We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cassia Cottage - The Spice House to your Saves list
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Duong Dong
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We are a family of six and stayed in September in one of the beach houses. Cassia Cottage is a lovely oasis with beautiful surroundings and lovely friendly staff. The beach house was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. When we arrived we were warmly greeted with refreshing drinks and helped to our beach house. The staff were fantastic with our children who are 15, 13 and two 8 year olds. The location of Cassia is a fairly easy walk into town and there were always plenty of taxis when the family were need of a ride. I can recommend Cassia Cottage and if we ever went back to Phu Quoc we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    134
    37
    7
    2
See reviews for
149
337
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the beach house with my parents and our 2 year old son. It was a beautiful space and the staff (esp. Thanh and Thomas) really went out of their way to make sure our stay was really enjoyable. The place was really well maintained and the beach was great for swimming; really idyllic. Menu was extensive and everything we tried was very good: 3.5-4 stars. My parents are vegetarian and the kitchen was very accommodating. Would definitely recommend a stay here and will be heading back next time I am in Phu Quoc.

Room Tip: The beach house is huge and really good for families traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My family, including 2 year old daughter, stayed for 3 nights and 4 days at this wonderful resort. First night I had a major issue with the shower falling apart. Issue was fixed within 20 minutes of telling staff. I am a picky person about many things but would not hesitate to stay again. For USA travelers they have hired new managment personelle and have identified issues with language and cultural knowledge. They are trying very hard to move this hotel to the next level and for that they should be your next place to stay in Phu Quoc. Please let Thomas or Thanh know what you need and they will try their best to get it done. Looking forward to returning soon to Cassia.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here with our nine month old baby girl. Excellent service, staff attentive but not intrusive. Comfortable rooms, lovely grounds. Backs onto a great swimming beach. Kid friendly pool. Very important ly , the food is excellent. And it's not pretentious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for 8nights and loved it. The staff where really friendly and everything was relaxed and calm.

One of the new managers came for a drink with us and was very friendly. Making it feel like we where staying with friends or something.

The younger man who works there was especially helpful and tended to anything we needed.

Motorbike rental was a plus with the one we had being in good shape and well maintained.

All in all and great place to stay, with great company and idilic scenery. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This review is almost one year late. I stayed at Cassia in February 2013 and it was so wonderful here I am sitting at my desk in Vancouver BC, dreaming of Cassia Cottage and wishing I could be transported back there right this minute.

February is high season - Cassia Cottage was full but it never felt overcrowded. The pools were quiet (the adult-only pool is such a nice touch) and there were always lounges available on the beach. The beach!! So gorgeous and wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious (I was wide awake at 6 am every morning excited about breakfast). The rooms are comfortable and cozy and everything is very clean. The staff is superb. We only had dinner at the Spice House once as we walked to the night market for dinner the rest of the nights (we stayed 5 nights total). What we especially loved were the lunch specials - every day a different Vietnamese specialty for $5USD. Delicious!!!

I did not want to leave Cassia Cottage. We explored other high end hotels on the island but Cassia Cottage tops them all in my opinion. It has a homey feel, is not pretentious but offers luxury. Like I said, dreaming of my next visit....

I was travelling with my parents and they are going back in February 2014. Wish I could join them again!

I should mention we had the two bedroom villa looking out onto the adult-only pool. It was absolutely fantastic.

The reason I am marking three stars for value is because there is no question Cassia Cottage is a little pricey for Vietnam... However, I don't care, I will be back if I can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Overall our favourite place we stayed in Vietnam during our three week, for a variety of reasons:

· Very Friendly and attentive staff, from the owner who we met on the last day, to the manager and all the staff, you made it feel like from home from home.
· As it was our honeymoon they gave us a lovely cottage which was meticulously cleaned everyday, this included a lovely hammock and a private pond with our own croaking frog. The gardens in Cassia are beautiful and this is down to the work and effort of the staff.
· The food at the Spice lounge was lovely as well (we had dinner here one night and obviously the breakfasts). The made to order pancakes were lovely.
· They gave us a lovely bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon which was a really nice touch along with a lovely ‘honeymoon’ welcome laid out on our bed when we arrived.

We stayed in some lovely places over three weeks, this is the only place we have given 5 stars to as we really did feel this place had something else about it. We can’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cassia Cottage - The Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage - The Spice House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cassia Cottage - The Spice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Hotel
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.