We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, so-so value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Star Resort to your Saves list
Sea Star Resort
98/2 Tran Hung Dao Street | Ba Keo, 7 Ward, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 950000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - BEST PRICE
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Duong Dong
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, so-so value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived on Phu Quoc with no reservations and picked Sea Star out of the Lonely Planet. Our Garden Bungalow was $56US a night (we only stayed one) which I thought was a bit steep.

Yes, they have lovely grounds, and yes, the front verandah on the bungalows was quite nice but the beds were rock hard, our fridge didn't work and the only mirror (other than the small one over the sink) was right next to the bathroom door - a door that had a window with no blinds on it!

Location (vs further down near Le Veranda and a large cluster of more budget friendly digs) saves about 20 minutes of walking to get to the night market and some of the great restaurants on the main road.

So, if you are a budget conscious traveller who still appreciates the niceties, I would stay further down the beach at Than Kim or Phuong Binh - the landscaping isn't worth the extra bucks and if you really don't want to walk you can take a round trip taxi for about $5 from the other places to the night market.

Also, and this is just random what the heck?? in my mind - they have signs saying they are Eco friendly and that's why they have solar hot water (which, was excellent) however, what is Eco friendly about needing to let the water run for 3 minutes before it gets hot? There should be a water recovery system in place to make up for that. Also, providing free teeny bottles of water to guest vs offering free distilled water just adds to all the plastic rubbish on the island!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    186
    53
    21
    7
See reviews for
57
322
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a Garden Bungalow which was lovely. Sea Star is located at a part of the beach where there happens to be a good supply of shade. Of course there is lots of sunshine too, but carrying those great heavy lounge chairs around is not a simple matter!
Buffet breakfast was included at the Sea Star Restaurant, right next door. The servers there are very attentive. Say hello to Khan there. He is very friendly and works hard to take care of the guests.
Staff at the resort provide excellent service and everything works! Our room was impeccably clean; bathroom modern, shampoo provided. The WiFi signal is strong everywhere, even at the Garden Bungalows, because they have routers placed throughout the resort. We rented a motorbike to get around. Sea Star Resort is not really within walking distance of Duong Dong. It is entirely fine to walk along the beach to other restaurants if you don't want to rent a
bike. I would love to stay there again anytime!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 (actually, we're still here), initially in a Sea View Bungalow and then in one of the garden ones. Both were excellent, although given the choice, I would choose the Sea View for obvious reasons.

Rooms are a good size, with a/c, fridge and TV. As others have stated, the mattresses are quite hard but we didn't find this to be a problem. Rooms are also spotless.

The bathrooms, particularly in the Sea View Bungalow, are excellent, large with constant, solar heated hot water. The showers are huge!

Breakfast is free and substantial, offering unlimited European and local choices.

The hotel has its own beach, which is cleaned several times a day and which is also netted, presumably to keep out rubbish and jelly fish. We walked along the prime stretch of Long Beach and only a couple of other hotels appeared to offer the same attention to maintaining their beach front as the Sea Star and these were in the 'luxury range'.

There are lots of good and reasonably priced restaurants between the hotel and the centre of Duong Dong town, which is a ten to fifteen minute leisurely walk, along the well lit main road. The hotel's own restaurant is also very good, with very reasonable prices and a good selection of dishes . Alternatively, some of the other hotels along Long Beach offer dining on the beach, which is also recommended.

Automatic and manual 125cc motorbikes can be rented from the hotel for around $8 US, per day, which I would definitely recommend. If you do, don't miss Sao Beach in the South of the island, which has to be the most beautiful and whitest beach that I have ever seen.

