We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at CocoBay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Cocobay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Honeymooner Discount
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Paradise at CocoBay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My fiance and I spent 5 days at Cocobay this March. It was absolute paradise! I did a lot of research before choosing this hotel, and I always kept coming back to this resort in my searching. The views from the resort are breathtaking - the turquoise water, white sandy beaches. What really makes this resort so special is the staff. They will go the extra mile to make sure you are taken care of. As an example, we were 10 mins away in a cab leaving the resort for the airport when the manager called the cab driver (he somehow tracked us down) to let us know that we left our iPAD on the balcony!!! So we were able to turn around and get it!

We loved our stay so much, we are planning to go back and have our wedding there next year.

Some things to consider:
-It's a quiet resort, so don't expect a part every night
-Bring Cash (there is no bank machine at the resort, and you'll be surprised how quickly you'll go through cash for tips/excursions)
-Treat yourself one night to dinner at Sheer Rock
-Treat yourself to the private beach dinner - we did this our last night and it was the perfect way to end an amazing trip

Also, find out when the cruise ships are NOT in town and head to St. John's for a half day. Be sure to go to the Hemmingways Cuban Cafe - it's delish!

Room Tip: If you can, book Redonda 2, it's a plantation house, but I really think it has the best views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    381
    99
    48
    56
See reviews for
64
1,287
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our 1st wedding anniversary trip to cocobay after we were married on their beach on valentines day 2012. There are no words to describe how amazing this place is. Everything from the cleanliness to the food are acceptional. the rooms are in keeping with the Carribean feel and are very romantic, the pools are both amazing, and well placed with views to die for! however, as much as this place is paradise, it would be nothing without the amazing staff that look after you, most of them have been there from the start and we really hope if we can continue to visit this beautiful place, we will be able to see our new Antiguan friends each year.

Room Tip: be careful when booking sea view rooms as not all of them are as per description of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Cocobay Resort is our new home away from home! The service is above and beyond from Management down to Grounds Keeping which is something hard to find! Resort manager O'Neal and assistant manager Tamika has the best staff ever, people like Ross and Jamal (resort security), Melissa and Phyliss (front desk always with a smile), what ever is asked of them it is done without any hestitation and always with a smile! The food and drinks were plentiful accompanied with taste and variety. Bartenders Saskia, Oriel, Cion and Keva made every frequent trip to quench our thirst a memorable and laugh filled one, due to the timely interactions with us and others, various tasty cocktails, and always making sure our glass was never empty. Dining was amazing especially when your staff consists of Devran, Jermaine and Sonia (the breakfast and lunch specialist!), dinner offers such variety each night and the portions are just right. The Cottage we were so fortunate to stay in was recently constructed and it felt as though it was built for us! We had the pleasure of staying 6 days in the Chattel House, which is where we will stay every time we visit Antigua! Our view consisted of water and mountains in front, left and to the right of us! Nothing, absolutely nothing obstructed our view of PARADISE! We are already planning our next trip to Antigua and Barbuda but we won't visit during the winter months as the water was a bit chilly, other than that small downfall which is not controlled by the resort or island, we will be frequent visitors and we wont be coming back alone! Personal note to the Cocobay Team thank you for making us feel like family from the moment we arrived and I can't say until we left because most of you are still in communication with us. Until we meet again, take care and all the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On vacation, the people who create the atmosphere make all the difference. The staff at Cocobay are happy people and they love to work there! Their pleasant presence creates a delightful environment for everyone! The facilities are well kept. The food is fine. Meals are a blast! The views - spectacular.
Our special thanks go to Cheryl, Germaine and Mr. Gore for taking the time to listen and share their own experience and perspectives on island culture, history and Cocobay. and the romantic touches - ahhh - they bring the couple's experience to a whole new level. Kudos to each of you who so thoughtfully made our week in Antigua a true vacation

Room Tip: Room 39 is a small walk from the recepion area. We enjyed the provacy out there. Very few people wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho cucamonga, CA
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
66 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What an amazing trip. We stayed at 3 resorts while on the island (cocobay, carlise bay and sandals) and cocobay was hands down the best!

The service was great most of the time. Occasionally dinner or breakfast service was so so but otherwise it was great.

The views were the best we saw on the island at cocobay. Stunning blue waters envelope the resort. The good was great and we never left hungry. We had lobster almost every night!!

The rooms were so peaceful. We stayed in a premium ocean view and the tub on the patio was a great touch. The rooms were caribbean themed and even though sandals and carlise were much larger, the Caribbean theme and view of this room made it our favorite.

We had a large group with us, all staying in different types of room and every room was great. There are not TVs in the rooms but we liked this as it made the trip peaceful.

If you want constant entertainment and food, then sandals is a better choice but felt so much more commercialized.

One thing We could complain about is that the water sports person did not seem too keen on helping us out or letting us take the wind surfers/kayaks out. Also one of the guests we had with us said they had a hard time getting bottled water but our room had them re-stocked daily.

Next time we are back in Antigua, we WILL be staying at cocobay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just another boring review to say how wonderful Cocobay is. The bungalows are charming and the bed is ginormous (if a little firm for our taste). Perfect, relaxing, beautiful setting with extraordinary views across the bay. The staff are so lovely - friendly and helpful. Catering is superb and the cocktails are too tempting!!!
Definitely coming back. Thanks to all for a lovely time for our very first winter break in the Carribbean.
Dave&Sue

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm a scientist, so I have to stay objective and critical in my review.

So, I'll start with the cons ..... Electric outlet a little high in the bathroom (Difficult to access), the door in the bathroom left alone drifts towards the person sitting on the toilet, and a desk would've been nice (Granted, I understand that management's goal is to have us "unplug").

Now for the pros ..... Cocobay resort sits on a beach that is to die for. As my lady likes to describe it .... it's a postcard picture. The Bay is a dream and looking at it from the zero edge pool is even better. I'll warn you now; don't miss a sunset.

Customer service is second to none ..... And believe me I know what expectations are for high-end resorts. You ask and you shall receive ..... PERIOD. O'Neil, the manager, has put together a team that is in a league of their own. Maybe he's just lucky to deal with people of a culture that is so kind, polite, social, generous, and easy going. No matter ..... he assembled the team and he deserves the credit.

The food is sensational. I come from SF which is one of the top culinary cities in the world, so I have a solid reference when I say the following ..... Every single meal here was incredible, buffet or otherwise. The menu changes every day. There's a variety of dishes available. Fresh undoctored vegetables and fruits, fish, and local blends make for an exquisite taste explosion with each meal. My compliments to the chef!

As for the value ..... pound for pound, it was worth every penny. I would recommend that you shop around a bit and start working on it well in advance. You'll find some great deals. Some with marked price reductions, others with unbelievable comps.

And for the romantic, I leave you in suspense .... Suffice it to say that one extraordinary night we returned to a room that was beautifully and artfully decorated with flowers and candlelight ..... a surprise for both of us!

The best part is we're still here for another three days!

Bon Voyage!!



MB

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.