We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Duong Dong Town, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
24% off on your stay!
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for six nights at the end of a two week holiday to Vietnam and it was just perfect. The setting is exquisite, with lush tropical gardens and colonial style buildings well spaced apart. The most difficult decision to make each day was whether to stay at the stunning pool area or walk an extra 30 metres to the beach. The staff were helpful and very friendly. The breakfast buffet was second to none. We didn't eat there in the evening as the restaurant was quite expensive, especially as better value could be found just a few minutes walk along the beach. But otherwise we have nothing but praise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerandaResort, Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Rich_and_Sarah7,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor!
We are very happy that you chose to stay with us after a two week trip through Vietnam.
It's always a great pleasure to receive such a positive feedback and it will be a big encouragement to all of our staff as we always strive hard to exceed guests' expectation.
I am sorry that you presumed our food and beverage prices to be as you have described them. We appreciate all feedback as it gives us the chance to assess our guest experience and see how we can improve. Whilst it is difficult to judge value without experiencing first hand, we respect your opinions and glad to read you found alternatives to your liking.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Veranda in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    198
    61
    15
    7
See reviews for
121
579
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I'd like to rate this hotel with an excellent. The grounds are gorgeous, the hotel itself is very well designed, the food is great, the beach is beautiful (the trash referenced in other reviews is in front of other properties, not the Veranda), and most of the staff members -- especially in the restaurants -- are fantastic.
BUT, and this brought me very close to giving the hotel a poor rating, the music from the live band, which plays every single night but Sunday, is entirely too loud. Especially for the cottages closer to the beach, the singing is so loud that you can hear each and every single word while sitting in bed at 10 p.m.
If, like me, you travel to the beach for peace and quiet, this is a big problem. We called the front desk every night and asked when the band would stop playing, but nothing ever changed. It plays until 10.30, six nights a week. We could have asked for a different cottage, of course, but that would mean being farther away from the beach and we really liked seeing the ocean every morning and having a short walk to the sand.
If you are looking forward to sipping a cocktail by the pool when the sun goes down, or strolling along the water's edge, without hearing Hotel California or Bruce Springsteen at high volume, this is NOT the place for you.
To be fair, the band was decent and its members were very friendly. But I have no idea why a five-star resort would risk losing business by having such loud music. It is mind boggling.
The second problem was the front desk staff (again, the rest of the hotel staff -- from restaurants to beach crew -- was superb). We never knew whether the person who answered the phone was going to be helpful and friendly, or sour and unhelpful. There definitely seemed to be a personnel issue there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerandaResort, Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear marmaduketravel,

On behalf of the entire team here at La Veranda Resort, I would like to share with you our sincere gratitude for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us.
We greatly appreciate your comments regarding the property, the restaurant and the beach.

We are sorry to read about your perception of the general attitude of our Front Office staff during your stay. This does not in any way reflect the usual level of La Veranda.
Kindly rest assured that further training in regards to guest relations will be carried out again with all of our teams to avoid such incidents in the future.

As far as the music band is concerned, they have been very popular with the great majority or our guests.
We are sorry to read that they are not to your liking. We do understand that people come on holidays for a variety of reasons, some to only relax and unwind, many however are looking for entertainment, we have tried to create a balance with the timing and volume, and do appreciate your feedback.
Maybe we should consider to limit the performances to a few times a week only. Please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address this issue and see if we are able to prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Veranda in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlow
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay,but as with much in Vietnam.....there is terrible communication...we were told that there was diving in the resort and there was not.The management were wonderful and did all possible to help us....not withstanding it did spoil our stay.We were also told that were cookery classes twice weekly...there were not...
We ate out most of the time as the evening meals were over priced and of poor standard.The breakfasts were excellent and a wonderful choice...probably the best we had in Vietnam.But sometimes had to wait for a table.The hotel has expanded and was more busy than we had been led it would be.ie over 70 rooms and not the 40 ish we were told.Our agent has not been able to refund as much as we were hoping for as we had been misled byt the booking group.
The spa was wonderful,but again...it is overpriced.
This is an island waiting to implode...the roads are being built for tourism and many hotels on target to be built,taking the whole charm away and it will force locals into hotel employment that they clearly do not want to do.
The hotel is clean....the surrounding beaches not...not a good environment and is taking too long to educate the locals.Would have preferred the rooms to have been cleaned on a regular time ...sometimes having to wait until afternoon.
There can be hoards of corporate types there...defo not what I want to see.Too many children there when we visited.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerandaResort, Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear sunnyMarlow,

We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay at La Veranda Resort, Phu Quoc.
We appreciate your comments about the breakfast and our management, but we are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

Phu Quoc is a real get away from the crowds and noise of mainland Vietnam. However you are right, this relatively undiscovered part of the country is fast becoming a hot-spot for tourism.
Regarding environmental issues, we are continuously working on several initiatives with the local community to ensure that we can create awareness in an attempt to reduce the amount of rubbish and waste on the island and how it is dealt with for the benefit of all for the future.

