We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Cocobay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Cocobay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at Cocobay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We spent the second part of our honeymoon at Cocobay. After 10 busy days in Orlando, Florida, Cocobay was the perfect place to relax for a week. Cocobay is a really beautiful location - perfect for honeymoon - stunning views, relaxing atmosphere, lovely beach and pool. Be warned however that Cocobay is not for those looking for a lively holiday. Having read previous reviews we knew not to expect too much night life. It was dark each night by 7.30pm, so most nights was just dinner followed by a few drinks. Dinner was quite fancy with small portions, although there were 4 courses. Be warned though, as with everything in Antigua, dinner is laid back so don't wait until you're too hungry as you can wait up to half an hour between courses. The excursion to Shirley Heights on the Sunday evening was well worth a visit, excellent local steel and reggae bands, a bit of local music was good fun. Other meals in Cocobay were buffet style with plenty of fresh fruit, salads, vegetables, pasta and fish. Plenty of fruit, eggs and bacon for breakfast too! Most days were spent relaxing on the beach or by the pool, although there is an excellent range of excursions available. We spent one day on the catamaran island tour which was great fun, and another on the jeep island safari which included kayaking and snorkelling. Altogether we had a great time at Cocobay and would definately recommend it for a relaxing honeymoon. Loved Antigua and will hopefully be back some day!

  • Liked — Beautiful scenery, friendly locals and relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Noisey at night with treefrogs and vines but what do you expect in the Caribbean!
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    349
    86
    47
    53
See reviews for
54
1,139
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

if your wanting a relaxing holiday, this is the resort to stay in!! When we arrived we thought it was amazing, the views, the pool, the beachs& the chalets etc, By the 3rd day we wanted to come home, the food was terrible, small portions, not much choice on menu & everything smelt the same & drinks were watered down! As for the entertainment, you bisically made your own! It was a poor effort for the money we paid!! Not much 2 do during the day as resort is away from everything!! One good thing about it was how friendly the staff were and how clean it was, rooms were cleaned every day!! If your looking for peace and quiet day & night then this is the holiday for you!!! Antigua itself was unbelievable, just try a different resort!!! It was a disappointing honrymoon!!

  • Liked — We had separate chalets
  • Disliked — No entertainment
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

We stayed at cocobay in june for our honeymoon the views and scenery are amazing and the little cottages are basic but really nice as we were on our honeymoon we was supposed to recive a bottle of champagne and flowers in our room but it wasnt there i informed the reception and they made sure we got it on the second day which was nice the food was ok buffet for breakfast and lunch and alacate for dinner the standard of the food was very good in the evening and service was good not slow like some have mentioned the hotel is very quiet it lacks a bit of atmosphere the entertainment is very poor the steel band didnt turn up on the sunday which was dissapointing as we was only in antigua for one sunday so we missed shirley hights bbq in favor of the steel band at the resort the drinks were ok david would make you cocktails and the wine was good but my husband said the beer was warm so he didnt like it all in all we had a nice time but it was a bit too quiet and we prob would have favored a livelyer resort but if you just want to relax and do nothing then cocobay is the place for you

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

With wonderful views, good location and no children allowed this was just a lovely find. We had a seafront room and just waking up to the sound of the sea and watching the pelicans flying across the bay was bliss.
Yes, as other reviewers have stated the rooms are basic in their decoration and furnishings and there is no A/C ,but the ceiling fan worked well and if needed you could have a standing fan as well.
The grounds are well maintained and the path lighting is so romantic. Be prepared for quite a trek if you have a room up the top of the hill, can be quite exhausting in the midday sun.
Breakfast and lunch are buffet style with more than enough in quantity . Dinner is more "nouveau cuisine" ;delicious in taste and beautifully presented, limited choice though. Service could be slow but when we were there it was down to staff shortage . Mind you for the youngsters the portions were small and there were no facilities to get anything to eat late in the evening. The shop sold crisps etc but it shut at 5pm and it cost $3 for a bag of crisps.
I would consider the resort more "full board" than "all inclusive" as bottled water had to be purchased , and apart from afternoon tea 4-5pm ( sandwiches and cookies) no other snacks/ food were available except at meal times. Also certain items on the dinner menu could only be had at a supplement.
A little disappointing was the fact that we chose this resort to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the date was stated on the booking form, yet no acknowledgement was made by management of this. Other hotels we've stayed in have left a card etc and that woulds have been nice. We ate in Sheer Restaurant on our anniversary and that was brilliant but again you have to pay a supplement.
We found the staff briliant ,always willing to help (how can we forget Phyllis with her wonderful smile).
Apart from the few minor niggles as mentioned above we really enjoyed our stay and if there weren't so many more places in the world to visit we would be going back next year.!

