We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Cocobay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Honeymooner Discount
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our second visit to Cocobay and never before have we repeated a holiday.So glad we did.It is wonderful in every way. Stunning location, great food,amazing staff. If you want marbled luxury then go elsewhere because the beauty of Cocobay will be wasted on you. This is the Caribbean at it's best. If you are loved up then great to go as a couple, if you like to have company then go with friends. It's not a party place but that doesn't mean that you can't have fun.We had a sea view cottage on the top row and it was fabulous but if you are nervous of things that go scratching and scurrying in the night then the simplicity and charm of this immaculately kept accomodation will not suit you. This isn't just a holiday it is an experience not only of the island(which you must get out and see,try a company called Happy Tours 4x4 jeep tour or the island for the day lunch and drinks included plus your own guide, ask Phyllis at reception to arrange) but of the lovely Antiguan people.If you can find someone to share taxi fare with you take a trip to Falmouth Harbour, experience how the other half live and enjoy a fabulous lunch at 'Cloggies' Bar and Reastaurant Antigua Yacht Club...just brilliant to enjoy the fod and watch the sailing world go by amongst Richard Branson look alikes! Don't hesitate, book it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    333
    83
    46
    52
See reviews for
52
1,100
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon in Antigua and had a wonderful time at Cocobay. The food is delicious for an all inclusive. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The women at the front desk were extremely helpful in answering any questions and booking excrusions or taxis for you. They only had entertainment one night in our week stay and I wish there were more. It was so much fun. The only negative of the trip was the bugs! To be fair, there are bugs all over Antigua, not just at this resort. But I walked away with 20 or so bugbites( and I used bug spray) and saw a few bugs that I hope not to see again. The resort also gave us a few nice surprises through the week to make our stay special and romantic. All and all it was a wonderful trip. I also wish they had more wines that the 2 available ( they did have a few more but they weren't included in the all inclusive price).

Room Tip: definiately a room with a plunge pool and if you can, seafront. in seaview you can see part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Cocobay Resort is low-key, beautifullly landscaped, and right on the Caribbean. They offer accommodations in a range of price-points and I can't speak to the cottages that were further up the hill: we stayed in a waterfront bungalow with fabulous view, AirCon and a plunge pool. It was lovely! The bed was comfortable with very soft bedding. The bathroom fixtures were luxurious: double sink, black quartz vanity, "rain shower" shower head with door opening from the shower onto the deck so you can look out at the Caribbean from the shower. There is also a refrigerator restocked with cold drinks daily, and an "instant" espresso maker. Like a Keurig but for espresso. The housekeepers kept the room immaculately clean. There was a safe in the closet. The best thing is ... No TV. However, you can rent a wireless device for US$10/day. Visiting Cocobay feels like staying at a beautiful private estate in a guest cottage. If you are drawn to large, rowdy chain resorts such as Club Med or Sandals, this may not appeal to you. It is quiet and peaceful except for the Thursday evening manager's reception which features a combo, some jewelry vendors and a buffet dinner that it livelier than the other nights.

The all-inclusive menus varied for the 10 days we were there. The Breakfast buffet always included eggs cooked to order, bagels, pastries and a variety of sausage or bacon. Lunch included a buffet including a variety of fresh salads (lots of greens and tomatoes) and often a pasta and a fish dish. The dinner menu varied and always offered 4 courses: appetizer, delicious soup, an entree and dessert. We live in California and eat out often and found portion size to be just right - not large but definitely not small. Since we booked directly with the hotel and not through a reservation service the steaks and lobsters were included in our room rate: some other folks paid a surcharge for steak or lobster. We found the staff gracious: I suppose that very sophisticated folks are willing to work in hospitality industry there in order to live on beautiful Antigua rather than moving to the mainland for more job choice. Housekeepers, waiters, gardeners, front desk staff were all polished and professional.

While my husband did get lots of bug bites and got itchy I think it was because he doesn't like to wear insect repellent. I wore a natural herbal repellent on my arms and shoulders and a deet spray on my feet and ankles when I was outside at dawn or dusk and got only a few bites.

The Fryes Beach looks like one in a travel magazine: powdery white sand, beautiful turquoise water and small gentle waves. The Little Ffyes Beach which is closer to the hotel has palapas and chaises and is closer to the lower pool bar. The pools! So beautiful. We rarely used them because we had our own plunge pool. The water temp felt cold for the first moment because the air was so hot. After a minute or two the plunge pool water felt refreshing not cold. Not sure whether other reviewers gave it a chance. My husband thought it was too cold the first day then gave it a chance and then spent lots of time floating in our little pool, sipping rum drinks and looking out at the Caribbean through palm fronds.
Best beach vacation in 25 years. Oh yes, we are middle aged and there were lots of youngish honeymooners there as well as an assortment of middle aged folks. Americans, Italians, Brits all added to the relaxed good spirits of the resort. Lots of lovely conversation at the bar and then retreat to our porch with sunbed and Adirondack chairs when we wanted to read quietly.

