    573
    285
    207
See reviews for
522
1091
69
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I got married at the Jolly beach resort in 2006 and although it was many years ago now I wanted to write a review. From when we arrived till when we left we had an amazing experience as the wedding coordinate was outstanding. Family brought our children a week before and the entertainment provided each night was good for them although the performers could be a little weird to be honest in their mannerism. The food was of a high quality with loads of variety although do not try to leave with any or you will be told off. for my wedding I ordered the steel band which added to my experience although they all looked a bit miserable I was told later they had been drinking the night before. A cake was made at it was so nice you felt bad for eating it. The purpose of sharing my experiences is to let people know that we booked our wedding with First Choice which included 8 adults and 2 children. I have to say my family and I go away every year on a holiday but since 2006 never ever again with First Choice. On our departure my newly wed husband and I were made to sit on a 10 hr flight apart despite booking a wedding package with the company. My husband tried to speak to cabin crew but they were the most rudest people I did kick off and was taken off the plane and strip searched. Many people on the flight later went on to make complaints about how they were treated but it must of taken me this long to calm down. From what I seen Newly weds who flew with Virgin had a much better experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a really great time here from start to finish and the people make your holiday one to remember for the rest of your life. I would like to give you a run down of what goes on and the people to look for who will ensure your stay is excellent.
Yes a previous reviews state the resort is dated but in no way did this spoil out holiday.
Transfer from Airport to Resort was good but the Journey was a real eye opener and you can see the Antiguans have nothing and live is small shacks but seem happy enough with thier life style.

Checking In : Mr Ian Bailey Head of Concierge was professional, welcoming and assisted us with a smooth and speedy checking and special thanks to the front desk ladies Racquel aka Fluffy and Chantel.

Rooms: Very basic indeed but be warned the Super Saver Rooms are really tiny and would suit a single person only no shelves just a bed and a wardrobe safe and TV and bathroom. we had a Standard room which was ok basic but catered for all our needs. TV & Aircon all working good and the rooms were very clean and tidy at all times.

Poolside / Pollside Bar: We travelled in May and the place was not busy at all. So many sun loungers to choose from but be warned the large pool has very little shade and limited on umbrellas. At one point during our stay we and 6 other people were the only people around the pool area. Pool cleaned every day. Pool bar was brilliant the bar staff exceptional names to mention who enjoy a good laugh are Charlie / Rowan / Vanroy / Patrick / Joicie. Strawberry Crush & Coconut Crush is lovely.
Coconut Grill: Jerk Chicken WOW its spicy but always fresh & the best cheese burgers on the planet served with fresh cooked fries. Also a watch for the seagulls as they will join you for poolside lunch and share your lunch with or without your permission
Beach Vendors have some nice items to buy and are cheap. One vendor Crystal HHHHooked us up with Roger who runs the Jet Ski's and got us a good deal $45 first time and $40 for the second. Watch out for the guys selling trips on the beach as they are a rip off we steared well clear.

Restaurants: Ok I love my food and was very impressed with the standard of the food and eating venues available. The buffet restaurant catered for all our needs and the food was always fresh and plenty of choice. Theme nights each nights with food from around the globe.Cakes very lovely and plenty of choice. Breakfast full choice available and an area well run by Travis & Barrymore who will cook omelettes and eggs to order. Staff are really polite and always ensure that you are happy with the food and assist you with whatever you need. Special thanks to Shanika aka Shakira and Debbie (Belly Full).
One lunch time they had some fudge for desert and they made us a box for my partners birthday and all organized by Andre who made it his mission to wish her Happy Birthday.

Italian: Trousers are a must or Jeans food is nice but I do not agree with the surcharge for certain dishes if its all inclusive it should mean all inclusive.

Indian: Ustav i think it was called but you will not get a spiced curry here we only went once and was not over impressed but the food is ok and some carries a surcharge which i do not agree with.

Lydias Seafood: Not great and its on the beach and the sand flies will eat you while you are eating some dishes carry a surcharge again not impressed but you must try Conch Fritters lovely.

In my opinion the buffet was the best and we ate there most of the time but remember you have to book for the other restaurants in advance.

Evening Bar & Entertainment: The evening bar was very entertaining with the bar staff keeping us amused with their antics and endless supply of exotic cocktails. Neil and absolute legend along with Alvin & Alwin and Dwayne all made us laugh.
Entertainment is ok Steel Band / Karaoke Nights / Singers / Dancers we did not stay all night but seemed ok Anne Marie organised the Karaoke nights and that in my opinion was the best for our crowd.

Overall our holiday was brilliant and most enjoyable the people were fantastic and made us feel at home at all times the weather was hot hot hot but we did have some rain and boy does it rain.
If you stay here you will be well looked after and if you are not over picky with certain things as we are not you will love it.

One last thing I got eaten alive by Mozzies and nothing seems to deter them.