Phu Quoc is a great place for snorkelers and divers, with unique opportunity of discovering the marine life around the island for the first time, with many areas around the island still largely unexplored.
The best time for a dive is between October and May in the dry season, however scuba diving is still available all year.
We do not have a dive center within the resort, however our receptionists will be pleased to arrange a diving excursion for you with a local diving center.
Our Front Office staff will always be pleased to help you with any request you may have!

If you are interested in learning how to cook traditional Vietnamese dishes, cooking class are only available upon request. Our Chef will share with you some of his culinary secrets...

At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the areas highlighted that we are able to improve in order to prevent future occurrence.
We thank you again for your feedback and hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back to our resort.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a few nights here in January and loved it as soon as we walked in. Our room was pretty, very comfortable and overlooking gardens with glimpses of the pool. The main building with it's large verandah and comfortable chairs was lovely to sit on any time of the day. Breakfast was delicious and dinner the 1 night we ate there was special. In January the beach was clean and inviting. Tried there spa which was a little disappointing (may have just been that particular day or the treatment I asked for) but loved the spa just to the left on the beach. This hotel is one of my all time favourites and we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerandaResort, Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear molly_p62,

We very much appreciate you have taken the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at La Veranda Resort, Phu Quoc, part of the unique MGallery Collection of hotels and resorts.
It's always a great pleasure to receive such a positive feedback and it will be a big encouragement to all of our staff as we always strive hard to exceed guests' expectation.
I'm sorry to note that some aspects of our SPA service didn't meet with your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Veranda in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We finished our tour of Vietnam here and having been very busy were looking forward to some R&R on the beach. Started off by being 'met' at the airport by two well dressed ladies with our names on a sign and the hotel name. These ladies then ordered us a taxi, which we had to pay to get out of the airport. We duly did so, but on arrival at the hotel were met with the most rude and obnoxious person that it has ever been my privilege to meet. Asking us why we hadn't got in the hotel minibus etc etc. Firstly, there was no bus there at the airport. Secondly, how did the 'scammers' get our names and the fact that we were staying at the hotel? Thirdly, the 'welcome' was extraordinary and should NEVER happen in any circumstance and actually just got me p****d off. Note for 'management'....do you know this is happening? If so, why do you not address it? Furthermore, you need to tell your staff that guests should not be talked to like we were in ANY circumstance.

The hotel:- Nice, colonial feel building and lovely gardens surrounding a nice pool area.
The room:- we booked a deluxe villa. Again, nice feel to the room, with period features and a comfy bed, however, bathroom amenities not the best and the towels need throwing away and starting again. Shower didn't particularly work very well either but did manage to wash the soap off?!
The breakfast:- basically ranged from shambolic to average. On one particular morning, there was no orange juice, no hot water for tea, no cutlery and the two guys manning the egg station were trying hard to burn the place down with what can only be described as a Morecambe & Wise sketch.

The two best things about this hotel are the weather and the beach, neither of which they have anything to do with, although the beach and sea does seem to have a lot of rubbish so they'd be we'll off getting the 'beach boys' to collect some of it as they aren't doing anything else. Another note to 'management'...you can't get a drink on the beach...so much so that we either got it ourselves, which surely defeats the object, or we went elsewhere to watch he glorious sunset.

Overall, not the best I'm afraid, so don't expect much, but to be honest after the 'welcome' we had, they could have showered me with gold leaf and I wouldn't have been happy.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerandaResort, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear WolvesDave,

Thank you for your candid review, to be honest I had to re-read this several times as I was sure from the initial information that this must have been incorrectly posted. Your experience sounds in no way like the service standards that we strive to offer and fundamentally maintain at La Veranda.

I am very sorry to read about the arrival experience that you described and as suspected, this wasn’t actually as you have assumed and detailed. I would greatly appreciate it if you can follow this up with your travel agent as they are the ones that provided the instruction to us.

As part of our guest service, we are pleased to extend the courtesy of airport transfers for our guests. On this occasion (as can sometimes be the case), we were instructed by the agent for “no pick up service” as a request had been made for a private car. This is why our hotel car was not at the airport and why these “scammers” had your names. As part of our general hotel policy and a strict policy of Accor, we would never give out any details about our guests to a 3rd party, the safety and security of our guests is of paramount importance to us. Unless specifically requested, we do not publicly display guests names at all, we show the hotel signboard and then confirm our guest details discreetly.