It is a ways from town so not the best location for "party animals" that want to go bar hopping at night.

Room Tip: We found the extra charge for waterfront room with plunge pool to be worth it. Our room, Pepper Pot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If a modern 5 star hotel with all the mod cons is your thing then this is not the place for you.

If a quait piece of paradise with a fantastic location and great staff is your idea of heaven this is definatley the place for you.

We have just returned from a two week holiday where we also got married. Having not been to the island or the hotel before we were a little apprenhensive about our expectations.

The rooms are amazing, little individual huts with amazing views. The location of the hotel is surreal with the clearist sea water we have ever seen. The biggest positive about the hotel has been its staff, I have never been anywhere where I felt like family, every single member of staff made an effort to get to know us and always had a friendly smile on their faces.

The food was fantastic with plenty of choice - a buffet breakfast and lunch and a fabulous 4 course evening meal you would pay a lot of money for at home!

Just want to say thank you to everyone who made our trip memorable - we will never forget our time here.

Room Tip: We had room 22 - great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at cocobay for 2 weeks for our wedding. From start to finish it was amazing!

When we arrived we were greated with a cold flannel and a rum punch and shown to our room by the friendly Melissa! All staff were lovely!

The room had plenty of space, I've seen a few bad reviews but you're bringing a suit case, not moving in! They were clean and the shower was great, you could even open the doors and shower with a view!
The food was also good, breakfast was buffet style, pancakes, eggs however you want them, continental style and fresh fruit. Lunch was buffet style again, one day we even had shark for lunch, the sandwiches by the lower bar were also really good! Then for tea you would get a starter, intermediate, main and dessert. The menus were different every night and offered a pasta dish, vegiatarian, meat and fish dish. If I ate half on each plate I would have still been full up at the end! Some people would complain about portion sizes but I thought it was more than enough! Also try the lobster!
Our wedding couldn't have gone any better! Tameka was amazing and sorted everything out for us, we got a taxi into St. John's to sign the paper work and that was all easy, flowers were perfect, the minister did a lovely ceremony for us, we also got Jason Pickering the photographer who did a great job and the videographer and I had my hair and make up done. If you want a nice relaxed wedding I would defiantly recommend cocobay!
The weather whilst we were here was lovely, one night there was a storm which shook the room but didn't bother us and one day was slightly over cast but it was still nice enough to be out in the pool. You could hear tree frogs at night and we got a few mosquito bites, but its what you expect going to an island!
Whilst we stayed at cocobay we went on the jet skis and tubing what people offered on the beach, we took the circumnavigation round the island, a jeep safari island tour, sting ray city, helicopter ride to monseratt and scuba diving. I would highly reccomend them all! Also the hotel offered snorkelling and kayaking for free which was great fun!
Whilst looking at a lot of other hotels on the island, cocobay looked the nicest and most secluded with the best views. We had the best time and would love to come back for an anniversary! Also, the hotel seemed more of a couples hotel, there was a few families with older children, none were any trouble but I personally thought it's not a hotel I'd bring kids to!
If you go into St. John's for the day make sure you don't go in when cruises come in and be prepared for people to mither you to buy stuff, that was slightly annoying but you could barter with them to get a better price on stuff you wanted.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Cocobay and have many happy memories of the time we spent there. We had high expectations from the vast number of positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We arrived to cool towels and rum punch and then were shown to the most amazing cottage at the top of the hill. It was huge with an incredible uninterrupted view of the Caribbean, just spectacular. Cocobay has a brilliant laid back vibe and we were happy to spend our time around the infinity pools or on the beach. We felt the majority of staff were fantastic and a real credit to the resort, however there were a few grumpy characters who let the side down. The food was impressive especially the dinners which were of a very high standard. My only gripe, and I think it was probably just unfortunate for us, was that we found hair in our food on two occasions at lunch time. This was unpleasant and put us off the buffet to be honest. This wasn't too much of a problem as we were able to have the yummy paninis from the pool bar instead. We were also disappointed by the a/c in our room as it broke down on two occasions and was far too noisy to have on when sleeping. Without the ceiling fan we would have melted. I also highly recommend ear plugs as the sounds of the insects are extremely noisy if you are a light sleeper like me. These small issues did not detract from the fact we had an amazing time away and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cocobay for the ultimate location for total relaxation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon at Coco Bay, and it was everything we could have possibly hoped for. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful, and the layout absolutely maximizes the natural beauty of the setting. Everywhere you turn, you can see that crystal-blue water that, at least for us, was the main reason for choosing a Caribbean honeymoon. The staff is so helpful, and the rooms are perfect. We stayed in a little cottage with a large porch, hammock, and private plunge pool. From our porch, we had a perfect view of the ocean, so we didn't even find a reason to leave our room for the first few days we were there! Once we did manage to pry ourselves from the comfy hammock or private pool, we had wonderful days lying on the beach or by one of the two beautiful infinity pools. The food is also fresh and delicious. We had a wonderful time, and would recommend Coco Bay to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocobay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.