We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Bay Antigua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tranquility Bay Antigua to your Saves list
Tranquility Bay Antigua
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jolly Harbour, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My first trip to antigua with a large group of 98 G&S crew.
Was wowed by the size of the rooms. The kitchen facilities were excellent. The balcony was very spacious and ours looked out to the harbour.
The supermarket, pharmacy close by. The beach is so close and beautiful . The grounds were pretty well kept.
The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels everyday. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
No need to bring beach towels bonus more space in my case!
Will be returning next year.

Room Tip: No lifts if on top floor, captain 3rd floor looked out to harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    119
    40
    12
    12
See reviews for
95
108
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
maxe1lab
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tranquility Bay is a 3 story all suite resort. The rooms were spacious, the balcony was large looking out into the garden with a large table and chairs. The suite has 1 bathroom with a large tub and shower and the other bathroom has a large double shower. The room was clean. The furniture was old, outdated, and not very comfortable. The AC did not work correctly; in the living room it was too warm and in the bedroom we froze and the temperature could not be changed. The mattress on the beds were very firm, like putting a piece of foam on a concrete slab. The coffee maker was old and rusted, there were few pots and pans.
The resort was within two other resorts and within walking distance of the beach, a large grocery store, and a few restaurants. The people at the resort were friendly and willing to help.
The beach was beautiful. The water was calm and the sand was soft and fluffy. The beach had chairs with covered areas at no charge, except when you were sitting in the chairs you could not see the water or waves because they were far back from the beach. All non-motorized water sports were free, and there usually was not a waiting line. The weather in June was rainy, it rained almost every day for a short while. The sun was hot, but there was a breeze. The water was turquoise blue, but you could not see your feet because of the sand and mud,

Room Tip: The third floor was nice, but the stairs got tiring after a week. Ask for the room closest to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great time at Tranquility Bay until the night before we left to come home. I had left my phone charging on the bed thinking it would be safe because they had said maid service only comes once a week on wednesdays and they had already came and this was a friday. So we left for the day to explore the isiland and returned that night and they maid service had came and cleaned and my Iphone was gone! Everything had been locked up including the doors while we were gone so someone on the hotel staff had to have taken it. The hotel came over and tried to look for it and said that the maid didn't take it but clearly someone did and we didn't get it back. Ruined my trip and all my photos I had taken over the week are gone. Very dissapointed in my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Tranquility Bay apartments are situated in a great location, just 30 seconds from the beach. The apartments are spacious and have everything you need for a self catering holiday. There are restaurants and a large supermarket close by if you want to keep costs down and prepare food yourself. All rooms are air conditioned, the beds are huge and comfy. There are TVs in every room, complimentary wifi and safe. The daily maid service is very thorough, the apartments are very clean, with fresh towels and bed linen provided as needed. Thank you to Roslyn for looking after us. The reception staff are incredibly accommodating, nothing is ever too much trouble, despite taking a large group of 97 people there everything ran smoothly (thank you Dawne and the wonderful reception staff). I cannot recommend the apartments enough.

Room Tip: The corner Jacuzzi suites attract the most sunshine, I preferred the top floor rooms for great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed (2 yr olds twins included) at Tranquility Bay for 7 days and i must say the accommodations were very good. Large rooms with lots of space for kids to run about. Very helpful and polite staff (Mrs Maria always smiling), beach is excellent . Very picturesque ,and relaxing excellent for someone wanting to just lie on beach and sleep. Supermarket nearby with everything that you can need (baby stuff included)

Room Tip: try to get room located next to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tranquility Bay was our first visit to the Caribbean (myself and my retired parents), and our first stop on a 4 island trip. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, and convenient for the local supermarket and a few restaurants. A few places were no longer open, as we travelled at the very end the season - the marina in particular was very quiet every night.

Firstly, I must say that the staff at TB were great. All very friendly, approachable and helpful.

We were fortunate to have a booking in the block closest to the beach, and the porch actually looked out to the beach.

The suite was clean, but the furniture was a little shabby and the chairs not comfortable. The main bedroom however was very clean and the bed very large and comfortable. I had a folding bed which I'm afraid was uncomfortable, so I didn't sleep very well during our 4 night stay.

The beach is astounding. Pure white sand that seems to go on for some distance in both directions and still sea waters. It was quiet most days which was great. There were a few people selling things, but no-one really hassled us which was nice. From a boat tour we did to the nearby reef, it looked like most nearby beaches were equally beautiful.

We didn't much like the food voucher system TB has with the adjoining Jolly Beach Resort. It was too expensive and a bit restrictive, so we didn't use it in the end. Instead, we highly recommend the nearby Crow's Nest restaurant - wonderful local food, nice atmosphere and the owner was lovely. Some locals drank there, which seemed a good sign (and all very friendly). Also recommended is OJ's a short taxi ride away - excellent for seafood. Or better still, take a bus there for only $2 and save for more food and drink when there! Buses run till lateish evening. The neighbouring beach bar Castaway's was also good for a quick morning snack and evening drinks while watching the sunset.

You are able to use the Jolly Beach Resort facilities, so a good pool and a gym for instance. The gardens there next to the beach are really pretty, good for just sitting and relaxing.

The downsides for us were a noisy air conditioning unit, a poor quality TV which was housed in the main bedroom and not in the living room (but lets be honest, why watch TV when on holiday on such a beautiful island?). The safe lock didn't seem that sturdy to us; it wasn't the standard type of safe that is found in most hotels these days with a keypad. The kitchen did have a bit of an odour, as there is a small drainage hole in the middle of the floor, presumably for cleaning. That I think was our main gripe. However, the kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils should you want to cook.

Overall, recommended for a short stay. Staff are great, location superb, but just a little let down in the rooms. A bit of modernising could really transform this place!
Antigua though is a beautiful island with wonderful people. With its 365 beaches, we're likely to be back again for just a few days. Do take an island tour if you can, and drive through the centre and make sure you go to Shirley Heights!

Room Tip: Try to get the block closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had our holiday in Antigua this past March/April and stayed at Tranquility Bay. The staff there is amazing. Mrs. Gomes and her crew are always so helpful. We stayed in a two bed room villa with Jacuzzi in the building "Caribbean Dream". It was picturesque, clean and the beds were quite comfortable.
We enjoyed being in the Jolly Habour area because there was always so much to do.
Staying at Tranquility had its privileges, we were able to utilize all the amenities at Jolly Habour Hotel, we took advantage of the meal passes offered at Jolly Habour and the water sports on the beach.
I would definitely recommend renting a golf cart as it makes getting around the premises so much easier.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms had great views and amazing sunsets. Don't worry about your luggage the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquility Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Antigua

Address: Jolly Harbour, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tranquility Bay Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility Bay, is Antigua’s only all-suite resort. Located on a breathtaking, mile-long stretch of white sand beach on Antigua’s southwest coast, Tranquility Bay boasts spectacular sunsets, majestic views of Montserrat, Redonda and St. Kitts/Nevis. Spacious suites, large balconies and calm blue waters make Tranquility Bay a haven for those craving peaceful moments away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Create a vacation as relaxing or active as you wish. You’re just steps away from water sports, golfing, tennis, spa, fishing, dining, entertainment, kids club and more. And, we’re just 30 minutes away from the airport and capital of St. Johns. Experience Tranquility Bay and you will never vacation in an ordinary hotel room again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tranquility Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Antigua Hotel Bolans
Tranquility Bay Antigua Bolans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Bay Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.