We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cocobay Resort to your Saves list
Cocobay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Cocobay Resort for 5 nights in early November for a special birthday celebration. This resort is fabulous! We wanted a quiet, laid back holiday, and that is what we got. Our cabin (#36) was lovely with a magnificant view of the ocean. Our bed was quite comfortable and the mosquito netting is very much needed and works just fine. We never felt hot at night, the ceiling fan did the job. We also enjoyed not having a phone or TV in the room; you really felt like you were away from it all. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and as one other reviewer stated - well laid out, very clean, and tidy. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. David at the bar is a gem. Blondelle that cooks the eggs for breakfast, and fish for lunch is a sweetheart. Phyllis at the front desk is lovely. In fact, all of the staff are great. We enjoyed being able to walk to a couple of different beaches close by (the one around the corner from Dennis' Bar is basically deserted). In the other direction, walk the beach to The Nest.

If you are looking for a busy, noisy, action-packed property, then this might not be the place for you. If you are looking for an intimate, quite, chilled out vacation, then do go and experience Cocobay for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

The island of Antigua is beautiful, and the people are very friendly. We hired a taxi driver for a half day and saw a good portion of the island, including English Harbour, Shirley Heights, Nelson's Dockyard.

We will be back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    372
    96
    48
    55
See reviews for
64
1,245
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

We have recently returned from Cocobay in Antigua. The hotel was wonderful. The food was first class.

We booked to have a chill out holiday and thats what we got. The staff are second to none with their friendliness and professionalism. We were made to feel really welcome.

The rooms, or huts which ever you would like to call them, were basic, but very clean with a excellent bed and mosquito net (you will need it!). The only down side was the mosquito's and sand flies, you have to take a lot of precautions with you, but the best repellent is the one they sell in shop called OFF.

The Sheer Restaurant which is part of the hotel is out of this world, and well worth a visit.
In fact the whole of our Antigua stay was unforgettable, from the beach and sea to our evening at Shirley Heights for the reggae evening.

  • Liked — the privicy and tranquility
  • Disliked — the mosquito
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in early November. The staff is lovely and very friendly. The general manager is a gem. The units are rustic and were pretty much what I expected based on reviews and comments. We stayed in one of the units (#12 if I remember correctly) with an infinity edge plunge pool. Our view was spectacular but the pool was already missing pieces of tile and they have just been done!! Our showerhead was rusty and about to fall off but the water pressure was very good. The bed was extremely hard and caused me great distress as my body did not respond positively -- in fact I was in pain.

Food: Dinners were gourmet. We thoroughly enjoyed them and especially the chocolate creme brulee - it was to die for. Breakfast was just fine and lunch was the weakest connection of the 3 meals. Drinks at the bar were great.

Beaches: These were lovely. You could walk to 3 different beaches which was quite nice. The pool area was small but very nice and we enjoyed this as well.

Bugs: Oh My God! They were horrific. We had read the reviews before going so made sure to bring spray with deet as well as mosquito coils. Did not help much as we were bitten quite a lot and then very itchy to boot.

Overall Cocobay has many redeeming qualities and is romantic. Unfortunately for us we will not return as being in pain from the bed and being eaten alive by the bugs is not something we care to repeat.

  • Liked — Views, Serenity, Staff
  • Disliked — Bed hardness and bugs
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

My partner and I spent a week at Cocobay at the end of October/early November. We chose the venue because we wanted a completely relaxing weeks break having already had our main holiday this year. Typically our 2 week holidays combine beach and adventure as we can get restless lying on the beach for 2 weeks solid. For a week long break though, we found Cocobay to be perfect. We spent the majority of the time relaxing on the beach, eating the fabulous food and snoozing round the pool. If you fancy the odd little activity you can stroll down to Jolly Harbour beach or go in the other direction, past Dennis’ bar to another more often than not, deserted beach. The latter makes for a nice walk after breakfast. Talking of breakfast we found ourselves waking up quite early which works well as the sun seemed to disappear around 4 when the clouds rolled in from the hills so it’s worth getting up and making the most of the day.

The resort itself is really well laid out. A lot of thought obviously went into maximising the excellent location and wonderful views it affords. Usually when we go somewhere like this we spend our whole time on the beach, but the layout and views around the infinity pool (and proximity to the bar!) meant that we ended up spending the morning on the beach and then getting a spot round the pool in the afternoon which worked really well for us.

