We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Honeymoon - Premium Waterfront Suite (PS4)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Cocobay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
NB
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“AMAZING Honeymoon - Premium Waterfront Suite (PS4)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived at Cocobay resort on November 11, 2012. The taxi fare from the airport to the resort was covered by Cocobay and from the resort back to the airport when we left was around $30. When we arrived at Cocobay, we were greeted by Tamika, we were then taken to our Cottage (PS4). This cottage was one of the newly built cottages and no one had ever stayed in that particular one yet. The cottage was new, very clean, had the perfect view! We would definatily stay in that cottage again, I highly recommend PS4. We never encountered any problem with our cottage, the fridge was full of drinks, we informed them we didn't drink any alcohol so within 15 mins of being in our cottage, someone came to switch all the drinks for soft drinks. During our stay there, all staff were very friendly and helpful if you had any questions. Tamika and O'Neil would often ask us if everything was okay, or if we needed anything, great customer service! On one of the days, we took a shuttle down to St. Johns' (capital) where there's a grea amount of shopping, banks (CIBC, Scotiabank, RBC...etc), restaurants, etc. I believe the shuttle goes on a daily basis. It leaves at 9am, drops you off downtown then picks you back up at 12 noon to bring you back. The cost was only $10/person so I highly recommend doing this instead of taking your own taxi down. We decided to do a few activities while we were there, please plan on bringing extra $$ if you plan on doing this. Cocobay offers snorkeling gear, but the snorkeling there isn't very good. We did the helicopter tour which was awesome! We also did Stingray city which I recommend; they give you snorkeling gear, take you out on a boat with other people about 8 minutes away to where Stingray city is, the water is not very deep (if you're an adult) and they also provide life jackets if you need one. The snorkeling there was great, it was our first time snorkeling and we really enjoyed it there, I would def. do this activity again. We also did a 3 hour 2 person private boat tour which is located at Jolly Harbor, we had our own kind of seado (2 seater) but more like a little boat. The tour guide was on another little boat and we followed her around, she took us to Cades Reef which I believe is the best place to go snorkeling in Antigua, I would recommend this tour. We read many reviews before going on our honeymoon to Cocobay and many people say the bugs are bad, but we never had an issue. Because of the reviews, we had brought 2 bottles of bug spray but never had to use them once. It rained a few times while we were there, but not enough to bother us, it would rain for like 5-10 mins max. then the rest of the day was clear. Our cottage was very private, there's a door that opens in the shower that you can overlook the ocean and no one can see you. You can take a baths in the slipper bathtub on the balcony at night and no one can see you. We went to the beach once or twice and the sand isn't very soft, it's more like little rocks so I recommend bringing shoes you can wear in the water. The food was good! Every breakfast and lunch was buffet style with different options everyday. We didn't realize that lunch had dessert until our 4th or 5th day there, it's not in the buffet but you can ask the server who's giving you drinks. For dinner, you have to sign up at the front desk every morning for the time you want, make sure to book it early enough because the early time always gets filled up quickly. Dinner is sit down and you have the server taking your order (appetizer, dinner and desert). I posted a lot of photos but I wanted to give you a true idea of what Cocobay is like. We really hope to go back someday. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions about Cocobay.

Room Tip: I highly recommend Premium Waterfront Suite - PS4. This is one of the new cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    375
    96
    48
    55
See reviews for
64
1,268
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited the resort from 14 – 28 December but did not expect to have things stolen.

But, don’t panic, it’s not what you think.

We were robbed but the culprits were of the two-legged feathered variety (bananaquits and finches) and they cheekily flew into our room and stole packets of sugar. They knew exactly where to look so be warned, they will strike again!

The wildlife is great to see at such close range. We were visited everyday by lizards of varying sizes and colours, bananaquits, finches and amazing hummingbirds whilst sitting on our balcony. We also saw many brown pelicans flying overhead. We saw only 1 spider during our stay - a small one near the pool rather than in our accommodation.

Our holiday to Cocobay was one of the most relaxing and stress-free we have ever experienced. From the Virgin flights (new planes helped!), transfers to and from the airport and actual holiday, it was great.

The hotel is set in a wonderful location and the view we had every morning at breakfast from the restaurant was one you would find it hard to beat. Meals were varied and of a good quality. Breakfast choices were all you could expect and lunches can be taken either in the restaurant (buffet) or alternatively a lighter option is a sandwich by the new pool. We did not expect to enjoy the evening meals as much as we did as we were used to buffet service on previous holidays but they were great and the choices good.

