We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Cocobay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cornwall, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed two weeks at this resort and it was paradise. No internet (unless you choose), no television it was perfect to relax and switch off. The staff were faultless, the room very comfortable and two infinity pools to choose from. A la carte dinner in the evenings and no repetition of the buffet for lunch, every option covered for breakfast - you couldn't fault the food. If we go back to Antigua we would definitely go back to this resort. Do the helicopter to Montserrat - not cheap but with every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    366
    95
    48
    55
See reviews for
59
1,215
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia,PA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently got married in October and my husband surprised me by taking me to Cocobay Resort in Antigua. It was beautiful and secluded. The staff were wonderful and friendly. They treated us with so much warmth and did many things to make our stay even more special. As a surprise they came into the room, while we were away, and set up it up with flickering candles and flower petals along with some yummy snacks to set a romantic mood for my new husband and me. The food was delicious. The drinks were plentiful. But as honeymooners what was most special was our room. The view was gorgeous blue ocean and blue sky. We had a small pool connected to our room and we used it each day. If you are looking for a special place to be with your mate or just a special place to reconnect, vsist CocobayResort. It is not the place you go to watch TV. It is the place where you leave the world behind and find yourself, your love and re-energize.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had our beach wedding and honeymoon at Antigua! We travel- a LOT- and this is by far the prettiest place we have ever been. I can't say enough how amazing the staff was and worked around the clock to make our stay the best it could be. Most of the staff has been with this resort for years and years. They become your family and they are as sad to see you leave as you are.

You are greeted with cold towels and rum punch on arrival. And after a long plane ride, it is such a nice touch. This is followed by a quick tour of the grounds and you get to meet some of this wonderful staff. Then it's all about relaxation. They bring your luggage to the room for you and the rooms are amazing.

We had a waterfront plunge pool suite for 3 days. They are doing construction on one of the rooms by us and O'Neal (the GM) felt bad for that. So he moved us to the premium waterfront suite. Though it wasn't necessary, it was so sweet to do. Does the suite look like the pictures on the website??? YES! Is it worth the extra cost??? YES! Closes location to the "main" area and you get a wonderful cross breeze in your room. We only ran our AC at night. It had two hammocks so we didn't have to share with each other. And we found ourselves spending more time in this room than the other. The breeze, minibar and a hammock make it!!

The wedding staff is top notch. We met with Temeka (wedding coordinator) on Sunday and we talked about what our expectations are for our wedding. She filled out all paperwork for our marriage license. On Monday she got us a driver to take us to the high court to get the physical license. Our driver handled all of it, what room to go to, who to talk to, he even paid the fee with the money the resort provided. We just basically walked around with him. Without his knowledge, I am not sure if we could have figured it out alone. Tuesday was our wedding. It was a dream and perfect and more than I can imagine. Temeka even helped get my dress all zipped up and with her and the photographers, she brought me to the isle. Which, for a bride, it's nerve racking to think you may have to walk there alone. But you are not alone- your antigua family is there with you. Some of the staff even came to watch us, which meant so much! We followed our wedding with dinner on the beach. It was candle light, by the waves, and the food was first class. Also worth the cost. The dinner is a dining experience. It took about 3 hours, but there are dishes coming out to you the entire time. They do not rush you. It's your private time alone to connect and that's exactly what they want you to do.

The food in the open air restaurant is the where you will have breakfast, lunch and dinner. We never ate the same thing twice and EVERYTHING we had was amazing. Visit Sonia (who I deemed "the egg lady"). That women can make a killer omelet! At dinner they have white and red wine. You can also order a little fancier wine with the wine menu for a small supplement.

They have two pools and you are never waiting for a chair by the pool. They always have something available. We started at the main pool the first few days then ventured to the second pool. The second was by far our favorite and it's closes to the beach. Lot's of free non motorized water sport gear is available. And no one solicited us on the beach, those reviews are lies. Apparently you can't make everyone happy. We got asked to do jet ski's once and after that we became friends with the guy and he would sit with us and chat.

We did a snorkeling excursion and we picked up people from 6 different resorts, so we really got to see what the other resorts look like. Do not go to sandals people- I repeat- DO NOT go to Sandals! We met a couple there and they said they are so happy to meet us and talk to us. They had been at their resort for over 5 days and it's so large that they hadn't met anyone. We just looked at each other and made a face because we know everyone at our resort. All the staff and most of the people. It's small and personable and that's who we are.

