We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice cosy resort with excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Save Saved
You added Cassia Cottage - The Spice House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Duong Dong
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A nice cosy resort with excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice grounds and beach out front is excellent.
Brick rooms are well appointed clean and tasteful, but only sea view rooms have a little view of the ocean.
The bed in our room was Hard (Glad we were only staying 2 nights Hard)
The shower pressure was very poor, Ok for my bald head but if you have hair then the trickle from the shower head won't cut it for a relaxing shampoo and condition.
Staff are excellent and will help with anything and everything if you ask.
Breakfast Ok, Dinner on the beach is pretty nice and once again the service is great.
The 2 Swimming pools are nice and clean with plenty of deck chairs to relax on.
We booked on Agoda and got the room at around 1/2 the normal price which would be all you really want to pay.
It's a nice place but we'll probably try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Hire a Scooter and explore some of the island - Walk along the beach for some excellent seafood bbq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    118
    37
    7
    2
See reviews for
141
309
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate a birthday and wedding anniversary and could not be happier with our time at Cassia. The beautiful gardens are cool and serene, the rooms lovely and the food is outstanding. If that is not enough then let me tell you that the staff are delightful. I could listen to Amelie all day and nothing is too much to trouble for her. Sao, Phong and Chi all helped to make our time at Cassia simply perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is another example of why I use TA to find and select my locations throughout my journeys. I loved the 5 nights here and it was truly hard to leave. Just up the road (before the main highway) I was able to rent a cheap motorbike - and drive all over, and I mean ALL over the island - and wash my clothes. The shop was even very helpful and easy to deal with, and cheap, when I got a flat tire.

Likes:
The staff: from the internet booking helper Kris Lynn, to the on-site P.R. manager Tram, to the property manager Amelie, they were all sweet and helpful, Amelie went out of her way to help us and make our stay authentic and enjoyable.
Location, location, location: best and cleanest beach on the island with its own nets to keep out jellyfish and other unwanted sea life, also you're walkable or easily drivable by motorbike to the city center and all other areas of the island.
Breakfast!: I literally couldn't wait to get up and enjoy a smorgasbord of goodness each morning.
Mosquito-killers: they did a marvelous job, both inside and outside of the rooms to keep those pests away, including giving us mosquito-killing rackets and had aloe plants in front of each bungalow for healing purposes.

Dislikes:
If one doesn't come to mind immediately, then I say: there's no point in mentioning anything, so, none.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a 3 night stay in a garden cottage at the end of our 3 week trip. Great way to finish. The cottage was well laid out and spacious enough to relax in. Shower was good - with good toiletries. Good mosquito net and a nice outside area where we could sit or lie in a hammock if we wanted to brave the mozzies. The grounds are lovely and lead directly onto a clean, sandy beach. The sea was perfect for swimming; warm and calm and shallow within the bounds of the jelly fish net.

Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice, plus eggs and noodles cooked to order. A highlight for us were the lunches and dinners. The food was excellent. We had the best curry we've had anywhere except Sri Lanka and a great hot pot and faultless sea food in general. Well worth the money.

And all served by helpful, efficient and friendly waiters in the lovely garden setting overlooking the beach.

We walked into town one morning and spent the rest of the time relaxing on the property or the beach. Much nicer.

As we had a late afternoon flight back to the mainland they provided us with a spare cottage to shower and change etc. which meant we could have a final swim and beach walk. That's what I call good customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent 9 nights at Cassia and had an excellent time. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the level of customer service was very high and the staff actually seemed to care about you and your experience. The setting is beautiful with fantastic gardens and 2 lovely pools as well as a nice beach area. We stayed in cottage 7b which although basic was perfectly adequate as we hardly ever spent time there. Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. The restaurant was one of the real highlights of this resort and even though it is more expensive than other places nearby the food and drink was of a very high standard. We actually ate here about 6 times which is unusual for us. The BBQ night was fantastic with a wide range of food in a beautiful setting. Breakfast was great and we really enjoyed the smoothies and lovely fresh fruit available each day. The ethos of this place is on relaxation and I have never felt so chilled after a holiday. The fact that the resort is so small works in its favour and means that you really do get that personal touch. The only downside for us was that there were a lot of children during the last few days of our trip which did mean that the place was more noisy however I think that this is not usually the case. I would recommend a visit to the hotel spa where you can enjoy an invigorating massage at a fraction of what you would pay at home. I would like to mention the manager Amelie who was always around checking that you were having a good time and personally arranged trips for us, a really unusual thing to see in hotels these days which we appreciated. A big thanks also to our favourite waiter Xao however all staff were fabulous. We have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and I can honestly say that many of them do not compare n any way to this gem. Thanks Cassia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a Garden Cottage and the room, the garden, the restaurants at the beach were excellent. The beach in front of the hotel was like in paradise, white, smooth sand. The service, accommodation and food were excellent and the staff just made us happy. We really enjoyed our stay and who never knows, we might come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent three nights here last week and it was a great place to wrap up a 3 week vacation. While it is a bit pricey for Vietnam standards you get what you pay for!

The staff was friendly and eager to help, the included breakfast was great and the included happy hour drink was an unexpected bonus.

The rooms are not huge, the bathroom is spacious and the shampoo & body wash was divine. The size of the hotel was perfect, the gardens lovely and the beach was wonderful.

My only suggestion is a garbage can on the beach (or perhaps a bag in the room) for those of us who are so inclined to drag the garbage in from the water. We just made a pile of it knowing that the staff cleans the beach. For those folks who complain about the garbage perhaps you can pick it up instead of walking over it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 39 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGallery Collection
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, MGal...
#6 of 39 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#8 of 39 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#2 of 5 in Duong To
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Famiana Village
Famiana Village
#1 of 5 in Duong To
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Airport Transpo...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#16 of 39 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage - The Spice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage - The Spice House

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cassia Cottage - The Spice House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cassia Cottage - The Spice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Hotel
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassia Cottage - The Spice House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.