We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Cocobay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel with beautiful views.

Hotel was very well managed and all the staff were so friendly and helpful we couldn't have asked for any better.

Food and drinks were a very good standard particularly dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    349
    86
    47
    53
See reviews for
54
1,139
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Visited end of May in a Premium Waterfront Suite which was wonderful. Excellent location overlooking the beautiful Caribbean Sea yet near enough to the bar and restaurant if you wanted a drink on your deck. Our plunge pool was lovely and warm and well used as was the bath tub on the balcony. We were provided with a bottle of rum shortly after arrival which was appreciated but the mini bar was empty except for water so there was nothing to mix it with. Asked several times could we have some diet coke but our requests fell on deaf ears and we never did get any which seemed a little petty considering the cost of the holiday.

The food was very good with certainly adequate portion sizes although we felt that a little more choice at dinner would have been an improvement. Drinks and the staff that served them were all excellent with staff soon knowing your drink of choice and you didn't even need to ask for a refill, it was there as you finished your drink. Excellent service.

Ambience at the hotel was very nice and everyone from staff to guests was friendly and sociable.
Entertainment for us was just the right mix from nothing at all some nights so you could interact with other guests, some nights quite lively with dancing and other nights background music.

Hotel is in an excellent location with access to several other beaches, personally was a little disappointed with the hotel beach little Ffryes, the sea was lovely but the sand was very course like crushed shells. You can however walk to Ffryes beach and Valley Church beach easily and we also canoed to Valley Church.

All in all an enjoyable holiday but were a little put off by the fact that there seemed too many discrepancies between what guests were entitled to. Some had upgraded menu without cost and some didn't. Some had mini bar filled and others didn't etc. None of these things mattered greatly but we have never visited anywhere previously with rules like this, they either charge for extras or they don't.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We did not arrive at Cocobay in the best of spirits having had to endure a 2 and a half hour wait to get through passport control on landing. The journey to Cocobay was pretty depressing...not nice to see starving animals tied up on ropes, a derelict landscape and also the weather was cloudy and grey. None of this was of course Cocobays fault.

Room...... Our sea view hut was rustic but characterful. If you looked for dust you would find it but overall we were happy. The bed and pillows were the best we have ever slept on and the furniture was adequate. My main gripe was there was only one mirror in the bathroom and it was hot, hot hot after the two of you had showers making getting ready ( as a woman with long hair) very uncomfortable.TIP....take a mirror so you can do your hair and make up in comfort in the air conditioned bedroom. You can open the door of the shower but we found this made no difference and people walking past could see us. Note not all the sea view rooms have the idyllic view you see on the photos.....some overlook the other bay which is nowhere near as pretty. There is a list of dinner times and services in the room but it was out of date. The Mangers Thursday cocktail party has now been cancelled due to complaints on this website. A few people we met had insect problems in their rooms such as cockroaches etc but we did not have this. It is a tropical island but if you have insect issues it might be worth noting this. The huts were very noisy at night. They have tin roofs so a shower felt like a torrential storm and the trees would bash against the hut, the crickets were also so loud. All of this, I liked but some people may not. TIP Take earplugs!!

Pool / Beach....... Towels are provided. The pools were lovely and the views fabulous. We went on a trip around the Island and it was apparent that Cocobay was located in one of the best spots. The beach was nice and the water like a warm bath.

Drinks...... Beer not the best but ok, wine terrific for all inc, great cocktails made by Oriel. Only 2 bottles of water when you arrive but you can get them refilled at the bar.

Food...... Brekkie good with most things you could want . For lunch you could grab a grilled sandwich at the lower beach bar ( different filling each day) or buffet in the restaurant and dessert. We thought it was pretty good. Dinner was fantastic.... a four course meal of restaurant quality, we were very impressed. We stayed for 2 weeks and the menu was different every day.

Entertainment.... Just some music on certain nights. This place is very low key and the evenings centre around dinner and most people are in bed by 10. Not the place for partying!

Staff...... 90% are INCREDIBLE and a huge asset to the resort. We have never experienced such wonderful genuine people in our lives. There are some grumpy ones but the others made up for them particularly Vincia, Mr Gore, Ramone, Tarifa ,Sonia Melissa, Oriel.