Hope this review has been of help if you have any doubts with regards to the Jolly Beach

Room Tip: Standard Room or above is the only option. Super Savers are tiny. Our Freinds had a superior room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunapuna, trinidad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just came back from a 5 nights 6 days stay at Jolly Beach. For those looking for 5 star this pay double and go to Sandals. On arrival we were greeted by Ralph. He was very friendly and helpful. We had emailed before and asked for one of he refurbished rooms. Our request was granted and we stayed in room # 3313 in the Barthelmey section. The room was very small but very clean and was close to reception,the pools and Hemisphere. The cable reception was horrible and wi fi was only free in the lobby area. It was not working half the time we were there. There is a $20.00 US deposit for the beach towels. Also, if you want to use the safe in the room a $20.00 US deposit is required an a daily charge of $3.00 US has to be paid up front. Wi fi in the room is available at a cost of $10.00 us per day.

The staff is wonderful.... if i have to visit Jolly it will be because of it's staff. People like Christerphone,Sandra,Dawn,Tamara etc etc.. to many names to rememmber... They treated us like family. Always a welcoming smile and always willing to help.

The quite pool is where i spent alot of time. Nice size and 7 feet and the deepest. The fantasy pool is where the action is. The day starts with Aqua aeorbics, then water volleyball, then to bingo. Never a dull moment. There is always something happening. The beach at jolly is just beautiful. The colour of the water is wow. Don't forget to check out the water sport guys. We got a ride on one of the Hobbie cats. That was a relaxing sail.

The food at Hemisphere was buffet style and no booking required. There was always a variety to choose from. We tried Lydia's seafood and was not disappointed. The Indian restuarant was also very good but it's not buffet. However, if you want to dine at these places you have to reserve your spot from the day before. All in all the food was good and there was always something new to try.

Word of advice, walk with bug spray and repellent. The mosquitoes and sandflies will eat you alive. We had a problem with our A/C made a loud noise and mosquitoes in the room. We spoke to Ralph at reception before we went to dinner and by the time we got back to our room everything was taken care of. Thank You Ralph....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is a little dated and old fashioned but do you now what the people and the food, beach, sea and the drinks ;) were all lovely. The gym needs a little work as its very old. I would like to say thank you to a few people who made my holiday a great experience Neil from the bar, travis for cooking me great omelettes in the mornings. Debbie who served us at lunch and dinner time, so happy and smily. Rowen for a great service at the bar. Ian bailey for getting my hubby the cricket hat. Fluffy aka Racquel for always helping us when we needed support in the resort with any concerns we had. The cleaners wow the rooms are spot less. and all the staff are fantastic and very happy and friendly. My review is based on that we went out of season and we got a very personal service from all the staff. I will say though as one last thing but not much the hotel can do about it, the Mosquitos and sand flys oh they like to bite, but we coped. I would defo go to the Jolly Beach in Antigua again. Thanks for a great holiday form me and my husband and 16 year old son. Xxx

Room Tip: Go for the superior if you can as the super saver are very small my friends had the standard and wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Jolly Beach the last week of March.
Do yourself a favor and precheck in on line at the Jolly Beach Resort and Spa Webpage. Otherwise you can be waiting in line for hours.
The beach is beautifull. Limited amount of chairs so get there early. If you want shade vendors are renting umbrellas on the beach for a fee.
The hotel is dated, but kept very clean. The room was small, the a/c was low but again the room was clean.
The food no complaints, little choice but what was offered was very tasty. Our favourite A La Carte was the Indian. Ended up eating there twice.
The larger pool next to the beach is beautifull, water perfect.
There are two bars only. The pool bar opens late and closes early. Be prepared to wait for your drinks.
The staff were friendly but the service was very slow.
For a 3 1/2 star we were happy with the resort but would try another one next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Jolly Beach about a month ago, but wanted to take some time before I wrote my review on it. When my husband and I first arrived at the resort we were greeted with a rum drink and music, the people at the front desk were at first very nice, they placed us in a car with our luggage and had one of the workers take us to our room. I know that we read on here that the rooms were small and outdated, so that's what we expected, but what we seen was horrible. Needless to say we called the reception desk and got upgraded to a superior room, which in my opinion should be the standard because that still wasn't very nice, even tho I know that we are only in the room to shower or sleep it would have been nice to have hot water everyday (which we only had 3 out of the 6 1/2 days that we were there.
We then walked down to look at the resort, they have two pools both of which are very nice, one has a pool bar and music the other is a "quiet pool".
The beach is beautiful, one of the best I've ever seen, but there is tons of locals walking around trying to sell you everything from coconuts to drugs. It gets pretty annoying when they won't leave you alone, even when we said we weren't interested they came back an hour later.
The food at the resort is plain and not that great they have three restaurants that you have to make reservations for, and even so still not that great. At the pool bar there is a lunch place right across and in our opinion the best food there. I hope you're not hungry or thirsty after 10pm because you'll have to wait until the next day, there is noting.
The bartenders are great here and make the night enjoyable because there is basically no entertainment.
I would not come back to Jolly Beach and do not recommend it. I wish I would have taken the review a little more into consideration before we booked, I'm normally far from a picky person, but this had to be the worst place I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive, 464-room Jolly Beach is an exceptional Caribbean experience. Resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized watersports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, Think Jolly Family Program, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.