We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Save Saved
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Nevis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enchanting Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was such a good decision ! We were in cocobay 2 nights 3 days on a brief trip. We stay at sleeping indian, a very nice pink cottage with a spectacular view over the sea. The bed was comfortable with a entire mosquitoes net (very helpful here in the Caribbean) The shower have a open door with nice view. Sizes are not huge but comfortable enough. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom. However as amenities I missed umbrellas and the most important there is not telephone in that room and the reception is pretty far away. The staff is very friendly. The food is very nice for an all inclusive and the value for money excellent. The breakfast is a buffet as well as the lunch and dinner is a la carte. We visit Sheer Rocks one of the nights, is a restaurant inside the hotel but not manage by the hotel. We were disappointed as is overpriced the service and the food is nothing impressive. So we regret not having dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights. A part of our last bad experince with the activities, as we booked a yoga class offered by the hotel, that was cancelled 15 minutes after it was supposed to begin. we got up at 6:30 am for nothing. That was sad. The experience of Cocobay was very pleasant and certainly we have the desire to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    910
    319
    79
    44
    52
See reviews for
52
1055
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staff: From start to finish almost all members of staff were immaculately polite and friendly. The reception staff were always willing to help with everything.

Food: Amazing. Breakfast and lunch were both buffets, great quality (although only 3-4 hot options). Dinner was 4-course a la carte, with 3-4 options for each course, always delicious. I am vegetarian and was very very happy, the staff also offered to cook me something else if I didn't like the set option. The restaurant has the most amazing view of the beach and sea, don't forget to book in early for dinner.

Drinks: everything is included (inc champagne and cocktails), the wine and beer aren't amazing quality, but you can pay for better if you want to.

Pools/Beach: All have comfy chairs and are kept very clean. Both pools have nice shaded bar areas. The beach is pristine too, although there are a few locals selling tourist excursions - but they are friendly and happily a 'no thank-you'.

Room: Fairly basic but lovely, big bed with mosquito net, very large bathroom with two sinks and great, powerful shower.

Other:
Bring mosquito repellant, especially for the beach and sand pool when it's damp.
The gardens that the hotel is set in are beautiful and well kept.
There is a shuttle bus to the capital (st. john's) every day for a morning shopping excursion which is worth a visit (USD10 per person).
The views from everywhere in the hotel are incredible, you can always see the beautiful sea.
Low season temperatures are very pleasant, we had some spells of rain but it clears up pretty quickly.

Overall an excellent trip, we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Seaview room was lovely, personally felt the individual private pools were overpriced, the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked my honeymoon through The Tropical Travelers and it was AMAZING! They are unlike any other travel agency. They reply almost instantly to my emails and were always asking questions about what we wanted for our honeymoon, instead of just sending us magazines or links to look ourselves. We told them we wanted a quiet, romantic, adults only, all inclusive honeymoon to a destination we in the Caribbean we had never been before. Also, we wanted to travel somewhere that was not usually traveled to. After dealing with all of my criteria and spending time with me looking at different options, they sent me Coco Bay Resort in Antigua. It was PERFECT! They got us a seafront cottage at this boutique resort with our own plunge pool!! Airfare, airport transfers, accommodations, drinks (adult drinks) and food were all included in the trip and planned to perfection. Because we booked through The Tropical Travelers, who knew the GM of the resort, we got a complimentary bottle of champagne, a complimentary bottle of rum, candles lit all throughout our room one night when we got back from dinner, and the best seafront cottage on the property. We definitely would not have gotten VIP treatment if we had booked through Expedia or another website like that. Not only that, but when it came time to depart our plane's engine went out. The Tropical Travelers were there every step of the way and got us back to Coco Bay Resort and a new flight out the next day with no trouble. We certainly wouldn't have gotten that amount of help if we had booked anywhere else. The honeymoon was AMAZING and so is their service and dedication. www.thetropicaltravelers.com

Cocobay Resort is PERFECT! The food was amazing! Our seafront cottage was private and full of charm! The bed was VERY comfortable and our view was incredible. We had our own plunge pool which was great because if we didn't feel like sitting out at the main pools we could just stay locked up in our little cottage and sun bathe on the deck and sit in our plunge pool and look out at the view. We never had any issues with our cottage. The service was also incredible. A big shout out to Vincia who made our drinks and paninis everyday! The staff there are so friendly and by the end of our trip they were our friends and they knew us and we knew them all. The resort only holds about 150 people so we got to meet all the other honeymooners and couples and became friends with them as well. The beach is super cute, and you never have to fight for a spot to sit on the beach. Every pool and every spot throughout the resort is gorgeous. The menu is always changing and every meal we had was delicious. We did some excursion too which were great! Definitely recommend the Wadadli Catamaran circumnavigation trip, and WC Tours - 3 hour tours on little inflatable boats! They were both of great value and well worth the additional expense. I can't stress how wonderful our honeymoon was. We will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort after getting married at another resort in Antigua. We stayed 6 nights. We had a sea view cottage with a king bed. The room was very rustic, cottage style. This was okay but some things were a nuisance. The AC leaked a puddle of water and the mattress was very uncomfortable. The sheets and towels smelled dingy and were itchy. The bathroom had no ventilation at all so as soon as you got out of the shower, you were sweating again. We expected a lot more from the resort especially for the price of the all-inclusive room. The food was average and the alcoholic drinks were very limited. The first morning we woke up, my husband had small red bites all over his chest and legs. We complained to the management and they did take care of the leaking AC immediately. Also, a new mattress was provided and a fan for extra ventilation in the bathroom. On our fourth night, housekeeping finally changed the sheets on the bed. And my husband continued to get small red bites all over his body. We complained about the bites and that is when the sheets were changed. My husband did not have any bites when he woke up from sleep from our previous stay of 5 nights at another resort. We were very disappointed in this resort. This was our honeymoon and the little nuisances make a big difference. I would never recommend this resort to anyone I know. It is very over-priced for the value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent Cocobay visit. We are indeed truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay. Your constructive critisms were received with humility and form the basis for even more earnest emphasis on total guest satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that you will reconsider and visit us again some time in the future.

