We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cassia Cottage - The Spice House to your Saves list
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at Cassia Cottage for 3 nights in March. The staff were extremely welcoming and made sure we were comfortable. Thoughtful gestures such as the welcome sign on the bed on arrival, the fragrance of cassia in the room, the fitting of mosquito nets on the beds in the evening and the lovely gift on departure, were all very much appreciated. We were even given a free upgrade from our 1 bdrm garden cottage to a lovely 2 bdrm beachfront cottage after the first night because we were travelling with our adult daughter. The service and meals at the Spice House restaurant were also excellent and good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    153
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
162
368
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I just spent 5 glorious days at Cassia Cottage. This was my second visit within a year, and I was welcomed back beautifully. It is so pleasant to encounter thoughtful staff, processional service, a delightful environment, and a comfortable cottage in a gorgeous garden. So, I'm going back again this weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks during Christmas and New Years Eve. After reading all the very positive reviews we had really high expectations that were all met - this place is something else! During the weeks we spent here it was fully booked (peak season over Christmas and New Year) but it was never crowded, far from it – and this is what you pay for. You can find quite a few places on this island that are cheaper and that will have the same room standard but they will be crowded. The tranquility is worth every extra dollar.

This hotel is located on the beach with its own privately owned beach, and this is where the Christmas and the New Years dinner takes place. Before the Christmas dinner they had Santa coming bringing gifts to the kids. They had personalized gifts for every child and had taken into consideration the age of the child to find the right kind of gift – impressive! Thru out the stay they were looking in to all sorts of small details which, end of the day, made a huge difference!

The service level was exquisite thru the manager Thomas and his staff – they really worked hard for us but always had a few minutes to chat. We also had the possibility to get to know the owner since he spent Christmas in the hotel with his family, and it was really interesting talking to him hearing of the history of the place and his plans for the future.

The breakfast was very good with a chef delivering pancakes, scrambled eggs at your wish. We had more or less all of our meals in the restaurant since we went to another recommended place to eat once but it wasn’t close to the standard of the meals in this hotel.

Our experience was truly 5-star but you should not expect to have the same standard as in a 5-star hotel in a big city – don’t forget that this is a small island in the country side. The standard is quite simple yet well thought thru and genuine.

We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay and if we return to this island this is definitely where we will stay! I can highly and warmly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This is truly a paradise on earth. Fantastic rooms, the friendliest and most caring hotel staff I've met, fantastic restaurant on the beach and very nice garden to chill out in. We stayed at Cassia for a week and no other resort we've been to even comes close to this experience. If you're going to Phu Quoc, don't miss this gem!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed (4) nights at Cassia Cottage.

This beautiful resort getaway exceeded all of our expectations. It was such a treat after a previous 3 day excursion through the Mekong Delta.

We've stayed at many similar B&B resorts around the world and Cassia makes the top 5:

- beautiful gardens and well maintained and clean property;
- exceptionally friendly and attentive staff (very accommodating to questions and needs);
- the manager and assistant manager truly care that each of their guests are comfortable and happy;
- food is great and very affordable considering it is a mini resort (the weekly BBQ is a must!);
- despite other reviews, we highly recommend the garden rooms (especially 4C) for couples without children because these rooms are more private and quiet.

Couple things to consider:

- the Cassia beach (which makes up a small portion of Long Beach on the west side of the island) is relatively clean and beautiful, but it is not the white sand and turquoise water beach if that's what you're looking for - visit Sao Beach on the SE of the island;
- Cassia is located on the west side of the island so there is no direct sun on the beach in the morning. The sun rises over Cassia in the afternoon, so you'll have full sun on the beach by 2p. Then of course the beautiful sunset in the evening.
- this is a family friendly B&B/resort, so expect some noise from children by the pool or on the beach;
- some reviews have described Cassia as "rustic". The well thought and detailed decor contributes to the rustic feel, but by no means is it truly rustic. The rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with the typical amenities you'd expect in a boutique resort. This is neither a complaint or complement, just something for travelers to keep in mind.

Lastly, as others have commented previously, Phu Quoc is a fast changing island. There is a lot of development underway - and one hopes the eco vibe of Cassia survives the boost in commercial tourism this island will soon encounter.

Room Tip: Garden rooms (although smaller than the others) offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I just spent two weeks at Cassia Cottage and enjoyed it immensely. I sampled most of the items on the menu, I had many spa services, I spent quite a bit of time chatting with the staff, I borrowed books from the library, took meals on the beach and in the garden, swam daily in the sea and in the pool, made friends with other guests and did a one-day snorkeling excursion by bus around the island. I hiked much of the beach and took advantage of every amenity. I was traveling alone and celebrated my 65th birthday in grand style with a fancy birthday cake. I used the birthday as an excuse to be lazy and self-indulgent, and I can't think of a better location for this, and I am very widely traveled. Most of the guests are well-to-do European couples, but there are a few families with kids - I did not meet anyone else traveling alone. I was very well looked after by the staff who seemed to be constantly concerned with my well-being, but were never intrusive. I will be making it a habit to return to Cassia Cottage every year. Although some may find it more simple than sybaritic, it is just what I was hoping for, relaxing and sweet-smelling, small and uncomplicated, well-situated and totally pleasurable. My bed was just soft enough and I never saw a single mosquito.

Room Tip: I was in Room 8 which has a lovely private garden, veranda, hammock, frog pond, and even a bathtub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

After spending 4 weeks touring Vietnam, we spent the last 5 days chilling out, at the Cassia Cottages on Phu Quoc Island, and this was a great location on the beach to finish our travels.
We had a double room, with 4 poster bed, on the front overlooking the beach, a great spot for sundowners.
All the staff were great, which helped to make a relaxing atmosphere, would like to say how good the under manager,Tom was, a very enthusiastic member of the team, who seemed to be involved in all the resort activities.
Breakfast was good, plentiful, nice to try all the exotic fruits, and the unusual fruit juices.

A very nice touch was the complimentary cocktail at 4.00pm, different every day, but always very welcome in the heat of the day.
The Wednesday Night Beach BBQ, is a must, what a great setting with a waves almost lapping up to our table, and great food.

Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Vietnam

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1B, which is in the centre of a block of 5 cottages, great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hello, Graham 53. Thanks for the compliments. The fellow who just below here was in the same room as you, a week earlier…. and burdened by noisy children. Maybe we got an extra point from you due the Happy Hour drinks. As they say " A slightly Lit-up guest is a Happy Guest".
And yes, our staff is making the place tick. Of course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassia Cottage - The Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage - The Spice House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cassia Cottage - The Spice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Hotel
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.