We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chilled place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Star Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Star Resort to your Saves list
Sea Star Resort
98/2 Tran Hung Dao Street | Ba Keo, 7 Ward, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 950000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - BEST PRICE
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Duong Dong
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice chilled place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Located on the nicest bit of Long Beach, the resort is perfect for anyone looking to chill out for a week on a bit of a budget. We had a bungalow on the beach which was great - it was semi detached but we didn't hear a peep from our neighbours thanks to the thick walls (and they had a small child!). In hindsight though I would probably go for a beach view villa instead as you get a bit more privacy in the single bungalows.
We never had breakfast so can't comment on that but we had lunch in the restaurant everyday and it was always fresh and delicious. The staff there are really friendly too.
Location wise it's a bit of a trek to the Night Market but a taxi is easy enough to organise. Highly recommend Cassia Cottage which is a three minute walk on the beach to the left for dinner, as well as Mondo which is a five minute walk down the road on the way to the Night Market for absolutely supber tapas.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    187
    53
    21
    7
See reviews for
57
324
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
100 Mile House, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 24 days in Jan/Feb and loved it. The staff were terrific. Phu and Kiew at the front desk, and Thai and Khanh in the restaraunt especially. The cleaning staff were quick in the mornings. The room was almost always done by 9a.m.and always cleaned well.

We stayed in room 23, which was a seaview bungalow. It was the last in the row at the end of the property. Great location! Nice deck with table and chairs, steps from the ocean, and so quiet.
The rooms are basic but clean and have everything you need. TV, aircon, big bathroom with solar heated shower. A fruit basket was delivered on arrival. Coffee and water are restocked daily and a thermos is in the room. You can take it to the restaraunt in the morning for hot water.

The resort itself is very picturesque. Lots of palm trees and flowers, and lovely gardens.

Breakfast(6-10) was included and quite good with a decent buffet selection. Menu item's were available for lunch and dinner. The pineapple shakes (with rum) were delicious.

Our favorite was definately the beach. What a nice spot. Lots of shade if you want and a great sandy stretch. We spent most days lounging at the beach. Nice warm water, no big waves. Lots of lounge chairs.Sellers go by with fruit which they'll cut up and slice for you. The mango's and pineapple were teriffic. Also others selling pork or coconut fritters. No pressure to buy which was refreshing.

The location of the resort was good. Two stores were just outside the gates. A great spot to stock up on beer/soda or munchies. Very friendly people and the 2 cutest puppies (that came to our room regularly) At the top of the road there is a good selection of bars/restaraunts, and also several ATM's. We walked into town to the Night Market which took us about 20 minutes.

Over TET the staff had put 2 flower baskets on each side of the entrance to our patio. Actually they put the flowers at the entrance to everything. I believe when you walk through them it means long life or longevity. On Valentine's Day all the ladies received a red rose.

Overall, an excellant holiday

Room Tip: Beach bungalows share a wall. Seaview bungalows stand alone. We preferred a stand alone for more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It is a very nice and quiet place south of Duang Dong town, on the Long Beach. Bungalows are simple but clean, very friendly staff and good restaurant. New Airport is only 10 minutes by taxi - new highway makes the trip very easy. Resdting under coconut palms one can forget about life at home. Sandy beach is wide and clean, water warm...Next to it are some other simple resting places. If You like massage - there are few masseuse /elderly ladies / on the premises. Fresh fruits delivered to yours sunbed. All together - a very nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice bungalows, beautiful beach, warm sea, nice open air breakfast bar, not the best wifi connection, tv with sport chanels but no western news. Veranda right on the sand with fantastic views at sunset but don't forget the mozzie spray ! Only a 10-15 minute walk to town with the night market offering a great selection of fish and seafood meals. A short walk along the beach to Rory's bar, good beer, burgers and plenty more, bit of a late night spot if thats your thing. The sea star is very reasonably priced , the one negative is the old problem of people, during our stay it was Russians, putting towels on the sunbeds at daybreak and claiming them for the day. Apart from that, great value !

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with the resort, beach was beautiful. The bungalows were a good size with a porch to sit in the evenings on a sunlounger.
Breakfast was ok! But there are fruit sellers on the beach all day long with the most amazing fresh fruit and sooo cheap!
Outside the hotel is a great shop with a lovely couple that are so friendly they have quite a choice and if you need anything they will get it for you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a villa at this resort recently. Its a great location and the pick of Long Beach. Its clear that the owners take heed of comments on Trip Advisor as most of the "complaints" listed on previous reviews seem to have been addressed and we had no issues with any aspect of the rooms, restaurant or service - all of which were very good value. As is often the case in Vietnam, the beds are VERY hard so if you are used to a bit of give in a mattress, prepare for some pain! And a general warning for travellers to Phu Quoc who fancy renting a scooter - don't do it unless you are a experienced scooter or motorcycle rider. Every day you see a westener with knees, elbows & hands swathed in bandages. We took Johns boat trip up the north copast which was very pleasant & good value for money. Kahn from the resort was a great help in organising this.

Room Tip: Beach Villa is well worth the extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were lucky to get a bungalow for 4 nights at the Sea Star in peak season and I'd like to say thank you to the people who cancelled their booking for us!

on the positive side :
- good value for money : this remains a budget resort so don't expect luxury but the bungalows are very confortable. You have deck chairs outside and even a private tap to get the sand off your feet.
- restaurant serves good food and breakfast is plentiful
- private beach is very nice and loungers are free for guests... with wifi ! You can chose between sunny and shady areas
-you can rent motorbikes and book tours directly at the hotel reception
-free water bottles are given to you daily
- they provide a thermos, tea and coffee so you can get some hot water and make you own hot drinks all day.
- a massage place available on the beach.
- two small shops provide all you need just outside the resort
- your room is equiped with bug spray as well as moskitoe nets
- pick up from airport but not from the port.
- 10 to 15 minute walk from the night market where you'll have great seafood bbqs.

On the negative side:
- our bungalow had a little mold on the bathroom wall
-no booking online yet, you need to email and be lucky as the place is booked out early. The responses are very quick but can only confirm your booking once you have a plane ticket.
- and that's it really

We had a great stay here and can only recommend you try your luck. our advice is to take either a sea front bungalow or a garden view... sea views have little added value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Star Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Resort

Address: 98/2 Tran Hung Dao Street | Ba Keo, 7 Ward, Duong Dong Town, Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 950000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seastar resort is reminiscent of a tranquil Vietnamese village under an ever green coconut cove. The resort is proud to have the nicest stretch of Long beach with natural shades by malabar almond and palm trees. We are the only resort in Phu Quoc that have bungalows right on the beach. We strive to exceed the your expectations with bigger rooms and spacious veranda, genuine local hospitality, complete tranquility and excellent value for money. " Enjoy Your Stay at Sea Star resort " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Star Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Sea Star
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Star Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.