We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach,Thats It,Bad Food,Dated Rooms,Slow Staff,Never Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 50% on All Inclusive
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
cork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Beach,Thats It,Bad Food,Dated Rooms,Slow Staff,Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well i stayed in the jolly beach in March 2013 with a friend,i read reviews before but gave it a shot.I made a mistake.First the reception staff are slow,check in took ages then we were sent to the room which was dirty and dated,as we didnt get a safe key,had to walk a long distance back,of course there was a charge for this.The rooms were the worst i have stayed in and even when we were checking in,i couold hear people askign for their rooms to be changed.
We went to the bar later on,all inclusive,looking forward to chilling and having a few drinks,the worst bar staff on the planet,slow and think they own the place,bloody terrible,we got 2 beers after 20 mins wait and they came in the tiniest cups you could imagine,what a scam we both thought.Anyway we went for dinner and i tell you,my dog would refuse the food....i wont say anymore on this
there is internet that only works in the lobby and it is so slow and keeps going on and off

to sum things up,would i stay in the jolly beach again...NO,we actually moved to english harbour and stayed in the OceanInn and it was like paradise compared to the jolly

i think the Jolly needs a european manager and get rid of any staff that has an attitude

Room Tip: stay in Ocean Inn in english harbour,you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    1,045
    585
    294
    213
See reviews for
551
1,126
74
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

So we just spent 5 days here...

1. The food is actually disgusting. Possible the worst I have had at a resort. We settled for breakfast daily and went out for all other meals. The Italian dinner we had hear made us both sick. Almost inedible. The drinks are fine and yes served in sippy cups but you can bring your own if you are a big drinker.

2. The room is tiny but hot water and a/c- for the price it felt fine. We asked for a renovated quiet room and paid $50 for the week and got a fridge.

3. The concierge- wasn't always so helpful. The bus leaves right from outside the resort for $1 we went everywhere on it- great way to see the island/ totally safe- instead they tried to push us to take inflated cabs. They suggested activities we didn't want to do and seemed to hesitate when it was our choices we wanted help with. In general the hotel staff was nice but pretty slow.

4. The staff- the housekeepers, bell hops and bartenders were so nice.

5. The beach is awesome for the price- we got such a cheap package and were really in awe of how nice it was. The hawkers were pretty mellow on the beaches.

6. Daily you only get one beach towel and they are a bit warn (as are the sheets.)
The quiet pool was nice- we were not so into the family/ loud pool.
In general there is a lack of beach/ pool chairs. People seem to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve. We always found some but it wasn't easy.

7. The resort must have been built in the 70's or 80's with little updating we were fine with it. It felt clean but if you are looking for shiny and new this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from 8 nite stay here . Didn't do all inclusive, great idea as food was below average. (We tried one meal at the Italian restaurant on arrival day=poisonous). Had a jr suite..plenty of room.no drawer space, but closet had shelves, very adequate storage overall. A/C wasn't working up to par, someone came immediately, cool enough to sleep, but it was a struggle. Bathroom small, but great shower..definitely needs updating. Adrian on beach guy to see for umbrellas, $10US/day. People get out there by 5:30am to get huts..DON'T BOTHER , umbrellas are fine. Jason best guy at reception. Had a massage at the spa, HEAVENLY. some days problems with towels, speak to reception in person! Main pool always crowded, never went there, as I am a beach girl. Worse part, NO INTERNET in rooms..but for last minute trip during high season..not so bad overall. Heard other people complaining about major plumbing and bug issues..reception handled it well. Overall, C+

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Look...don't beat up on these guys. Jolly Beach never claimed to be anything but a decent 3-star resort. That's what you pay for and that's what you get...straight up! The beach is great, the buikldings aren't falling into the sea yet, the food won't kill you and there's pleanty of it, and the rum is the same they pour at Jumby Bay! Fact is it's a decent value....just expect what you pay for! 3 straight up stars for services and accommodations and 5 stars for value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited Jolly Harbour at the end of January and after reading the reviews we had mixed feelings about what we would receive. It certainly isn't 5 star but everything you would want from a holiday is there. We had a standard room and it was clean, comfortable, a good sized bathroom with hot water every day and a more than adequate shower. No bath but we never use one anyway so no problem for us. There was also plenty of storage space. We were on the ground floor overlooking the pool so away from any noise from the evening entertainment.
The food was ok, nothing brilliant , but we never went hungry. Everything was there at the buffet breakfast.....cereals, freshly cooked omelettes of your choice, eggs cooked to your liking, sausages, bacon , breads, etc. We found all of the waitresses really friendly and helpful and they constantly asked us if everything was ok and did we need refills while we were having our meals.
The evening meals in Hemispheres tended to be a bit 'samey'.......Chicken done in various ways...... but we also tried the themed restaurants on a few occasions, the Italian being our favourite.
The best feature of this hotel has to be the beach!! After going on the circumnavigation trip on the Catamaran and picking up tourists at other hotels along the coastline, I have to agree with some of the other reviews and say that Jolly Harbour is the best beach on the island.
There is so much room you can be 20 feet away from other sunbathers.
What let it down for me was the evening entertainment The local dancers, although very good, seemed to do the same thing most nights but with different costumes on and you either love Karaoke or you hate it.
It was nice to have the Harbour within easy walking distance as it broke up the monotony of staying on the hotel premises. We sometimes, after evening meal, walked to the Harbour and had a coffee or a glass wine.
This was the first time we had done an all inclusive holiday in the Caribbean...we usually go on Cruises...but we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Although the hotel does not live up to the same standards of a cruise with regards the food and entertainment, you have to remember that you are in the Caribbean, where the standard of living is not as good as what we are used to back home. Go with an open mind and don't expect 5 star when you have only paid for 3 star!!
We loved Jolly Beach and would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking or around the main pool are the best positioned as they are near to reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEFFERLAW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Absolutely loved this trip and highly recommend it to others. The county, beaches, water, people...everything absolutely incredible. I would go back again and again. We went for 2 weeks and thank goodness, 1 week is definitely not enough. I would actually go for longer than 2 weeks if possible.
The only reason that this hotel is classified as a 3 star is because the rooms are quite small and dated. We were not concerned by this as we don't spend time there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The bad first. We were shocked at the size and bare bones nature of our room. We tried to change rooms and were told that the cost would be a lot. The reservationist was quite rude and I told her that the best thing was that we had only six more nights to be at this resort. We decided to not let the room spoil our vacation and it didn't. The hotel is very old and shows a lot wear. It just needs a good maintenance overhaul. Now the good - we found all of the rest of the staff wonderful, warm, helpful and friendly. The food was excellent, although not a lot of choices. Good basic food and plenty of it. The beach is beautiful, however the surf was so rough that we couldn't swim in it. The red flag was up most of the time that we were there. The pools are very nice and clean. All in all we had a wonderful vacation and probably would return to this resort.

Room Tip: I would not choose the standard oceanview room again. I would upgrade to the next level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive, 464-room Jolly Beach is an exceptional Caribbean experience. Resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized watersports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, Think Jolly Family Program, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.