Aside from the location and tranquillity, the other big selling point is the food which for an all inclusive was excellent. Buffet breakfast with a hot selection, fruit, cereals, pastries etc. Lunch there was typically a fish option from the grill, a hot meat option and a choice of excellent salads. Blondelle who does the eggs in the morning and fish at lunch is lovely! Dinner is 4 course a la carte every night with the standard and choice of food excellent all the way. There are upgrade options you can pay extra for but we couldn’t see the point ourselves as the standard selection was top drawer. The wine was…. OK. We’re not wine buffs but we know enough and it often wasn’t great in comparison to the food. The red usually offered a better option to the white. Oh and at lunch its worth collaring one of the waiters as soon as you get seated for a glassful as if you wait for them to come to you, you might be close to finished before they offer you wine. I should emphasise though that generally speaking the restaurant staff were very attentive, pleasant and helpful. The other nice thing is that there are 3 different seating areas with different views which gives a nice bit of variety. We were a little concerned that we might get a bit bored of eating in the same place for every meal but when it came to it we couldn’t wait to get in there and get stuck in! If you do fancy a change of scenery, there is another restaurant on site – Sheer. We didn’t eat there but heard excellent reports (although it is a bit pricey). You can also eat at Dennis’ where again we heard good reports.

A word on drinks. We are into good drinks as much as our food. There are no premium or brand spirits included in the all inclusive although you can pay for them. I was hoping I might try a few good rums but I guess wasn’t overly surprised to find there was no option for this. The local beer is pretty rubbish also. That said there was a decent cocktail list and David on the bar is cracking guy who will make up whatever you like. Top of the pops were the pina coladas. We had plenty of these and thoroughly enjoyed supping on a couple post lunch around the pool.

On the subject of the all inclusive, take advantage of the beach activities. The snorkelling off the beaching isn’t amazing, largely due to poor visibility, but I did see a big stingray and if you get out to the reef (visible from the beach / resort) it’s a bit clearer and there’s more to see. Watch the currents there though. We would thoroughly recommend taking out the hobby cat. I know nothing about sailing but we took it out a few times to sail down to Jolly Harbour and had a great time.

As regards other facilities, our room / hut was spot on for us. We were perfectly fine with the fan and no air con and slept well on the comfy bed under the mosquito net. The bathroom was basic and looked its age but was spacious and functional and kept clean. Do not expect luxury accommodation here. Our room was cute and cosy though and it felt very Caribbean being in our little wooden hut. Oh and there was a hammock on the balcony which had stunning views.

We did one day trip which took in the main sights on the island (St John’s, English Harbour, Shirley Heights) as well as a trip to Sting Ray city where you can swim with stingrays in a netted off area – safe, great fun and highly recommended (see our photo of it!). When we asked about Stingray City at the hotel they suggested an island 4x4 safari day trip which wasn’t really what we fancied. We ended up finding an excellent taxi driver called Dave who took us out for the whole day, stopping wherever we fancied. We paid him $90 for the whole day and did a combo of what we wanted plus his suggestions. Avoid the over-priced tour desk at reception and call him directly on [--] to book him for a day. We arranged our trip with him a couple of days ahead. He checked for a day when there were no cruise ships coming in so St John’s and Stingray City would be quieter. He rang ahead and booked Stingray City for us and we ended up being the only ones there which was great!

One stop we made was at a village called Bolans where we had read about a guy called Bushy who is the Postmaster, runs the general store and also makes his own rum. We stopped off at his store and bought 2 bottles ($4 US each). He was a real character – worth a visit! All in all the day out worked out really well, was fairly cheap and David doubled up as a good tour guide. There’s not loads to see round the island but it was great to get out and about for a day to get a feel for the island.

Other advice – do take insect repellent with DEET. Apply throughout the day. The weird things about the mosquitos here is that they are tiny so you tend not to see, or hear them. Saying that we’ve had much worse bites from mozzies in Asia and Africa. Also avoid the beach late afternoon as the sand fleas – so small you can barely see them – will make a meal out of you.

SUMMARY:

PROS: Great food, stunning location, friendly staff, other guests nice, no kids, beautiful beach(es)

CONS: Mossies, sand fleas, no brand spirits, wine not amazing, harmless but vaguely annoying and persistent hawkers on the beach

WOULD WE GO BACK? Yes!

