We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in SE Asia!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Resort
100C/14 Tran Hung Dao street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Duong Dong
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in SE Asia!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The most affordable place we found to actually stay on the beach. Actually by far the most expensive place we stayed in SE Asia, but the cheapest on the beach on Phu Quoc... The beach is gorgeous and there are plenty of places with restaurants right on the beach to eat at. Thanh Kieu doesn't have a restaurant or bar on the beach, but that's fine- more room for beach chairs and enjoying the squeaky sand or a massage right on the beach! The room did not have much natural light, bugs and no a/c, but like I said, it was the most affordable place. There are certainly more upscale and certainly more expensive places along the beach. It was fine for us and the breakfast was FANTASTIC!!! Huge buffet with fresh fruit, eggs, Vietnamese desserts, crepes, cereal, coffee, juice....
The staff at the desk was pretty crabby and not very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    92
    46
    27
    9
See reviews for
22
129
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good size bungalows, however no air con, and good 60-100 yards from beach in lovely garden.
Garden very nice, well maintained.
Very good breakfast. However there is no restaurant or bar on the beach, which means you don't want to run to restaurant 100 yards and another 100 back to get a beer when you sun bathing. Due to that we ate in restaurant nearby on the beach with nice breee. There is not so much breee in the garden. The fans in the room are a joke for the prize we paid for this bungalow.
Restaurant prizes are high compare to competition next door which are on the beach.
No wonder no one ate there apart from breakfast which was included in room prize.
Beach very nice, with many sun beds, however no security on the beach and by passers were taking sun beds even though hotel was half booked, there were no sun beds available. This hotel did not care what is going on on the beach. There is money to be made setting up a bar or restaurant and serving its own clients or by passers.

Room Tip: Don't bother sea view rooms which hardly have any view due to palm trees blocking sea view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked a garden view which had pictures including an outdoor bathroom. On our arrival they were unable to check one of our party in the room and said to come back in an hour. We then realised that our bungalows did not have an open bathroom. We went back when the hour was up, they informed us that we had only booked a garden not a garden deluxe, we pointed out that was not made clear in the pictures, she then informed us that our rooms were $45 and the garden deluxe was $69. We we looked at our receipt it showed that we paid $57 per night, she informed us they were cheaper now, we asked to upgrade, without a result then asked if we could access the room that we've seemingly overpaid for. She told us maybe another half hour. I can't think to any hotel we've stayed at where the reception has been so unhelpful as well as pointing out that we overpaid for a room we didn't want.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The bungalows were just average. They are a nice size but ours was tucked behind a wall and had no sea brezze what so ever! Without air con this was a little uncomfortable- nights were okay with the fans. We had our windows open the entire time and let in lots of mosquitos. Should have booked a sea view. The staff wasn't very friendly. The breakfast was delicious with omelets and pancakes made to order. Location was good- right on the beach- nice beach chairs. Beautiful gardens! Good price!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The bungalows were lovely, the beach was great and we found the staff fine in terms of service. No air con. The bathroom is gorgeous!!! There was a lot of sunbeds and it was a nice part of the beach. Very well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice garden, but thats all. Open bathroom therefore a lot of mosquitos. Booked seaview but there is no seaview, our view was on the beach restaurants roof! Very unfriendly staffs exept one of the male receptionist!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful and simple resort with great beach.
Rooms are basic but have all the necessary equiptment, the garden is lovely, breakfast great and the beach very pleasant.Most of the staff was attentive and friendly.

One warning, if u mind being scammed avoid to go to the "travel agency" next to the hotel. We have been recommended by one member of the staff and we have really regretted it.
They organised a trip from Phu Quoc to Phnom Penh on a old rusty boat and very small unsafe minibus with other 14 people.

The minibus company was champa mekong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Hotel
Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Address: 100C/14 Tran Hung Dao street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Phu Quoc Island. "Enjoy Your Life with sun and sea air." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.