We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all - lovely.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cassia Cottage - The Spice House to your Saves list
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Duong Dong
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
619 helpful votes 619 helpful votes
“All in all - lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We in this hotel for the fourth time. Everything was amazing. The staff from the hotel, the management was friendly and caring. We met as good friends.
Peace and quiet and comforts of the hotel, we always want go back!
Very nice garden. The people from the staff is really nice.
The hotel owner is very friendly, always taking care of the guests.
The hotel's restaurant is very tasty chicken with mango and chocolate ice cream is very best!
We go massage in hotel during the day, every day. Very good anti-cellulite massage and Thai massage. And for face the best with Aloe vera.
And in the evening at our favorite massage in parlor Mai Spa. Best massage with hot stones. Best procedure "Cleopatra" - scrub and wrap.
We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    133
    37
    7
    2
See reviews for
149
337
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked into Cassia for 5 days at the beginning of November. It was like an oasis of calm after the madness of Saigon. When we arrived, we were given a lovely refreshing welcome drink and were seated in the restaurant to check in. Thankfully our room was ready immediately even though it was only around 10.30am so after being shown around the resort, we went straight in to get settled.

We spent most if our time in the resort and from walking down the beach it was definitely the nicest we found. The sunsets, 5pm cocktails and the amazing staff really made our stay. The food was fantastic, lots of fresh exotic fruit at brekkie.

One thing that I must mention from reading other reviews. Cassia will seem expensive after being elsewhere in Vietnam. If you think its too expensive, simply dont stay here rather than leaving a review complaining about it. There are plenty of cheaper places to stay on the island and (like every other hotel) you agree a price at booking!!! We felt it was worth every cent and was still much cheaper compared to what we'd pay in Ireland. A meal in Cassia came in at around 1/2 of the price at home.

Would absolutely love to return to Phu Quoc again some day and would not hesitate to stay in this beautiful resort again. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so special :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you, Thank you! it's fun to make people happy, and good to hear your comment to the other reviewers. Indeed there are places that charge less. We pay our income and real estate taxes, our staff have Social insurance, our density is half and Cassia Cottage food never comes out of freezer cases. We are there to make your holiday special. having been in Ireland this year, I know that you all appreciate tradition, honest food and a properly pulled Guiness.
We're trying to do the same with your tropical garden fantasy. when we get it right, it's priceless.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

When we chose to come to Phu Quoc we couldn't decide whether to stay centrally or up at Mango Bay and so opted to spilt our time between both resorts. This was where we stayed after Mango Bay and that may have been the problem.

Cassia Cottage is a small relaxing resort located on the beach. Being small, it means there is no problem finding a sun lounger and relaxing by the pools with only a few others around. Its right on the beach too so you can wander along to the beach bars/restaurants and it takes about half hour to walk along the beach to the night market (as it gets dark quickly I would suggest the route along the road though as knowing when to exit the beach proved tricky!). Location wise CC is great and the staff were all friendly and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The garden setting was very pretty too.

We had a garden cottage and were lucky enough that when sat on our patio we benefited from a partial sea view too (request 4B if you do not want to pay for a seaview!). Each cottage comes with a hammock too. The rooms are well equipped, the bathroom is spacious and the bed and pillow were very comfortable. A mosquito net is placed over the bed each night but this is quite early at about 5pm which means that there is then nowhere to sit and get ready in the room as the seat were outside on the patio. At about 5pm staff come round with free cocktails which was a nice touch.

Cassia Cottage is described as "Simple" and a B&B so this should give you an idea of what to expect but the price suggests otherwise. We paid around £120 a night but felt half that would be a fairer price. It is overpriced when compared with other resorts on the Island and along the beachfront.

Breakfast is OK, but guests had to constantly ask for the coffee to be refilled, more plates etc rather than staff anticipating this. Unfortunately some staff serving guests understood very little English which resulted in us (and others) being given the wrong dish at lunch, (A request for the BBQ platter resulted in a squid salad). All staff in the restaurant were friendly but as a unit they seemed a little disorganised!

As our flight was not until later in the day we were able to keep our room for longer at no extra charge which was appreciated.