  • Liked — Setting / food
  • Disliked — Mosquitos, sand fleas, beach hawkers
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

I don't know what some other reviewer is talking about when they say the sea was hard to get into and was cloudy!
The only steps you need to use are at the hotel entrance (about three). But you can use the stepps if you want. Unless you're in a wheelchair or on your last legs, this should not be a problem for anyone.
When we were there, you could easily walk into the sea. In fact you can walk about 100 yards out (see picture) and still only be up to your waist if you head towards Jolly beach resort. The beaches (3 of them within 5 minutes) were uncrowded (read deserted) and the sea was as clear as a bell, it was also like a warm bath! We could not have gone snorkelling if it hadn't been so clear.
We didn't have one of the best rooms but it was still not overlooked and had a wonderful sea view. the cabins are described as "rustic" but we found them spacious and charming. It was more like a little holiday home than a hotel room.
The food was trully excellent and plentiful. Breakfast & lunch being buffets but some parts of the meal were cooked fresh as you ordered them. We did not have one dish we could find fault with. Most of the staff treated us like old friends or family and the only one who didn't was one of the waiters who told us off for not getting a table before we collected our lunch.
He was a bit of a moaner so we merely avoided his part of the restaurant thereafter.
Although all the drinks were free, we did not see one person drunk! With no kids about it was the most peaceful and relaxing holiday we have ever had.
One tip, don't go on the Shirley Heights trip, it's a waste of time and theres nothing to see when you get there (except a view of English Harbour). The jetski boys can be a bit of a nuisance but they're not agressive (just persistent, but with a sense of humour).
Some of the people, we met, were booking for their 3rd time and there was a good mix of young and not so young (we are in our 50s).
There was only one thing that spoiled it for us (slightly). A group of noisy Italians (about 10) turned up on the second week and took over part of the beach. They were harmless enough but it did shatter the tranquility somewhat. Fortunately, there are other beaches very close by so we avoided the main one.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham united kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

We have just returned from a great week at Cocobay. It was our first visit to the Caribbean and we both were really impressed with the island and the resort.

The resort does exactly what it says on the tin - it is a rustic, no-fuss, relaxing resort with no evening entertainment and only a couple of huts with air-con. However, I don't think you'd better the views or the friendliness and true Antiguan feel of the resort.

We went on the 'Excellence' boat trip around the island for the day and were so pleased to be returning to Cocobay rather than some of the other higher starred resorts, where the beaches were small with no shade and not nearly such impressive views and location.

The food was good, plentiful and prompt and drinks were on-tap with a smile.

Our hut was very clean with good views and we didn't miss the air-con, however it was in the shade all day.

Quite a number of people there over the week were returning for the 2nd time and on party for the 6th, so that must be testament for it.

If you want razamatazz, air-con, sterile, totally non-Antiguan feel to your holiday don't go to Cocobay!

  • Liked — Simple, no-fuss, clean & great views/beaches
  • Disliked — Coming home
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

On the way to the Airport we had a call to say that the rooms had been double booked. We had 5 rooms booked for our wedding party. We were taken to a sister hotel accross the island for the first night. Our room was awfull and we were moved to a neighbouring site. We were really upset such a bad start.
The first evening at Cocobay the resturant manager refused to sit us all together by the end of the evening I got upset and spoke to him and pointed out that we had come as a group to celebrate and could not understand why they had excepted our booking. We were sat together after that point. Some of the party were only staying for a week and two evenings were ruined.
The wedding its self was lovely.Evelyn who married us was wonderful, it was magic. (only down side wedding organiser was late and indiffrent as was the photographer). I thought it was my job to be late as the bride.
We did have a lovely time over all and at times inspite of many of the staff. I think this was mainly due to us all being together. The food was good the view amaizing. The lady who looked after our room was great and helpful.
Reg the taxei driver took us all over the island at a reasonable price and took us to a resturant that we would never have found ourselves.
I feel a bit sad because I hoped that we would want to return to celebrate our aniversary at some point, the spot that we got married at was beautiful. They could have been nicer and more helpful so I think we will most likely give it a miss. Why the staff are allowed to treat people like they do is beyond me. We are a friendly bunch, my mum and dad are almost 80 and they were not even helpful to them and they had done so well to travel all that way.
Beach was great as were the views.

  • Liked — The view, The privicy and it was cute.
  • Disliked — At times it was unbearably hot.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colorful collection of quaint wooden cottages set on a breezy hillside bordered by three white sand beaches, Cocobay offers quiet relaxation and privacy in a rustic, romantic setting. The 49 cottages and 4 plantation houses each boast large verandahs with easy chairs, hammocks and striking sea views. Rooms include hand made wooden furniture, ceiling fans, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and in-room safe. Seafront rooms include air- conditioning and private plunge pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocobay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.