The staff were always helpful, friendly and polite and for what you get, the price is unbeatable for Phu Quoc. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other visitors.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea View Bungalows or Beach Villas, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I are currently staying at this resort and we are extremely disappointed with the service and the room for the amount we are paying ($85/night). We're looking at leaving tomorrow to stay at another resort on the island it's that bad. We have a seaside villa and there is no doubting that the beach is lovely and the view beautiful but aside from this, the resort has little to offer in light of what we have found out there.
We sleep on a firm bed at home but the bed here really is exceptionally hard, we are talking sleeping on concrete hard, we tried to alleviate the problem by using our sun lounger cushions to relieve the pressure and this helped marginally but not enough, we tried to explain the problem to reception and we were laughed at before they called someone else to deal with the issue, we asked for a couple blankets or duvets to try to help and we are still waiting for them to arrive after 3 hours waiting and having reminded them twice, we were finally told they would drive later night sometime!
The breakfast is below average and I would recommend you by fruit off the beach sellers for better value for money. The staff are sullen and don't greet or say hello, except for one pleasant fellow in the dinning hall. The rooms are not cleaned properly daily, they are swept out and the bedding barely straightened but otherwise nothing else is done.
Now it might sound like I am difficult to please but we have travelled in Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia alot and have stayed at numerous places ALL of which have been significantly better than this. With new establishments going up on the island (yes we went for a look at other rooms, were greeted well and shown rooms all will proper matresses and equal if not better facilities at much cheaper prices $35-50/night), this place will not last long. It was the pick of a poor bunch but times are changing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I are still at the resort, but figured I'd type the review while it's all fresh. Overall, it's very basic, but not awful. Don't think the beach villas are worth the $85 considering you don't even get a kettle and the mattresses are the cheapest, hardest mattresses money can buy. We like firm mattresses, but after almost no sleep the first night, we resorted to using our lounge chair cushion and asking for an extra duvet to try soften our sleep. I'm not joking....If it wasn't for the mosquitos, I would probably opt to sleep on the beach instead. On that point, last night I had to walk to reception (oh yes, also no phones in room) 3 times to ask for an extra pillow. This time was after we had gone for dinner, so I'm talking about a period of 3 hours.....I think this kind of service is unacceptable.

Pros
- Decent location
- Good Beach area
- Satisfactory room size
- Airport shuttle
- So far rooms seem to be well cleaned
- Wireless Internet

Cons
- Rock hard foam mattress
- Poor service
- Flies all over fruit at breakfast
- Very limited and disappointing breakfast offering
- No Beach towels
- No kettle in room

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai P, Director of Sales at Sea Star Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Craig,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and your recent stay with us, It is foibles and encouraging to learn and serve better in next time.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next time travelling to Phu Quoc Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We've been lucky enough to have travelled to Vietnam on 7 occasions in the past 5 years, and on 6 of those occasions we have travelled south to Phu Quoc and Sea Star Resort. This is not a luxury resort BUT if you want to relax on a beautiful clean beach and away from the crowd Sea Star is the place. It's $2.00 away from the down town and nightly sea food street cafes', only minutes walk away from many restaurants on the highway; if you need them. Sea Star must be in the best position on the island and as such the cheapest place 'on the beach'.

We just love this place for the simplicity that has been maintained by the wonderful management [Mr Phu] and staff. Over the 5 years that we have visited very few changes have occurred although the choice at breakfast has been increased dramatically [I did note the criticism earlier by one of the members].

At the time of our last visit [Jan/Feb] TET or Chinese New Year was being celebrated and many restaurants [including Sea Star] were closed with exception of breakfast. If you are Vietnamese it's a great time, if you're a visitor its not so good because of the many closures.

The place is super clean and serviced daily, the bungalows at the beach are the best!, airconditioned, a refrigerator provided, the water is hot and the sand is clean. It's got a TV and Wi-Fi.

The restaurant at the resort serves up the best simple Viet food and will entertain any request that is made. Generally we stay and eat at Sea Star as there in no reason to leave, other than to do some exercise walking on the beach to the occasional beach bar and a cool drink.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

When you want to get away from everything and just immerse yourself in peace and quite just go to Sea Star. We had a great time there. For the first two days we had stayed in a garden villa, but when it turned out that the villa on the beach was vacant we decided to move. It was great. You just go out of the room and step on the warm sand:) Our son just loved it. Unfortunately, the price was quite too high for the villa. The first bungalow was in the second raw and it had a great view as well and the price was lower of course. But we didn't complain because the beach villa was marvellouse ( and it is bigger as well).
The room was cleaned every day and we got two bottles of water as well. Breakfast was simple but tasty. I loved those small, warm doughnuts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Star Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Resort

Address: 98/2 Tran Hung Dao Street | Ba Keo, 7 Ward, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 950000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seastar resort is reminiscent of a tranquil Vietnamese village under an ever green coconut cove. The resort is proud to have the nicest stretch of Long beach with natural shades by malabar almond and palm trees. We are the only resort in Phu Quoc that have bungalows right on the beach. We strive to exceed the your expectations with bigger rooms and spacious veranda, genuine local hospitality, complete tranquility and excellent value for money. " Enjoy Your Stay at Sea Star resort " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Star Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Sea Star
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.