I could go on and on and on about this place. We have never been back to the same place twice because the world and so big and there is so much left to see. But we will 100% be back here. And I can't wait to see all of our Antigua family when we do!

Pros: Too many to list.

Cons: A little humid in October, but not miserable. Bring bug spray. At night the bugs do bite. Everyone there had little red bumps on their legs. But the spray works and the gift shop has some if you forget.

Room Tip: Premium waterfront suite will catch more of a breeze than the other rooms and the upgrade is worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Cocobay celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and are already looking at how soon we can find an excuse to go back! From the moment we arrived to cold towels, rum punch and to be greeted by the manager we could not fault the resort. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, from Sonia making the best omelettes at breakfast and wonderful fish at lunch to the bar staff making special cocktails and keeping your glass filled up! The evening meals were delicious and we never had the same meal twice. The views from the infinity pools were absolutely amazing and the beach fantastic. Our cottage had a beautiful sea view and the air conditioning was a blessing. We went on a land and sea safari while we were there which consisted of half a day in a jeep going up into the hills for wonderful views of Falmouth Harbour, then down through the rain forests and onto Turners Beach where we were picked up by a catamaran for lunch and snorkelling before being taken around the other half of the island. Would definately recommend it :)

All in all we couldn't find fault and had the most romantic and relaxing holiday ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from Cocobay resort with my wife for our anniversary and I was very pleased overall. We arrived at the airport on time however customs can be slow and we waited for nearly an hour trying to get through as it is a small airport.
The drive to Cocobay is 30-40 minutes depending on traffic and will set you back around $28US (which is paid for by the hotel if you book through their website.
You are treated to a cold towel and rum punch on arrival as mentioned by other reviews. The reception staff is very polite and had our room ready immediately. They did schedule a short tour of the resort which we took later on because we were tired from travel.
We reserved the premium oceanfront suite after reading other reviews and seeing pictures. I would not consider booking a different room. These rooms really are magnificent and were the absolute best part of the stay. The bathrooms are newer and much nicer than the rest of the villas with black marble countertops and dual vanity. The showers open up like the rest of the rooms however have a glass partition so the floors do not get wet. The beds and linens are very soft and comfortable. The plunge pools are nice but are pretty chilly so we did not spend much time in it. Since we booked through the hotel, our mini fridge was always stocked with beer, water, soda, tonic water, and rum punch. Maid service is prompt and they do a good job.
The hotel itself is in good shape with nice landscaping. There is no TV or internet in the rooms but you can rent a wifi hookup for $10 for 24 hours.
There are ocean kayaks and hobi cat sailboat free to use from the hotel. The beaches are lovely and water is crystal blue. The only complaint I have about my experience is the solicitation on the beach. There are several locals who stay on the beach all day trying to sell jet ski rides. They ask several times throughout the day unless you are short/rude to them and tell them to leave you alone. I am not a fan of being a jerk on my vacation but had to towards the end of the trip. They also ride the jet skis around the bay/cove attempting tricks in order to show you how much fun you could be having. It is very obnoxious and the resort should make an effort to get control of these guys. There is a private beach you can walk to that is desolate and much nicer but without chairs or drinks.
The food is pretty good for an all inclusive. Buffet for breakfast and lunch and a menu with 4 courses for dinner. Steak, lobster, and shrimp is on the supplemental menu at no extra charge if you book through the hotel so another incentive to book through their website. Their is live music several nights per week which is actually not bad although no one really dances.
O'neal (the property manager) runs a tight ship and the staff are excellent at their jobs from the groundskeeper to the barmen. We received a bottle of aged rum our first night, candles and rose petals our third night, and rum punch and toasted coconut our last night compliments of the manager. Clearly he does an excellent job and responds to his guests.
We rented a jeep and toured part of the island including Half Moon Bay, Shirley Heights and Nelsons Dockyard. The country itself is beautiful and this is a nice alternative if you get bored on the beach after a few days. We also did the zipline/kayak/snorkel tour which cost $145 and lasted from 9am to 2pm and included a good lunch on the beach. It is a short excursion but still a good bit of fun. I was told not drive to St. Johns because of traffic and the crowds so I cannot comment on the town but everyone we talked to was not impressed.
I would bring cash and change. You are not required to tip but everyone is so good at their job you would be remiss not to. The hotel does not have change at least the few times we asked unless you buy something from the gift shop which charges $16 for a small bottle of bugspray.
And by the way, the bugs can be bad. Not mosquitoes but tiny biting flies. They are worse after the rain.
I had a great time and would recommend this resort. We chose this resort over Hermitage Bay due to cost, however had to contend with solicitation on the beach which is not present there for some reason. Otherwise this place is fantastic but again, I would book through the hotel and upgrade to a premium oceanfront suite which is right on the water.