We visited Dennis’s restaurant just up the beach and had 3 meals there including an amazing 3-course Antiguan Christmas meal.

We took the hotel shuttle bus into St Johns which was well worth a half day out. We also did 2 tours with Adventure Antigua – the Xtreme island circumnavigation and the Eco-tour – both are highly recommended.

Mosquitos and sand flies are a big problem but we managed to enjoy our holiday in spite of them. We had gone prepared with insect repellent etc but still got bitten to pieces.

We did experience 2 minor issues in our accommodation – a blocked toilet and an ant infestation but both were dealt with quickly and without fuss.

The rooms are rustic so if you are looking for 5-star luxury, this is probably not the place for you. But in our opinion, the accommodation fits in well with the overall feel of the resort.

The evening entertainment was good. We managed to see a group by the name of X3 three times during our stay. They were fantastic. Our only criticism was they were not on for long enough!!!

A lot has been said already about the hotel and the staff but I can honestly say the staff made our holiday even more enjoyable than we thought possible. From the staff on reception, housekeeping, grounds, bar, restaurant, chefs, cooks and kitchen – you all contributed to our overall impression of the place. O’Neal should be very proud of the team he has working for him.

I would like to mention some members of staff by name – Oriel, Tony, Craig, Kieva (sorry if we've spelt wrong) and Cyeon at the bar, Jermaine, Saydie, Roncella, Sasha, Sonia (how I miss those poached eggs!), Vincia, Melissa, Robert, Saskia and lastly but by no means least Mr Gore. For those I did not mention by name, I apologise but you all deserve credit for turning a good holiday into an amazing one.

Thank you for making our first visit to your wonderful country such a brilliant one. We are already planning our 2nd visit to Antigua.

Kate and Malcolm

Room Tip: You do not need a plunge pool - we only used our once!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we recently traveled to Cocobay for our honeymoon, and we would totally go back.

pros:
excellent customer service (Melissa/Joy Ann)
outgoing/friendly staff (Vincia, Sasha, Mr. Gore, Jermaine, Robert, Kenya, Oreil, Tony, Saskia... just to name a few :) )
clean (room is cleaned daily- and the whole property is tidy)
convenient (everything you want or need is at your fingertips)
beautiful (views from everywhere are gorgeous)
accommodating (O'Neil will fix any issues)
cottages were cute
comfortable bed
plenty to drink!
amazing food (very authentic)
relaxing
activites (kayaking/yoga/massages)

cons:
the liquor selection was pretty much "well", no top shelf (husbands complaint)
the bugs/animals/birds/reptiles/whatever are extremely loud at night- understandably out of anybody's control though
plunge pool was rather frigid
cottage balcony and pool were not as private as we expected, but it was totally fine

the main thing is it was totally relaxing... we had not one issue there (that was not fixed) and enjoyed every minute of the views, food, drinks, and staff...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I really was pleasantly surprised with Cocobay! Granted all the revies are amazing, but you never know! Melissa and Tamika's reception was wonderful after the long travels... there was some confussion with our reservation (they had us down for arriving the day before). At first they said there was nothing they could do and we were bummed, but later, Tamika found us later (at the bar) to offer us a refund on the extra night... what a great way to start the trip! We loved our little cabin (#10). It was clean and well furnished, and I loved how it really seemed to flow into the outdoors. My favorite was the outside door to the shower... you could look out onto the turquoise waters while showering :) Beware of the friendly stray kitty (we named him/her Tiger)and local birds who will steal every sugar packet from your room. I joked that I felt like a Disney Princess with all the wildlife ready to entertain you!
Staff was priceless! O'Neal the manager made everything so special by saying Hello everytime we crossed paths. He presented us with Champagne the first night, a whole bottle of Rum the second night, candles and rose petals half way through and more rum our last night! Sasha was hilarious to get to know and Phyllis was super helpful at the front desk.
Only downers were: there are kids allowed during the holidays. Granted they were very cute and well behaved kids... but if the place was being overrun with terrors than we would have felt very mislead. Just odd to reserve an Adult Only resort and have kids. I didn't love having set meal hours... I've stayed at other all inclusives that you can get food or snacks anytime you'd like. Dinner portions were small but all food was Delicious!! And water bottles and sodas were not restocked in our cottage fridge... you have to pay extra which was annoying. You have to pay for internet and TV too if you need to use it.
Overall I would 100% go back and recommend to others. I couldn't imagine having a better trip!