General... Cocobay is primarily a honeymoon destination and I would say 90% of couples were in their twenties on honeymoon with a sprinkling of older couples. 2 weeks is a long time there as it is really quiet but great for relaxing and chilling if that is what you want.

Room Tip: Do not consider a room without a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved our 5 night stay at Coco Bay resort in June! What a great find in paradise! The resort is perfect if your looking for a smaller resort with charm, character, amazing views, warm and friendly staff and an relaxed atmosphere that affords whatever level of privacy you seek. We stayed in a cottage with views towards Jolly Bay. Every day you wake up looking straight out your french doors at that view. It doesn't get any better! We had a cottage with A/C which is the way to go. The weather is wonderful and not too hot with the wonderful trade winds, but the a/c felt good when you took a break from the beach or pool and for sleeping. This time of year is nice as it is end of the season so not as busy. We did not see a single mosquito just a few ants that wanted to find their way into our bathroom from the door that opens from the shower to the balcony - yes you can take an open air shower with a view of paradise! The staff responded to any needs right away. The meals were great and wonderful to linger over, especially the desserts. If we stayed longer, we may have wanted a few more options but for 5 nights it was perfect. The staff did lots of extra touches - surprises in our rooms more than a couple times (candles/good bye treats). All the excursions on the island were easy as they would either pick you up on a boat right from the beach or send a driver to get you upon request. We spent most of our time at the resort to relax. We had the couples massage which was great! The resort offered a few workout options during the week with instructors, but if you are looking to be physically active, other than kayaking or swimming, you would need to book excursions. We enjoyed meeting people from all over the world and U.S. The views are seriously amazing and the color of the water is incredible! We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a deluxe room or higher if you can. And a stay of 5 nights or longer gets you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a week long stay at Cocobay! The views are unreal. We stayed in the cottage, Oleander, which is very private with amazing views! We loved the outside bathtub and plunge pool. We also loved the pools around the resort. The cleaning ladies were amazing and the front desk staff was always helpful and friendly. The serving staff at the restaurant seemed a little annoyed at times but other than that, no complaints. My husband I loved the couples massages we got and also the private dinner on the beach. We met some amazing people from all over the world. We had such a great time. Also, I had read in other reviews about bugs being a problem but we didn't have any problems, maybe it just depends on the time of year. If you're looking for romance and not a place that's too commercialized, this is it!

Room Tip: Oleander is water front and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed over New Year for 10 nights, and the place was perfect. From the moment you arrive you know you've made the right choice. We had great service from the manager and staff, and after a day were greeted by our first names. Dianne fell and needed a visit to hospital to be checked out, and the manager and staff really went the extra mile on New Years day to organise a taxi and ensure everything was ok after that. We had a superb view of the sea (yes it really is that colour!!) and would definitely recommend the waterfront properties. Several beaches around the resort, so you really can find a piece of heaven on earth without being crowded (and at times you can have 200m stretches all to yourself). 10/10 and we look forward to our return trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset,uk
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is a little gem in paradise. From the minute we arrived and being checked in we found the staff very helpful and friendly. We stayed in a standard cottage which was more than adequate, a large comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities, balcony with a hammock, a good shower with plenty of hot water and a free use of a safe, my only gripe was an extra cost for aircon ($20 per day)but this is standard on upgraded accommodation. The food...breakfast and lunch were a slight disappointment, although Sonya omelettes were perfect (please management give this delightful young lady two days off in a row) but the evening meal more than made up for earlier shortcomings, it was top quality, great choice and superbly presented. Drinks were of good quality and Oriel did a great job keeping your glass topped up, with good evening entertainment most nights to round off the perfect day..
My only recommending to the management would be to provide a packed lunch to guests that decide to spend the day exploring this beautiful island, as I have found this a service that other hotels supply on request.
Thank you again to all the staff that made our stay a memorable one and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, oh also enjoyed my chats with Mr Gore, a man with a big heart.

Room Tip: upgrade if you have the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocobay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.