We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Save Saved
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Cocobay for 2 weeks for our wedding/honeymoon. It was our first time at an all-inclusive so my expectations for good food were pretty low (eating delicious food is one of my favorite things about vacationing so I was skeptical of going all-inclusive). We actually picked this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We absolutely loved this resort and I want to point out the good and the bad.

First the negatives: 1. The bugs. Every review mentions it, it's true, there are tons of bugs. I forgot to apply bug spray the first night and my legs were destroyed. However, after that I remembered and only suffered a few more bites the rest of the trip. Wear it at all times!! I must add that we rented a car and went all over the island. We were bit up at Jolly Beach just the same.
2. The housekeeping. We were told if the shell is up, it meant "do not disturb." That was not true. We were on our honeymoon and there were some days we wanted to nap/lounge in our room alone and without fail, every time the housekeeper banged on the door. One time we were asleep and she did not stop. There were different reasons, but mainly it was something small, like bringing us towels - in the future we would rather have our peace than the hand towels. She also threw away one of my non-disposable razors, which was not trash.
3. The refrigerator in our room was never re-stocked. Over the course of 2 weeks, we met many other guests, most of them said they received new water bottles on occasion. We never did. One time I asked every worker I could find at the resort to refill them and they did that day, but it was a lot of trouble. They are available for purchase at the front desk, but at an all-inclusive, I feel bottled water should be included.
4. The paths are confusing. We got lost the first few nights and we saw several other couples lost. Signage or something pointing you in the right direction would be helpful, it's dark at night and all the paths look the same.

On to the positives! 1. The food was amazing. We thought they would repeat dishes over our 2-week stay, but they rarely did. Breakfast became a little monotonous, but usually we were so well fed we skipped breakfast anyway. Lunch was always amazing. They cooked a different fish every day (except on hamburger day). They also had a panini available at the lower pool, which was always amazing (yes, sometimes I ate both, it was vacation :). Dinner was also excellent. The pastas were delicious and they had a variety of things that one may not normally try, but it was always good. In fact, we wanted to eat out a few times and we would usually be sad about the meal we missed when we decided to go elsewhere.
2. THE STAFF! We can't say enough about how warm and pleasant the staff members were. They seemed to go out of their way to make us feel welcome. Everyone seemed to know when our wedding was and made sure to ask about it. They really added to the trip. Some of my favorites during the day: Kerry and Sasha - they are awesome. The bartenders at night - Oriel, Cyeon, Tony and Craig - always made sure we had fun (and we did!). Melissa from the front desk was also extremely pleasant and welcoming.
3. The room. The view was beautiful and we enjoyed the hammock and chairs on the porch.