Overall our stay here was relaxing just perhaps not to the standard we had hoped for. Perhaps our expectations were too high (based on other tripdviser reviews and the cost)?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Folks, as you noted your expectations were misplaced!
We are a low density, high thread count, nice-smelling-soap kind of place. Our breakfast coffee is locally roasted, high mountain arabica, brewed fresh every 10 minutes or so. Maybe we were a bit slow during that 'peak hour' from 0815-0900.
our rate for sea front rooms is only $10 more than the garden cottages and gosh, we've never had anyone complain about sitting on the verandah in the evening before.
Overall, you liked us, and so, we hope you will come back outside peak season, when our rates are lower. Or sleep somewhere a little less dear and just come over for a good, fresh cup of coffee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent a few days here on our round trip through Vietnam and Cambodia. It's been a really nice and relaxing experience! Pick-up at airport was quick and smooth and we were welcomed with a free drink and a detailed explanation of all facilities upon arrival.

The resort is beautifully laid out (picturesquely tropical) and the cottages are well-equipped (including mosquito net) and nicely designed. There is a very good restaurant on site, directly on the beach. It's great to have dinner, lunch or breakfast in such a scenic setting. And the food is great too!

Don't expect a lot of night life nearby, or actually anywhere on the island. However, the town Duong Dong is at walking distance and has a great night market with magnificent street food.

Staff are very helpful. They are always busy to keep the place neat and tidy. They also helped us out to book tickets to go to Cambodia and we arranged to hire a motorbike to explore remote, isolated beaches.

Every day free cocktails are served. Fancy a cocktail on a wonderful stretch of tropical beach? Then this is certainly a place to consider.

Room Tip: We had a sea-view room, which was lovely. We did not mind, but these rooms face the swimming pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great place to relax and unwind after travelling round Vietnam. Lovely villas set amongst Palm tree-clad gardens, creates a little oasis right by the beach. 2 pools, beach front tables, staff only too happy to help. They even clear the jelly fish out of the sea! Food is great, just a little more pricey than other places but not expensive. Free happy hour cocktail at 4pm. Rooms are clean and well serviced including a mosquito net over the bed, fresh fruit on arrival with a welcome drink. Had an issue with AC which was quickly sorted, not an issue really. If I'm being fussy, new cushions on the loungers are needed but are adequate. Tours of Island and snorkelling trips easily organised by reception and flights confirmed before leaving. Had a late checkout and use of another room to shower and change which was no trouble and much appreciated. Watching the sunset on beach front loungers with cocktails one of the highlights. Great for couples. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Had room 8. A little gem set back from the pool. Ensuite with shower and bath wet room. Super quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Ok here goes - the ferry trip is two and a half hours but good fun. Taxis from ferry port to Cassia take 25 minutes due to road resurfacing and cost about £7, from Airport takes 10 minutes and is £4. To town is 20 mins along beach or 15 mins on road however a taxi is less than £1.

You get a nice welcome on arrival and a guided tour....rooms are very clean with air con and mosquito protection...we haven't seen any Mosquitos. Bathroom is western style with showers only.

The resort is on three levels...upper levels 20 cottages. -Reception, main walkway, Internet cafe and Library. All rooms are within 40 metres of the middle tier down the central walkway. Rooms are semi detached - you can hear talking if loud through walls.

Middle tier has children's and adults pool, sun terrace.

Lower tier has Spa and massage room, restaurant, stream, eating ares scattered in garden and beach.

Food is very good but you pay more here than in town or Hanoi etc.

Sellers on beach are polite and do not pester you, try buying pineapple at about a £1 they make it into a lollipop. We re here in November and very very hot.

The views are spectacular of the sea and sunset. Water is clear and warm, beware of jellyfish - hotel staff come and catch and remove daily.

Staff all smile and politely ask if you are having a good time...excellent service.

I give this place a big thumbs up !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Phu Quoc, excellent location on the beach front and other restaurants and bars near by. Our room really nice, very clean and tidy. A mosquito net was put up for us every day at 5pm which was a nice touch. It's a really picturesque place to stay, with lovely pools (separate kids and adult pools) with both sea views and beautiful gardens. The staff are really welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a couple of small problems with the safe and air-con, but this was dealt with very efficiently and they were genuinely upset that we had experienced a problem - they couldn't do more to help and it was dealt with straight away. Breakfast was great with a good mixture of western and Vietnamese food. We had some delicious food in the restaurant, would especially recommend the seafood coconut soup! We had an amazing time at Cassia Cottage and would love to go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassia Cottage - The Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage - The Spice House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cassia Cottage - The Spice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Hotel
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.