We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not happy for Vietnamese tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Star Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Star Resort
Ba Keo, 7 ward, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Duong Dong
Hanoi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not happy for Vietnamese tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked and spent a week holiday in Phu Quoc may, 2013.
Hotel was good, beach is nice and peaceful.
Room was clean and bed sheet was changed everyday.
Impression of Toilet is very clean and big bathroom.
Staffs are friendly...

But, Sea Star Resort does not accept Vietnamese tourists, I am a Vietnamese tourist as well as travel agent but when I called to hotel to book room, reservation confirmed overbooked and not available room for our family.
5 mins later my husband (Australian) called for reservation and they confirmed "you are lucky one room is avaibale for your family".
Arrived: 50% of the resort are empty so I was upset but keep inside because we are on holiday and do not want to damage our holiday from small details. Anyway, staffs are quite friendly and helpful while we were staying here... (so I think if you are Vietnamese you could not book room at this resort, you are better speaking English to book your room). Just feel sad for Vietnamese people :(

Room Tip: I not recommend you book with Superior Garden Bungalow (photos from their website is different, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    172
    47
    21
    6
See reviews for
53
302
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinjarra, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Were in our early 60’s. Our prerequisites and not necessary in this order are; Location; (√) clean; (+/-) quiet; (√) Wi-Fi; (+/-) being able to communicate with staff. (√). It was off season weather wise, so not everyday could be a beach day, due to rough seas and when you could swim in the sea, the litter was plentiful. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean on the inside,(but I do wish the cleaners could sweep ones veranda – beach sand dropped off foot wear never got swept away which you felt on your bare feet before you entered the room) large bathroom and good towels. Your average buffet breakfast. No problems with getting information and help from the front desk. Wi-Fi took for ever to connect and when you did, it was very slow. Plenty of different food choices out on the street when you left the hotel, a 5 minute walk away and the town itself was a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Thank you the weather that was great helping travel Phu Quoc.
Stayed here 3 nights and i got many things experience in this land. My room has a nice view can see the beach and hear the voice of sea every morning. Everything is clean, comfortable and also i could feel the fresh air from the garden beside my room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were really excited to be going to Sea Star as it was a bit of a treat for us after spending a lot less money on accommodation throughout Vietnam. We paid USD $80 for a beach bungalow. Transfer was quick, as was check in. Our room was fine although a bit shabby. Turned on the a/c and got a very low stream of unrefridgerated air. After an hour with no change I spoke to the manager who got the maintenance worker to look at it. We went to the restaurant which has great views but the tables had ants everywhere. I let the staff know that they seemed to be attracted to the sauce bottles on the table as they were congregated around the lids but they did not move them. I think if they wiped down the bottles and just placed them on the tables when guests were there the problem would be solved. After another hour we went back to the room and found the room still sweltering so I asked if we could change rooms. The duplex bungalow next door was empty but the manager said it was unavailable. He then showed me another bungalow but told me the a/c there was the same and showed me that it too did not work. I said we'd see how we go overnight but would check out if we had difficulty sleeping. It was exteremely humid while we were there but we did stay in another place in Vietnam with fans and found it fine. The problem was that there was no a/c and no air circulating. That evening went next door to dinner at Mai Spa and also checked out the rooms. The staff were really open and friendly both at reception and the restaurant which contrasted so much with the staff at Sea Star who seemed to be just doing their job. Both of us had very little sleep so we checked out the next day. The beds were very, very hard too (more so than any other place we stayed) so we placed the sunbed cushion underneath the sheet and this did the trick. The reception person seemed to be expecting us to check out as she wasn't suprised at all. I gave Sea Star 2 stars due to the fantastic location and the fact that the staff handled our complaint without getting upset. Overall, if the a/c wasn't a problem I probably would rate this hotel a 3 or 4 mainly due to the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent three nights at the Sea Star. The location is great, not far from town and right on the beach. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow for USD$80 however for half the price you will only be a minutes walk. While thís was by far the most expensive accommodation for the trip by western standards it was cheap although rooms were basic it was all we needed. The included airport transfers were really handy as well.
While the staff were nice the map they provided was not useable as you couldn't even read the text on it and unfortunatley could not arange a guide for us (a driver was no problem).
We hired motorbikes from them which was the same price as everywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On our 4th stay here at Sea Star were were warmly welcomed by Phu and staff, and as usual our overall experience was basically the same as other years - just lovely ! We stayed 6 nights in a Sea View Bungalow which has a nice balcony with timber lounges where you can unwind after a 'busy' day on the beach - or sit and watch those fantastic sunsets. The bungalows are situated directly behind the Beach Villas but have a water view between the villas. Because the bungalows are separate units they are quiet compared to the duplex villas that can be noisy (we have previously stayed in a beach villa). The bungalows are basic and of average size but with a large separate clean bathroom, and the standard hard but sort of comfortable bed. The mini bar has a few drinks for purchase and there is tea & coffee supplies for each day - you do need to take a thermos to the kitchen for hot water as there is no kettle in the room. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is buffet style with many food & beverage options to choose from - we thought that the breakfast had improved from our last visit and was more than satisfactory in both quantity & quality. Each bungalow / villa is supplied with 2 foam mattresses to use either on the balcony or on the wooden sun lounges on the beach. We found that there was never an issue to find a spare sun lounge unlike sometimes experienced at some other resorts. Sea Star Resort is located on a great stretch of beach about 20 min walk from the main township of Duong Dong - the beach and water were very clean and imo it is on the best part of Phu Quoc island to stay. We rented a motor bike from reception for a nominal daily amount which we used mainly to ride into town for the market / banking / PO, etc. You can also book tours from the resort though Khanh - a very nice guy who will really look after you. The night market is worth a visit where there are many seafood restaurants to choose from - but choose carefully as sometime 'fresh' is not fresh ....., and there are also many great seafood restaurants on the beach, mainly to the south of the resort. We ordered lunch to eat on the beach from the Sea Star restaurant a number of times and it was all very good. We also bought live black crabs from the town market and the Sea Star restaurant cooked them up (for a small charge) in a beautiful green peppercorn sauce which was served with fried rice - very very delicious indeed ! There are two small 'mini-marts' just outside the resort on the small road leading into the resort that sell everything you would need, and all at great prices, i.e. soft drinks, beer, spirits, snacks, even filtered ice - they also provide a very reasonably priced laundry service. My only two criticisms are that the bungalows don't have a safe (you could store your valuables at reception) and the TV in the rooms were those small CRT type which were difficult to view. All in all the Sea Star is a very friendly resort with good facilities in a fantastic location, so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we had a really lovely stay. We arrived to some construction but they put us in a room towards the back and could hardly hear it. Rooms are large and comfortable, same with the bathroom. Towels were changed everyday and the rooms were cleaned everyday too, although not thoroughly. Staff friendly and so chilled. Beach nice and clean. Breakfast not amazing but decent. We paid $50 for our room and we thought it was worth it. I really don't have bad things to say and I usually do!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Star Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Resort

Address: Ba Keo, 7 ward, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seastar resort is reminiscent of a tranquil Vietnamese village under an ever green coconut cove. The resort is proud to have the nicest stretch of Long beach with natural shades by malabar almond and palm trees. We are the only resort in Phu Quoc that have bungalows right on the beach. We strive to exceed the your expectations with bigger rooms and spacious veranda, genuine local hospitality, complete tranquility and excellent value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sea Star Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Sea Star
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.