We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy atmosphere, great location and very accurate service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cassia Cottage - The Spice House to your Saves list
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere, great location and very accurate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We chose Cassia Cottage among a list of other hotels in Phu Quoc, and I have to say we have done the best choice. The location is perfect, right by the beach, the bungalows are tidy and clean, the garden is very well kept and the service is very efficient - they even offer a snack by the pool or at the beach every afternoon. The swimmin pool is lovely, there's also a library and internet for free.
Also the restaurant is very good. Maybe food is a bit overpriced for vitenamese standard prices, but it's OK for westerns.
It's only 15 mins walk from town and other trips/tours are organised upon request.
EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    153
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
162
368
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed in Cassia for 3 nights and loved it.

Its located more or less central on the coast amongst all the other resorts. About 15-20mins walk either directions will take u into town or to end of the coast.

The key highlight of Cassia is its Garden setting. This alone would bring us back to this resort. The quietness of Phu quoc and this garden setting made us feel completely relaxed and we forgot we were still in VN! The pool setting is also amazing.

The 2nd highlight would be the customer service. It is very customer service orientated and staff & management make every effort to ensure you feel welcome and 'at home'. All staff speak english.

We did not eat at the Cassia so cannot comment on the food. Except to say appears reasonbly priced when compared to other resorts.

Breakfast was fine for us, though i can understand if people complain about bacon being cold. The breakfast range is pretty much standard, eg eggs, bacon, pancakes, fruit, cereal, yoghurt.

My only real complaint were that our toilets would not flush properly. I think this has more to do with the design of the toilet (being eco friendly) rather than a plumbing problem.
It meant having to flush 3 or 4 times everynow and then.

We strongly believe management should warn customers about the southern section of the mainroad in Phu Quoc when hiring motorbikes or scooters from Cassia.
To give a clearer picture, a section of the mainroad when heading south is more appropriate for motocross riders rather than scooters.
I would say that even the driveway would require an experienced rider.
None of this was raised when we hired a scooter from Cassia which was dissapointing.

Also note - none of the rooms have TV's ! we love watching TV late into the night, and there isnt much to do at Phu Quoc if you are not into late night pubs & bars.

It was our most expensive stay in Vietnam so i could not say the Cassia is great value for money. It is an excellent stay otherwise and i would recommend this place to other people with this in mind.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldenhoven b Jülich, GERMANY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

we choose Phu Quoc island in Vietnam. That one is new place and with great natural view and very fresh air we love this.

I've just spent 7 days staying at Cassia Cottages. That was great time with us and we really loved the service and the view here so fresh and very natural it is. We may come back next time and bring big family with us

Very very good view we stayed in the cottage front sea with 135 usd it was so good room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We chose this hotel because it was a number one on the Trip Advisor. It was a bit disappointing. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in Vietnam, but far from being the best one. The first thing we noticed when we entered the room - blood spot on the sheet,.... The cushion of the bench of our terrace was so dirty, I even couldn't touch it, no way to sit on it. The first impression was that everything was used. The most beautiful thing about Cassia Cottage is its garden. It's very relaxing to sit at the swimming pool and to look around and relax. The beach is sandy and indeed very nice, though if you walk further from the hotel, you can be surprised by the rubbish (the Vietnamese throw everything to the sea). The cuisine of the Cassia Cottage restaurant is good, but the portions are sometimes small. We were surprised to be served the lunch we ordered to our bungalow in the plastic dishes. The staff was nice, but it's quite common in Vietnam. We missed the touch of perfection we would expect in such a hotel. Overall, we are not sure if we can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your feedback.

I would like to clarify that the stain you have mentioned in your review was actually not blood. It was from the fresh flowers that we set on the beds to welcome our guests.

Please be reassured that we dispose of any linens that are stained with blood. We believe that it is important to have a clean and sanitary environment for our guest.

I hope we can welcome you on another visit in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Cassia Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

During our stay the management needed to do some repairs on the cottage next to ours, so they upgraded us up to a nice villa style cottage. The food was excellent - simple well made and they serve all day. Just down the beach is a gorgeous/expensive hotel/restaurant. I would splurge and go there for dinner one night.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

I've just spent 10 days staying at Cassia Cottages. This is my 3rd trip to Phu Quoc but my first stay at Cassia Cottages. It was perfect for what I wanted and exceeded my expectations. I've learned not to expect western standards in most Vietnamese hotels particularly when you're not paying 5 star rates!

Cassia Cottages is in a great postion - right on the beach (a little elevated at pool & cottage level which is like) and a short ride (or 25 min walk) from the night food market. Taxis are readily available and the trip to town will cost you 25,000 dong (including tip).

The facilities are in good condition and clean. There's a back-up generator to get you through the many power outages on Phu Quoc. The cottage I was in was perfect for what I needed - quiet, clean, well presented, aircon worked and wasn't too noisy and didn't blow right onto the bed. A nice touch was the tea-set and tea which guests are able to take with them when they leave. Wi-fi is offered free of charge.

There's a good little library if you run out of books to read.

The breakfast buffet was above the standard I've come to expect in similar accommodation in Vietnam. The usual juices, fruit, eggs, Vietnamese favourites but also a range of good western cereals and spreads. Great local coffee as usual in VIetnam.

The restaurant (right on the beach in the dry season) is a great place to have a drink as the sun goes down and dine into the evening. The food is pretty good.

The staff at Cassia Cottages is fantastic - really friendly (even more than I've come to expect from friendly Vietnam). Lena, the Spanish manager, is an exceptional host. She makes every single guest feel welcome and is always around to chat, check-in, help and generally ensure your well-being.

You can't go wrong with Cassia Cottages.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Folks

Thank you for your kind words about our little hotel.

I made my home to be as I wished, and am delighted to find there are others who are happy to have it this way, too.

Your terrific review on Trip Advisor helps us keep our service and ambience good, and the compliments make it all worthwhile
Thanks again and --- happy Travels!

Mark Barnett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

This place is one of the nicer resorts on Phu Quoc island, which itself is quite dormant in its expansion plans. We stayed four nights, which is probably the max stay I would recommend on the island, in a sea view room.
The layout of gardens and beach are very well kept and the place is heavily staffed with gardeners and waiters to assist. We booked scooters through the hotel which was a great way to explore the island.
One good thing about this hotel is the service. As the place is smaller, staff remember who you are and ask how your day was.
One day i was feeling ill and returned from a snorkling trip even worse so didnt feel like doing much but lying down. I said hi to Linh from the restaurant as we walked by and then five minutes later as I was laying outside my room on a lounger he brought over some toast with sugar on top, which was the best remedy ever for an upset stomach! Kudos to the staff as well for hosting a great Halloween party on the beach, including bonfire :).
Two big bonuses of the place as well is the swimming pool as not many places have a pool and sometimes you want to cool off away from the sand, and the restaurant which is one of the better ones along the beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Folks

Thank you for your kind words about our little hotel.

I made my home to be as I wished, and am delighted to find there are others who are happy to have it this way, too.

Your terrific review on Trip Advisor helps us keep our service and ambience good, and the compliments make it all worthwhile
Thanks again and --- happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassia Cottage - The Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage - The Spice House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Cassia Cottage - The Spice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Hotel
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.