We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than I anticipated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jolly Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Warren, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So much more than I anticipated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our room was in the Grenada section. Everything was beautiful. All the food at all of the restuarants was excellent. The beach was beyond beautiful. The pools were well maintained. This was the perfect vacation spot. Not too commercialized which was what we were looking for. The staff (all of the staff) went way far and above to make our stay more comfortable.
Will we book here again? Absolutely!!!! We would like to come every year.

Room Tip: Since this was my first trip I can't really say. Our room was perfect. Just downstairs and aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    1,022
    573
    285
    207
See reviews for
522
1091
69
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I bought my package through Air Canada, which was giving Jolly Beach resort a 3 and a 1/2 stars Since my budget was restricted, I went for it with low expectations. When I arrived on the beach on a sunday evening, I was blown away by all the beauty!

I'm usually all about food and I was stoked about the selection and quality. One wednesday evening was a Caribbean-themed night, with fried (whole) red snappers, conch soup and banana cream pie. Pastries are baked fresh daily, on-site and the selection rotates 3 times a day. There are a la carte restaurants, and the seafood restaurant won my heart; I had the best crab cakes and breaded Mahi-mahi of my life! The grill bar, near the biggest pool is open for free snacks all day and the jerk chicken is amazing.

I noticed hotel guests didn't tip their waiters at breakfast, lunch or dinner and this is frankly unacceptable...presenting your waiter with a 10-15 AC ($5-$7 US) is a just matter of courtesy.

The rooms are simple and uniquely caribbean in style..housekeeping is impeccable and the rooms are sprayed to combat mosquitos and other island inhabitants ;)..I don't freak out over 1 dead insect, we were on a tropical island after all!

Night-time the whole resort comes alive, the dj's have good taste and there is a great live band n saturday nights. The drinks are abundant and very good and here again, it would only be civilised to leave a tip for your bartender at the end of the night.

Personally, I'd advise people to take the bus which is $1, through Bolans and further out to other beaches and villages..otherwise you's miss out on all the awesome road-side food stalls and sno-cones off the street vendors. Antiguans are LOVELY people and the island is very clean. Having visited Jamaica, Trinidad, Guadeloupe and Dominica in the past; I can say this is my number 1 island sofar and I'm going back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The place is a little aged, but great value. The staff, management was remarkable. The food from the restaurants was very good. The beaches are literally a "little piece of heaven." I highly recommend this resort. If you are looking for a plush resort, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a beautiful beach, outstanding service, clean room, profession and very friendly staff, not counting the fact, it was a great value, then you need to come stay at Jolly Beach Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

After all the negative reports on here I was very dubious about my choice of hotel. All I can say is we must have been at a different hotel.
Yes the hotel is tired but it is lovely.
We had a superior room in the Hispaniola block. Room 120. Very clean, fridge worked, air conditioning worked fine. Towels changed daily and were White and fluffy, not grey and full of hole as some have reported. Lovely view of the beach.
Food was good. Plenty of choice. Used the Italian restaurant a lot, not keen on Indian, lydias seafood restaurant was great too.
The beach is beautiful. Up at 6.30, cup of coffee and a long walk on the beach. Not another sole in site. Paradise.
Now, the staff. They are so helpful and friendly. A lot of comments on here say they are unhelpful and not friendly at all,. Rubbish... If you can be bothered to take the time to speak to them and take an interest then you get a good response and as for being ignored by them if you don't tip is also rubbish. We have made some lovely friends and will be keeping in touch.
Ok, you have to pay for a safe $3 a day but to keep your valuables safe then what's the problem?
Ten dollars deposit for beach towels but you get that back when you take your towels back and beach towels clean and fluffy too.
Marlene, the Virgin Rep was very friendly and helpful. Always a big happy smile and arranged outings with no hassle.
We will definatley be going back to this beautiful country and to Jolly Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ok, so it’s showing its age a little, aren’t we all, but it is very well managed, and you don’t pay the earth. All the things you really want are there, and if you just chill a little it’s great. Did not seem particularly full as out of season, and was great like that. Give it a go.
Best bits:
The staff. At a guess, down to good/strict management, but they are excellent to the last one, and made the holiday. The beach, including its cleanliness. Bocciolo restaurant. Both pools. ‘The Grill’ by the pool/beach. Virgin's 'Dundee' day trip, and their rep Marlene. Just watching the lass doing all the ‘organised activities’ was a treat in itself, she was so multi-skilled and indefatigable.
Minor things:
No Sunfish sailing, although in brochure. Booking for ‘feature’ restaurants is a mess, and too easy to lose out. Bocciolo often fully booked when apparently plenty of space. More shade round the smaller pool might be good. Buildings need some renovation, but were fine for price, and seemed to be looked after as well as possible. Shame that some of the 'live' music included recorded backing, and was a little dated.
For info, family of 4 (kids 13&16) survived very well in one superior queen room, good size room, good size beds.

Room Tip: For info, family of 4 (kids 13&16) survived very well in one superior queen room, good size room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at the JBH from 27th June for 11 nights with 2 teenagers, the setting is incredible and the staff are amazing, extremely welcoming from the moment you arrive, staying in 2 standard rooms with adjoining door on the 3rd floor, plenty of room and good air con and constant hot water only time spent in the room was to get changed and to sleep and it was perfectly adequate.
The choice of food is good, plenty of choice for all tastes served by very friendly staff, maybe not 5 star but you are not paying 5 star prices.
The beach is absolutely stunning, stayed there most days until the sunset, nice pool area with plenty of entertainment and music for the kids, friendly beach vendors who are not pushy and happy to pass you by if you tell them you are not interested.
All in all a fabulous place for the money, have travelled all over the world with business and this place is hard to beat in terms of value for money, location and attentiveness of staff..........too many to mention but AnneMarie and her entertainment team are brilliant as are all of the staff, will definetely recommend this place to friends and will certainly be returning again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location and the beach are unbeatable. Property is good for the money. What really makes a positive impression and a remarkable vacation experience is the staff! They are all friendly, polite and helpfull. Sorry, we can not remember all names, but some we can not forget, like Christofine, Rachel, Travis, Tamara, just to name a few.

Room Tip: It is all personal. If the view is #1 pick upper floors, if you are "lazy" to take stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jolly Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Bolans Village, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive, 464-room Jolly Beach is an exceptional Caribbean experience. Resort offers great year-round value for destination weddings, honeymooners and families. Rates include accommodations, government taxes and service charges, all meals, snacks and afternoon tea, house brand beverages, non-motorized watersports, activities, Jolly Kidz and Teenz Clubs, Think Jolly Family Program, use of the gym and entertainment. All rooms are air-conditioned and face the ocean; each has a patio or balcony, direct-dial phone, TV and hair-dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jolly Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Beach Hotel Bolans
Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort All Inclusive
Jolly Beach Antigua
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.