We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Antigua at Cocobay Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Save Saved
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Vacation in Antigua at Cocobay Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent five days in Antigua at Cocobay Resort in June 2013, and absolutely LOVED it. This was our first experience at an all-inclusive resort, and Cocobay took fantastic care of us. The setting is stunning, set away from the busy St. John's area, so it's quiet and private. The staff was incredibly friendly and eager to help us and answer our questions. We were already talking about returning before we had left!

We had booked a private dinner on the beach for our last night there, and midway through the appetizer course it started pouring. The staff helped move our table up underneath an umbrella at the infinity pool, and tried hard to make things special for us despite the weather. We really appreciated all their efforts.

The only things I would note: There are mosquitoes at night, and the restaurant is outdoors, so pack some bug spray and itch cream. In June, the weather was beautiful some days and scattered showers other days. That said, the rain seems to come and go pretty quickly, and most people just keep on doing whatever they're doing right through it! (Unless it's a downpour.) The scattered showers did not prevent us from thoroughly enjoying our time.

Excursions: The staff plans excursions away from the resort throughout the week. We were able to take a trip one night from 4-8 p.m. to Shirley Heights, an historic area atop a mountain overlooking Nelson's Dockyard. A steel drum band played, and locals barbecued jerk chicken and ribs (I included a photo in this review). Delicious food, and a great environment to watch the sunset. Price: $22/person USD for the taxi, and $8 USD/each for the entry fee at Shirley Heights. We highly recommend this.

Room Tip: We thought our private plunge pool was 100% worth it, and often found ourselves in the pool after re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    894
    315
    81
    44
    52
See reviews for
50
1037
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon at COCO BAY RESORT and we can't say enough good things! We were looking for an all-inclusive that was less commercialized and this is it! Endless rum punch, beautiful water and excellent food! The staff was so helpful as well. They arranged a couple adventures for us and transportation as well. They treat all guests with such respect! Each guest stays in their own little bungalow/cottage with a porch and hammock which is a breath of fresh air compared to a huge non-personalized hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a plunge pool. It was great to cool off if we were too lazy to walk all the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about the resort and the staff!
Upon arrival at this slice of paradise, we were greeted with cool towels and a rum beverage. The view from the reception area (in fact, anywhere on the property) is surreal- yes, the water really is that color! The foliage is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate. Every member of the staff made us feel so welcome and they were very attentive.

Cocobay has everything you want/need - romance, privacy and comfort.

The meals at this all-inclusive, adults only resort, exceeded our expectations- be sure to order the spiny lobster- they're enormous!

We're not the type to do "repeat" trips with so many places to visit; however, we definitely plan to return to Cocobay because it was a vacation of a lifetime that I don't think can be beat!

Room Tip: I highly recommend reserving a cabin with plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I cannot say enough about how special this place is. My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Cocobay Resort. It was so perfect in every way. It is a small intimate resort which suited us very well. We had a beachfront cottage with our own private plunge pool and the view of the ocean was just amazing. The food was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and the staff was awesome. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was memorable. Special thanks to the manager, Oneal, for the extra thought and effort he put into our stay there. I highly recommend Cocobay resort. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After four hectic days in New York, arriving at Cocobay to a cold towel and rum punch was just what we needed. This resort is not like another we have stayed in...it's purpose built to allow guests to get closer to nature so there are no concrete structures anywhere. Our cottage was fantastic; we had a large lounge and bathroom, king size bed which we could lie in and look out to the ocean and not one but two balconies! The cottage itself is a wood structure with slatted windows which is where your experience of nauture comes in as it can be a bit noisy at night. We had taken ear plugs with us however and slept well.

The food was lovely, 'all inclusive' done simply; what we mean by that is choice, but not too much choice! The evening meal is a set menu and you are served at your table which makes a nice change. The drinks were great too and if they hadn't got something you wanted, they would strive to get it in for you. My only recommendation (as a tea drinker) is that they have allocated pots for hot water and coffee. As with most hotels, the pots are used for both and as a result, the hot water has a coffee tang to it. Yuk! The only place I found a pot that seemed to be for hot water only was at the bar so I used to look forward to my afternoon tea at the bar! The resort overall was very clean and well maintained.

What also makes this resort great are the people. We have never stayed anywhere so friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and you are always served with a big smile. We would definitely recommend Cocobay to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room as a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had the best time on our honeymoon. We never visit the same place twice but we will be back!
Food, drink selection, and staff were amazing. The views are out of this world. Price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked 10 days in Cocobay as a relaxing and romantic getaway, and we weren't disappointed! When we arrived we were greeted with a cold towel and a rum punch, which was an indicator of the amazing level of service we received all holiday. The staff at the hotel were so helpful and friendly - i've never been so looked after! The hotel itself was lovely and quiet. We had a seaview cottage (29) which had a beautiful view and was in a quiet location. The veranda was perfect for lying on the hammock and having a drink in the afternoons. The cottage was beautifully simple and kept very clean. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and the views were spectacular. We used both the pools regularly and the beach by the hotel is very picturesque. I was most worried about the food, as i'd never been on an all inclusive holiday and cooking is my hobby, but i was very impressed. There was a lot of choice and the portion sizes were just right (not too much and not too little). I mostly had fresh, local fish and lots of delicious salads.

We only did a few trips whilst we were there. The champagne and lobster cruise was great fun and stopped off at some beautiful beaches. We also did a helicopter tour, which was a highlight, as you saw the whole island and things you wouldn't normally see by tour or car (like turtles nesting and the sugar plantations). On the Sunday there was a minibus to Shirley Heights for the sunset party, which was great fun and a beautiful view. We are very keen on history so booked our own taxi to Nelson's Dockyard and it was worth the trip. I would do the walk to the entrance to the harbour and battlements as it's a pretty walk and a great view. We had a wonderful lunch at Hamilton's wine bar, which I can heartily recommend!

I cannot recommend Cocobay enough and I'm sure we will go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocobay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.