Room Tip: We were in cabin #10, which is right on a cliff above the water. Sounds great in theory but on a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We've just returned from our 4th holiday to Cocobay.

When we arrived on the 5th December after a delayed flight and so it was great to be met by Melissa and Tameka in reception with cold towels and rum punch, what a great welcome from them both. We arrived just after sundown and heard the great sound of the treefrogs.

We had emailed before we left to ask for a quiet room and were given room 22, which suited us just fine as a little walk to the room and also only a couple of rooms past us. We expected to wake up to the stunning view across Valley Church Beach from the bed but the only problem was the shrubs in front of our room balcony were too high to enjoy the view, so we asked the lovely Phyllis on reception if the gardeners could trip it for us and when we returned from the beach later in the afternoon if was perfect, thank you Phyllis and the gardeners!

The food was just as we remembered, buffet breakfast and lunch, afternoon tea and the beautiful 4 courses evening meals, we never had the same evening meal in 14 days. You can also get panini's from the beach bar at lunch time, they were different everyday on the beach bar menu. Chris and Kenroy run a fabulous team.

The new sunset pool and beach bar are amazing and we used the new pool area the first couple of days as there was a nice breeze, but it can get very hot if you don't get the cooling breeze like you do on the beach or at the main pool. Great service from Vincia, Roberts and Kenya during the day with drinks brought to you on the beach and fresh clean beach towels each day. Robert/Kenya do a great job keeping the beach clean and Vincia making fab cocktails.

The new improved larger main bar area is great and the new seating area is lovely and comfortable. The new cocktail list is lovely and we had fun working our way through trying all of them (not on same night!) If your favourite is not on the list ask Oriel or any of the other bar staff who will oblige! Oriel makes a fab Tom Collins (thanks for the tip Michael)

Only 1 small issue was - This resort is aimed at Honeymooners and couples and I know they allow children over the christmas and easter holidays but on our last night was a little disturbed by a family arriving at 11.30pm with 2 small children who woke us up from room 23 as they unpacked banging the cupboard doors and the children ran around the room, clip clopping with their shoes on the floorboards and giggling. There is nothing here for children to do and I expect it could spoil it for some of the adults if they don't know this beforehand.

The service was excellent and it was lovely that so many of the staff remembered us as its nearly 3 years since our last visit. Thank you to everyone who made our trip special, the list to thank is to long to mention eveyone. This resort is small, peaceful, very relaxing and just what we needed.

We will return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Cocobay! We wanted to go to an all-inclusive resort, but didn't want the hyped up over-priced Sandals-type places.

We got upgraded to a really nice room with a great view of the bay. They had rum drinks and cold towels waiting for us upon arrival, which was welcome after a long flight. The room was comfortable, we didn't use the air conditioning (it cost extra!) but the room was cool at night. It was pretty hot during the day, but we were at the pool/beach most of the day anyway. We did have to ask at the front desk to have our windows opened in order to get a breeze. With the windows shut the room was pretty stifling.

My only complaint about the room was that the bathroom was pretty awful. There was no shower curtain around the stall shower, so water got all over the bathroom floor. We had to use towels to sop it up after we showered. There also wasn't a lot of ventilation in the bathroom, so it was always pretty steamy.

The people who work at the resort are very nice and helpful, the food was good, the drinks were tasty. It is a very low-key resort. We spent our time lounging on the beach or by the pool. There are some side-trips offered, but we didn't participate in any. There is no wi-fi available, and we didn't have a television in our room, but we didn't mind at all. I think you could pay to use a computer in the lobby, although it didn't seem like many people were doing that.

Overall, Cocobay was a relaxing resort, with absolutely beautiful views, and a great staff. I would definitely go back without any hesitation. It is nothing like a Sandals or another giant resort, but that is what I liked best about it! And the sunsets more than made up for any annoyances!

Room Tip: Don't bother shelling out extra for the air conditioning. You won't be in the room during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This vacation was only four days long but paradise! Cocobay is settled on a beautiful beach. The resort has nice facilities, the food is outstanding especially at dinner and the service great.
Only backdraw was that our oceanfront cottage with the private plunge pool didn't have enough sun to go into the pool much but the view was phenomenal and the privacy perfect.

Highly reccomended resort cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.