O'Neal
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Cocobay for 2 weeks for our wedding/honeymoon. It was our first time at an all-inclusive so my expectations for good food were pretty low (eating delicious food is one of my favorite things about vacationing so I was skeptical of going all-inclusive). We actually picked this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We absolutely loved this resort and I want to point out the good and the bad.

First the negatives: 1. The bugs. Every review mentions it, it's true, there are tons of bugs. I forgot to apply bug spray the first night and my legs were destroyed. However, after that I remembered and only suffered a few more bites the rest of the trip. Wear it at all times!! I must add that we rented a car and went all over the island. We were bit up at Jolly Beach just the same.
2. The housekeeping. We were told if the shell is up, it meant "do not disturb." That was not true. We were on our honeymoon and there were some days we wanted to nap/lounge in our room alone and without fail, every time the housekeeper banged on the door. One time we were asleep and she did not stop. There were different reasons, but mainly it was something small, like bringing us towels - in the future we would rather have our peace than the hand towels. She also threw away one of my non-disposable razors, which was not trash.
3. The refrigerator in our room was never re-stocked. Over the course of 2 weeks, we met many other guests, most of them said they received new water bottles on occasion. We never did. One time I asked every worker I could find at the resort to refill them and they did that day, but it was a lot of trouble. They are available for purchase at the front desk, but at an all-inclusive, I feel bottled water should be included.
4. The paths are confusing. We got lost the first few nights and we saw several other couples lost. Signage or something pointing you in the right direction would be helpful, it's dark at night and all the paths look the same.

On to the positives! 1. The food was amazing. We thought they would repeat dishes over our 2-week stay, but they rarely did. Breakfast became a little monotonous, but usually we were so well fed we skipped breakfast anyway. Lunch was always amazing. They cooked a different fish every day (except on hamburger day). They also had a panini available at the lower pool, which was always amazing (yes, sometimes I ate both, it was vacation :). Dinner was also excellent. The pastas were delicious and they had a variety of things that one may not normally try, but it was always good. In fact, we wanted to eat out a few times and we would usually be sad about the meal we missed when we decided to go elsewhere.
2. THE STAFF! We can't say enough about how warm and pleasant the staff members were. They seemed to go out of their way to make us feel welcome. Everyone seemed to know when our wedding was and made sure to ask about it. They really added to the trip. Some of my favorites during the day: Kerry and Sasha - they are awesome. The bartenders at night - Oriel, Cyeon, Tony and Craig - always made sure we had fun (and we did!). Melissa from the front desk was also extremely pleasant and welcoming.
3. The room. The view was beautiful and we enjoyed the hammock and chairs on the porch.

It may seem that there are more complaints than positives, but they are very minor complaints and they did not take away from our overall enjoyment. We commented every day about how perfect the resort was and we could not believe the hospitality. We overwhelmingly recommend this place and we hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: We had the sea view room and thought it was fantastic. Several people we met opted for the plunge p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We are just returning from a week long stay at Cocobay Resort. It was more than we had ever expected. The views are picture perfect and the staff are so friendly. We were treated like the only people on the resort the entire week. We staying in a Sea View Room with a Plunge Pool and it was like something from another world. The food was great, the beaches and pools were beautiful. The water could not have been any more turquoise. Will be saving up for a trip back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just honeymooned at Cocobay Resort in Antigua in April and loved it so much, we hope to go back for many more anniversaries in the future. It is a perfect Honeymoon destination or relaxing couples vacation destination. The photos on the website don't it justice, it really is as great, if not better than you expect. When we arrived to our seafront, pool cottage and saw how great the cottage, deck, pool and view were and that there was champagne on ice waiting for us, all of the stress from home melted off our shoulders. We spent 7 days relaxing between our pool/deck, the 2 infinity pools with poolside bars and the main beach. We also tested out the kayaks and sailboat which were both fun to use. The food is great, breakfast consisted of a omelet/egg station which was made to order, fresh fruit and bread that you can toast, sausage and bacon. Lunch was usually fresh fish or burgers cooked fresh on the grill, salad and fruit (or you could get panini's at one of the poolside bars) and dinner was a full 4 courses with an appetizer, soup, entree and dessert per person. The resort put extra time and energy into the dinners where your food always had perfect presentation, and it was extra quiet and romantic. We can't say enough about the service and attention to detail that this resort has. Everyone was very friendly and took care of our every need without hesitation, and since it was our honeymoon they surprised us one night by laying out candles (battery powered) and flower peddles all over our bed and room while we were away at dinner. So romantic! There were no hidden charges and we didn't have to worry about carrying money around with us at all that week. One small thing we would recommend, if you do the romantic beach dinner, put bug spray on your legs because mites come out of the beach at night and can bite your ankles. Overall, great all-inclusive experience! And we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: The cotteges with the plunge pools are absolutely worth the added expense, and if you can get a seaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocobay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;