The ensuing extraordinary “welcome” that you received was also due to the external service that came with your arrival. There appeared to be a lot of excitement and calamity over this toll fee (of 20.000VND) that had still not been paid to the driver at that stage. I am sorry once again for the way that this experience began for you, and it seems to have left a bitter taste for your stay.

We do thank you for the positive comments you have made about the property in general and the beach, I hope we may have another opportunity to welcome you back again and ensure that we pick you up directly and start things off the right way.

Sincerely,

Jon Bourbaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is meant to be best on the island and at 265 dollars a night it should be, particularly where the average price /room elsewhere is significantly lower.
I write this at around 10.30 pm in the evening and I can hear loud music from Rory's bar next door ,which in my view is not acceptable for a 'luxury resort'. La verandah is sandwiched between development on both slides and on a busy stretch of beach adjoining several bars, day massage concessions and other resort complexes.
The beach in front of la veranda is clean and well managed, however this cannot be said for the rest of long beach, with rubbish everywhere . This is not something I wanted to swim in. There were also numerous stray dogs roaming the beach, is this safe place for kids?
For the cost I would have also expected breakfast to be included, that's another 15 dollars a night, we didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on the quality of the food, although locally we paid about 450 ,000 for 2 people, their set menu tonight is 665,000 plus 15% each.
The gardens are beautifully finished with some fantastic specimen tropical plants.

We started our stay in a block close to the beach with little around us for the first two days, later we had 3 families around us,our booking asked for a quiet, relaxed location. We complained and were quickly moved, we never saw the manager (does he exist?) though our complaint was dealt with quickly and efficiently to our satisfaction.

The reality is if Phu Quoc and la Veranda are to compete with the alternatives in southern Asia they both must do better. We will not return or use Accor hotels again.
Let's see if we can now get some sleep while listening to Tom jones and Delilah

Room Tip: Try a top resort in thailand or the philipinnes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerandaResort, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear sherryandbobbins,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at La Veranda Resort, Phu Quoc. I am sorry to note that several aspects of your experience were not able to meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

One of the significant benefits of Trip Advisor is that it allows everybody to express their own point of view from a travel experience, in addition to being able to ask questions on an open forum (should you have not contacted the hotel for information) and learn about the destination. The period of your stay with us is a (very, on this occasion) long weekend in Vietnam or the Reunification Day and Labour Day holidays, it is a peak time for domestic travellers in Vietnam coming with families from both Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City. I am sorry that I was not here to meet with you personally as it is also a period where the manager takes some days off and has great trust in the team to take care of our guests.

It is a great shame to read your comment to say that you will not return or use our hotels again. Winning in this forum a Traveller’s Choice award in 2012 and significant additional media and industry recognition both last year and in recent history, we do hope that you will give another opportunity to regain your confidence in the future. It is also a shame that you have left us without the opportunity of any further discussion and only this feedback to assess. Whilst we cannot ascertain where the music you are referring to was coming from (as the bar mentioned cannot be heard from the room you were staying in), perhaps we may have been able to find another option that was more to your liking. The way in which your initial complaint was handled, I hope was able to demonstrate our care to you about the importance of guest satisfaction.

Please be assured that the dogs you mention roaming the beach are a particular breed of dog synonymous to the island. They are very safe and appear randomly, alone and not in packs, they are very friendly and I have never heard of an altercation taking place. I believe this is the first time that a dog has been mentioned in one of our reviews.

At M Gallery, we do strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry again that your experience with us was so different to the feedback we usually receive and we sincerely hope that we may have the chance to better serve you again soon.


Sincerely,

Jon Bourbaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

On a classic colonial french style, with wonderful furniture, the installations are lovely. All the staff are very polite and efficient. Even if the sand isn't very wide, can't miss the beach which has an very salt and warm water. Be aware of the sun. It will burn you without warning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVerandaResort, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear VAmaral,

Thank you for your nice review of our resort following your recent stay on Phu Quoc, we are pleased to note all of the positive elements you have detailed. Thank you also for the note of caution to future visitors, many people think an overcast day is one to miss out on sunscreen, which can be more of the opposite! The cooling winds at this time of year also help to disguise the actual temperature outside of the water.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Jon Bourbaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection

Address: Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Duong Dong Town, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#2 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing west onto the gorgeous gulf of Thailand, MGallery La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc has an atmosphere of intimate luxury and a wide stretch of white sandy beach which affords wonderful sunset views. Beautifully designed and inspired by the colonial styles of the past, the boutique resort is for those who love the Phu Quoc island ambience and the tranquility that a tropical beach setting brings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc, Member Of The Mgallery Collection Hotel
Mercure Phu Quoc Island
Accor Phu Quoc Island
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.