  • Liked — The views from the sea front bungalow
  • Disliked — The smells from the drains
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

Wow,upon arrival it was lovely arrived at 9 @ night and the whole resort was light up with what looked like candles really pretty...Was walked to our room there was a cute mozzie net over the bed(no aircon although 2 fans alocated to our room but they are really quiet) really chic room. This was our honeymoon we had booked the sea front villa and was stunning the view from our shower across the bay crystal clear water (what a view)...... Brekfast was fab in the whole the food is brilliant although evening dinner portions were a little small but you do get 4 courses. The Red Barron cocktail is a definate must!!!! J and David make fab cocktails. A few things though there does seem to be a lot of weddings 5 while we were there for a week. so lots of people wanting to sit together so you find yourself walking u and down the beach looking for sunloungers and putting towels on the sunloungers around the pool just so you are gauranteed a seat.But staff great you all the time infinity pool is gorgeous. Oh one other thing be prepared or early nights as no entertainment on other than a really good steel band on the sunday night. So we will definatly be going back......!!!!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

My new husband and I were married at Cocobay on May 8, 2007. We had our hearts set on a beach wedding and that's what we were given. Although we were the only couple to marry on the beach during our stay and its not the first choice for the staff as all the wedding equipment has to be moved, we could have not been happier with the setting, staff, service or surroundings.
Elizabeth and her team were always pleasant and professional. We were lucky to have both friends and family with us to enjoy the celebrations. All the staff were aware of who we were and always made to effort to make it the best experience possible.
We were fortunate enough to go deep sea fishing and brought back fresh fish twice, both times this was prepared for our lunch the next day without hassle or complaint and absolutely delicious.
If you like to get out and about during your stay, try the Xtreme Navigation tour, deep sea fishing with the 'Overdraft' or a day yachting on the 'Miramar'. All were fantastic, diverse days well worth the money.
In respect to the restaurant, most meals were very good and varied. We did experience bad service one night as we ordered off the suppliment menu and ended up with our starter over an hour later and managed to leave after declining dessert, over 2 and a half hours later. The manager did apologise on the spot and we were not charged for the suppliment. Even though this was not a good night, I see no valid reason to lower an overall rating such as the previous reviewer on one night in one category to a '1' when this resort is great and deserves much better.
We will return to Antigua again, and to Cocobay and I am sure the friendly staff, great beaches, wonderful pool, great pina coladas and fantastics views will still be there waiting for us.

  • Liked — A small resort that makes you feel you are back home at your own island getaway.
  • Disliked — Perhaps it was the dry season, but the flies were not pleasant in the dining room, we suggest celing fans to keep them at bay.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

My wife and I spent 3 weeks at Coco Bay during the Cricket World Cup. I was slightly apprehensive, having read some of the dreadful reviews posted on this web site, however, after staying there I am frankly astounded by some of the negative views expressed by other members. I feel it is only right to address some of the complaints I have read with our own experiences.

Coco Bay is a comfortable, relaxed hotel in a fantastic location. The rooms are not what I’d call ‘tired’ more like comfortable but basic, but what more do you need? You don’t spend enough time in the room for it to matter. The linen and towels are changed every day and were always spotlessly clean. No there aren’t TV’s in the rooms, but if you want to stay inside watching TV, stop at home. There is a TV room near to the Bar/Restaurant for the addicts who can’t stand being parted from the goggle box.

The hotel is not ‘miles from anywhere’. We walked to Jolly Harbour (Shops restaurants and a bank) in about 20 minutes with my wife wearing flip-flops. A taxi is $10 us each way and yes they do accept EC Dollars as well as US. Yes it is $30 US an hour for the Internet in reception, but if you need to spend that long on the net, try to remember you are on holiday. For the person who complained that there was no courtesy room for people leaving late, there is a changing room with shower near to the swimming pool, which can be booked at reception.

The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. To say that the reception and restaurant staff were ‘sullen, rude, unhelpful’ or ‘had attitude’ could not be further from the truth. Maybe some of the people who complain should take a look at how they speak to the staff before they whinge about sullen and unfriendly attitudes. I witnessed the reception and restaurant staff deal with many unreasonable requests in a friendly and professional way. For example one guest insisted that the receptionist did something about a party held by local families on the public beach on Easter Monday, because it was ‘too loud’. We went down and joined in, playing cricket on the beach with the locals who made us feel very welcome, isn’t that what being in the Caribbean is all about? The service in the restaurant was occasionally a little slow, but that seems to go for the much of the island. Things do get done, but in ‘Caribbean Time’.

The food in the restaurant was very good. It was the right mix of buffet for breakfast and lunch and 4 course A la Carte for dinner. There was a good choice of seafood, meat and vegetarian for every meal and the portions were more than adequate. Yes, there are birds in the restaurant during the day, but this is a small price to pay for the fantastic views from the tables. The alternative is a closed dining room without a view, no thanks! The management do what they can to prevent this but if humans can get in then so can the birds. In 3 weeks we saw one rat near our room, not exactly an infestation.

Finally the mosquitoes and sand flies. Yes there are some insects, but you are in the tropics, what do you expect? We were bitten a few times, even after taking precautions, but not as badly as other places we have been to. Just take some repellent and bite cream or antihistamine.

As I said earlier, we were astounded by some of the bad reviews posted by some people on this site. Maybe if you chill out and stop looking for things to complain about you might actually find yourself enjoying your holiday. And for the person from Newcastle who checked out after 3 hours, try staying a bit longer and giving the place a chance.

In summary, Coco Bay is a very nice hotel in a great location, with a relaxed and friendly attitude. The staff are polite, friendly and professional. It’s not a luxury hotel by any stretch, but comfortable and not at all stuffy. My wife and I enjoyed it immensely and will be returning for the next

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocobay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.