Room Tip: Opt for the premium oceanfront suite and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have been back home for a month now and miss Cocobay, the staff and our new friends so much. We were celebrating our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and it was made so special for us from the start. Opening our balcony doors for the first time was breathtaking with the most amazing view of the Caribbean. The rooms were rustic which added to the charm and the air conditioning was an absolute godsend as with out it we would have struggled to sleep. The gardens are so lush and green and the walk to our bungalow from the reception was really tropical as you meander among tall coconut trees with the sounds of birds and wildlife making such a relaxed atmosphere. Sonia and her wonderful omelettes start the day and the choices for breakfast was excellent. From 10am (ish) to 6pm (ish) the beach bar opens and the main bar stays open up to 11pm (sharp) Drinking Cocktails for all that time is a real hardship but hey what the heck. The lunch and evening meals were fantastic again with so much choice and you will get back home with a few extra pounds added to your physique. The staff are an absolute delight and nothing is too much trouble for them. Mr Gores dry sense of humor and the crazy Sasha are just two of the stars that light up our days. Robert risked his life teaching us to sail and Oriel kept the drinks and the wit flowing. Wherever you walk around the resort a member of staff would always smile and ask how you are which is so important and makes the holiday so special. One night we came back to our bungalow after a lovely evening with our friends and when we opened the door we were greeted with our floor covered in flower petals and candle lights flickering away. That was a lovely touch from some lovely people who really care and take pride in looking after and spoiling you. We were at Cocobay for just one week and would have loved to have stayed longer but having to return to work got in the way. We took a couple of days out for trips around the island and we would highly recommend the Pelican tour which collects you from the hotel in an air conditioned 4 track and takes you out and about and the catamaran circumnavigation of Antigua which picks you up from the beach. We even did a jet ski belt across to the five Islands at rapid speed which we should know better at our age but we were on holiday and it was exhilarating. The last night we went up to our necks into the warm Caribbean sea and watched the sun set over the horizon. Romantic and magical. Please please go to Cocobay if you are getting married, going on honeymoon or like us celebrating a wedding anniversary you will absolutely love the place.

Room Tip: The Sea View Rooms are amazing with Stunning Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this amazing hotel. The pace was relaxing, staff friendly and atmosphere welcoming. The hotel is a perfect size, big enough to be international but small enough to retain a friendly boutique vibe.
The food is amazing, buffet breakfast with Sonia cooking fresh eggs - your style - cooked to order, lunch buffet was varied and despite our party of four having very different tastes, we always found something amazing. Dinners were something special, the attention to detail in the meal presentation deserves a mention, five courses each evening beautifully placed and designed on the plate but not at the expense of the taste, the food was just simply perfect. I should say that there are a couple of things I don't like, waiting staff always went out of their way to ensure that I had something I liked - in fact on the last day the lunch pudding was... "fruit salad, pistachio ice cream or pineapple crumble, and I'll find something for you" This attention to detail is second to none.
The bedrooms are bungalow style in the grounds, the views from the balcony very special - make sure you get a room with air conditioning, I can't imagine how we would have coped without it. The ensuite shower room is designed to have the doors open straight onto the balcony so you get the sense that you are showering in the open air - however strategically placed natural screening meant that you were assured of privacy - this was really special.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is though, not the place for you if you want to party all night or are bowled over by marble towers, this hotel is exactly as it should be, in keeping with the location.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are lovely. You will need to have a room with air conditioning, it gets very hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocobay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.