It may seem that there are more complaints than positives, but they are very minor complaints and they did not take away from our overall enjoyment. We commented every day about how perfect the resort was and we could not believe the hospitality. We overwhelmingly recommend this place and we hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: We had the sea view room and thought it was fantastic. Several people we met opted for the plunge p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    894
    315
    81
    44
    52
See reviews for
50
1037
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We are just returning from a week long stay at Cocobay Resort. It was more than we had ever expected. The views are picture perfect and the staff are so friendly. We were treated like the only people on the resort the entire week. We staying in a Sea View Room with a Plunge Pool and it was like something from another world. The food was great, the beaches and pools were beautiful. The water could not have been any more turquoise. Will be saving up for a trip back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just honeymooned at Cocobay Resort in Antigua in April and loved it so much, we hope to go back for many more anniversaries in the future. It is a perfect Honeymoon destination or relaxing couples vacation destination. The photos on the website don't it justice, it really is as great, if not better than you expect. When we arrived to our seafront, pool cottage and saw how great the cottage, deck, pool and view were and that there was champagne on ice waiting for us, all of the stress from home melted off our shoulders. We spent 7 days relaxing between our pool/deck, the 2 infinity pools with poolside bars and the main beach. We also tested out the kayaks and sailboat which were both fun to use. The food is great, breakfast consisted of a omelet/egg station which was made to order, fresh fruit and bread that you can toast, sausage and bacon. Lunch was usually fresh fish or burgers cooked fresh on the grill, salad and fruit (or you could get panini's at one of the poolside bars) and dinner was a full 4 courses with an appetizer, soup, entree and dessert per person. The resort put extra time and energy into the dinners where your food always had perfect presentation, and it was extra quiet and romantic. We can't say enough about the service and attention to detail that this resort has. Everyone was very friendly and took care of our every need without hesitation, and since it was our honeymoon they surprised us one night by laying out candles (battery powered) and flower peddles all over our bed and room while we were away at dinner. So romantic! There were no hidden charges and we didn't have to worry about carrying money around with us at all that week. One small thing we would recommend, if you do the romantic beach dinner, put bug spray on your legs because mites come out of the beach at night and can bite your ankles. Overall, great all-inclusive experience! And we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: The cotteges with the plunge pools are absolutely worth the added expense, and if you can get a seaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Upon arrival you are served with the usual rum punch and cold towel but a nice touch is that O'Neal, the Manager, is there to greet you.
After a short chat we were shown to our rooms, which can only be described as very rustic. Just what we were expecting and we loved it. It is a little tired in places but is not too bad. We did have an ant problem but reception and O'Neal dealt with it.
We chose sea view rooms and were happy with our choice. The view and position of our rooms, 33 and 34, was perfect.
The gardens are very well tended and are obviously looked after by a team who care about what they are doing.
The elevated views from the hotel are stunning and I have never seen so many beautiful, brilliant shades of blue in a sea.
Plenty of space to relax. Two pools, a selection of beaches all with soft sand and safe swimming in crystal clear water.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner were very good. Table service for six nights and buffet one night. A small menu with well prepared meals although there are one or two quirky combinations. The pasta dishes are particularly good. They do though seem a little short staffed at times.
Some evenings a queue formed with guests waiting to be seated and this should be addressed.
The bar serves non premium brand drinks, which we knew in advance but the drinks did not seem particularly strong and the cocktails too sweet for me.
On the whole the staff were very friendly and efficient. Special thanks to all at reception, Jermaine, Sasha, Cheryl and Mr Gore.
Go on the 'Medicine Man' trip...very informative.
Just one niggle, Give your guests free Wi-Fi, nowadays most places would offer this for nothing.
We will certainly return. So a big thank you Cocobay from all of us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Cocobay has beautiful gardens and an outstanding pool with panoramic views of the bay. They have the friendliest and most giving staff I have ever met, who surprised us daily with little gifts in our room. The food is delicious with a good variety and they have live entertainment each evening at the outside bar area. My favorites were the jazz piano man and the steel drum band. Everything was all inclusive which made our stay easy. We had spa services in our room and rented the jet skies one day. No one hassled us on the beach and we could always find a perfect chair at the pool. The crickets do get loud in the evening, but we got used to it by night two. Bring ear plugs if you're sensitive. We got a few sand flea bites that seem to happen only on the front row dinning tables. I hope to return there sooner than later and I highly recommend this resort if you are looking to stay somewhere in the Caribbean. Also, we had the town car pick us up from the airport ($60) which was great and took a taxi "mini van" to the airport ($37) which was fine as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the seafront cottage w/plunge pool #ll. It was very private and had a gorgeous view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent five days in Antigua at Cocobay Resort in June 2013, and absolutely LOVED it. This was our first experience at an all-inclusive resort, and Cocobay took fantastic care of us. The setting is stunning, set away from the busy St. John's area, so it's quiet and private. The staff was incredibly friendly and eager to help us and answer our questions. We were already talking about returning before we had left!

We had booked a private dinner on the beach for our last night there, and midway through the appetizer course it started pouring. The staff helped move our table up underneath an umbrella at the infinity pool, and tried hard to make things special for us despite the weather. We really appreciated all their efforts.

The only things I would note: There are mosquitoes at night, and the restaurant is outdoors, so pack some bug spray and itch cream. In June, the weather was beautiful some days and scattered showers other days. That said, the rain seems to come and go pretty quickly, and most people just keep on doing whatever they're doing right through it! (Unless it's a downpour.) The scattered showers did not prevent us from thoroughly enjoying our time.

Excursions: The staff plans excursions away from the resort throughout the week. We were able to take a trip one night from 4-8 p.m. to Shirley Heights, an historic area atop a mountain overlooking Nelson's Dockyard. A steel drum band played, and locals barbecued jerk chicken and ribs (I included a photo in this review). Delicious food, and a great environment to watch the sunset. Price: $22/person USD for the taxi, and $8 USD/each for the entry fee at Shirley Heights. We highly recommend this.

Room Tip: We thought our private plunge pool was 100% worth it, and often found ourselves in the pool after re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon at COCO BAY RESORT and we can't say enough good things! We were looking for an all-inclusive that was less commercialized and this is it! Endless rum punch, beautiful water and excellent food! The staff was so helpful as well. They arranged a couple adventures for us and transportation as well. They treat all guests with such respect! Each guest stays in their own little bungalow/cottage with a porch and hammock which is a breath of fresh air compared to a huge non-personalized hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a plunge pool. It was great to cool off if we were too lazy to walk all the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocobay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.