We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cassia Cottage - The Spice House to your Saves list
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
December super saver deal
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Duong Dong
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relax in Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We chose Cassia Cottages and Phu Quoc from a search via Google Earth and then a little analysis of customers' reviews on Trip Advisor; it proved an excellent approach and one we'll certainly adopt again.
With the intention of enjoying major down time for our May break, Cassia Cottages provided exactly what was needed. We had booked Beach House Two, which proved a little large for the two of us, but did allow us to spread out and gave us plenty of private terrace space for our extended chill.
The accommodation was first rate, the meals we ate here were of a very high standard, the grounds were attractive, well maintained, with plenty of space for guests to spread out on hammocks, loungers or chairs around the pool. The pool itself, whilst not overly large, was exceptionally clean and well maintained.
In terms of location, Cassia Cottages are located in the centre of a long beach, which provides reasonable access to other places to eat, yet the property has a secluded and private feel. The staff are exceptionally helpful in recommending alternative eateries, yet we ate at least two meals a day at the Cottages, simply because the food was of such high quality and good value for money.
The staff deserve more than a one line mention. Without exception they were friendly, cheerful, discrete when required, efficient and obviously took great pride in their jobs and their hotel. Our heartfelt thanks to them.
There was only one aspect of our stay of which we were critical and this was not something the Cassia Cottage management could actually do anything about by themselves. We had three days of choppy seas, which were wonderful for sea swimming, except for the fact that the beach became badly littered. We asked the hotel management to take the issue to the resort hotel association and relevant government bodies because it is an aspect that could put people off if it persists.
Notwithstanding this last issue, my wife and I would return again and again to Cassia Cottages, if it were possible, and are seriously contemplating a return next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    133
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
148
336
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Stayed at Cassia Cottage for 8 nights - actually still here while writing this - and having a great time. staff are friendly, rooms are clean and well looked after. food is good, internet service is good. location is great - rooms are off the beach, but close enough that you can hear the crashing waves, but still have privacy from people walking along the beach. pool is clean and well maintained - great place to relax, staff are always coming out to see if you want something to eat or drink. on site massage available. and a great selection of books in most languanges also available to pass the time.
all in all, a pleasure to stay here, would definately recommend

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stayed on Phu Quoc Island in late April. Cassia Cottages provided a very welcome relaxing four nights after three weeks of touring Vietnam and Cambodia. The cottages are clean and comfortable and provided everything we needed. We chose a private garden cottage but didn't spend much time there because we were lounging around the pool and enjoying the company of other guests. The atmosphere is very open and friendly and the staff are great. We ate most of our meals 'at home' because the food is very good and the tables under the palm trees provide a delightful setting. We struck some unseasonal weather which meant the beach was almost nonexistant due to a few days of wind and rough seas. Apparently the tables are also placed on the sand along with sunlounges when the beach is there. It was still very hot and the pool with a view was sheltered enough. In fact after the extremely hot and humid weather on the mainland the sea breeze was quite welcome. We did miss out (just) on the good season for touring the rest of the island and snorkelling, but we found plenty to do, or not do, at the cottages, including swimming in the ocean. Australians are used to a bit of surf.
I would recommend Cassia Cottages for an unpretentious relaxing and relatively private stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

I was at Cassia Cottage for a couples of nights, and everything was perfect. The staff is excellent (always smilling). The Manager (we meet her during check in) and assistand Manager were excellent. The papaya salad is great, if you have time try it.

The garden is great and very well maintained. I love it because it has a lots of animals that I have never seen before, like the geckos (not the normal ones but the big ones)

IT'S A GREAT PLACE TO GO!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelberg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Cassia is situated along Long Beach on the stretch where all the other resorts are. The place was clean and well-kept and consists of several bungalows. We stayed in one of the garden bungalows, which was a fair deal at 64 € / night.

Breakfast: It was a standard hotel breakfast with bread, fruit and eggs & bacon your way. No possibility to eat Phó though, the magnificent world-famous noodle soup. We got a definite "no" when we asked.

Rooms: Clean, spacious, AC. They was a strong smell of room scent though...to hide something else?

Restaurant: Not very inspiring, but they cook up a decent Viet/Western/Cross-over menu. The other places along the beach are much better - the cheaper, the tastier was the rule - or the best option: Go to Duong Dong and eat at the night market or the market on the other side of the moto bridge. Point at a fish, and eat it freshly grilled 5 minutes later. Magnificent.

Staff: Mixed, sometimes attentive, sometimes oblivious to guests. The assistent manger (can't remember her name?) is great though. They were very helpful when we rented a moto.

In general, we were actually a bit disappointed after reading the raving reviews here. Jim and his family, the former manager, is no longer there - maybe that's why? They also have have big sign to encouraging people to write reviews here to "ensure their vietnamese staff a bright future". Might be that. All in all, a good fair choice among others along the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed at Cassia Cottage for two nights as part of a trip through Vietnam earlier this month and we wish we could have stayed longer. What a lovely place. We had two garden rooms that were nicely decorated, spacious and spotless. The staff was great, the manger Lena very helpful and accomodating. There's a great laid-back atmosphere that puts you into vacation mode from the first moment you are at the property. We've alreadty talked about how to plan a longer on another trip to that part of the world. Go!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We recently stayed for 8 nights with our three daughters all aged 12 and under in Beach house 1. The Beach House was excellently located next to the pool with a view of the beach through the trees. The rooms are furnished to a much higher standard than shown on the web site in March.
All the staff were genuinely warm and friendly to all of us throughout our stay and were always aiming to please.
The food was great.
Take advantage of the $5 massages in the hut by the beach.
We went on a snorkelling boat trip to the An Thoi islands which have picture perfect beaches. Think Whitsundays in miniature. The trip was a long day but well worth it.
For eating out try the prawn curry at the Rainbow Bar next door or almost anyhting at Mai House restaurant just down the beach. La Veranda offers a great setting for an expensive change in food styles.
A trip to the market at Duong Dong is a must.
This is Vietnam at its best. Lets hope it can reatin its unique charachter for as long as possible.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassia Cottage - The Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage - The Spice House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cassia Cottage - The Spice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Hotel
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.