We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famiana Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Famiana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Famiana Resort & Spa
Cua Lap Hamlet | Duong To, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Duong Dong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A huge bonus with this hotel is the privilege of being allowed to use the pool and beach at the sister hotel just across the street. There, the lounges have cushions, there is a pool bar, and the bartenders are anxious to please, and to practice their English.
Back at Famiana Resort, the breakfast is quite varied, although the wait staff has limited use of English. Reception staff is most pleasant, very helpful and quite charming.
Rooms are more than adequate, with crisp sheets, and a fresh supply of towels. Rooms have refrigerators, safes, TV, air con and fans.
They work hard to keep the grounds well groomed, the pool is a nice temperature and there is a pool table as well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I wonder how many people confuse Famiana Village hotel with Famiana Resort and Spa. Are Quite close, about 400 m but they are not the same. The people from Famiana Village can use facillity from Famiana Resort and Spa because they do not have and the resort and the hotel have the same resort. But if you are looking for the prices you will see the rates in Famiana Resort are more than double the Famiana Village.You get what you pay. Famiana Resort and Spa is realy gorgeous, very clean, nice pool, quite, beautiful beach and I think you can have everything you want. At breakfast and dinner we had buffet with a lot of choises. You find here 3-4 kinds of cheese, foiegras, 3-4 sortiments of salami, french dishes....Because I am from Europe I love this kind of food. I was in many asian country but here I had the best food at the resort restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The food was tasty an avarage level like for vietnamese standard, big choice, bedroom very nice but two times we found in the bathroom, due many holes under ceiling, big lizard!!! It was very scared for my wife. The beach was very near with beds and clean towels. Staff was very gentel. Nice pool. Maybe we will come back there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here two nights on a quick holiday to Phu Quoc and I was incredibly impressed!
First, the room- We booked a garden view room but were given a sea view (no extra charge), the bathroom was incredible- huge tub and amazing shower... It was clean, modern and very comfortable.
Next, outside- The beach was beautiful, the pool was huge and very clean with a very nice swim up bar (best cocktails I've had in Vietnam and such reasonable prices too!) The staff were so friendly and helpful... they couldn't do more to help you.
Last- the food- Our first night they had a 5 course set menu, it wasn't great (better to go to the night market for fresh seafood barbecues), but the breakfast buffet and dinner buffet the next day were very nice. Lot's of yummy choices, no shortages either.
This was an amazing resort. We were only on Phu Quoc three nights and the first night we stayed up the beach at a very mediocre bungalow for $50 a night. Yes this place cost about three times more a night but it was worth every penny, as it was 20 times nicer!! I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a fun, relaxing, happy stay on Phu Quoc Island :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel is brand new which was a major plus! The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were modern with a rain shower and corner bathtub. Staff was young and friendly and we were welcomed at the airport with a free shuttle/driver to hotel. Return to airport was the same.
Beds and pillows were amazing & the best we encountered in Vietnam. (Deluxe down pillows and Duvet and comfortable mattress). I did not think a good mattress nor pillows existed in Vietnam before this hotel and I have been in 5 stars throughout the country. Linens were a good quality cotton. What a dream like sleep I had for 5 nights, total comfort.
Landscaping was well planned however because the hotel is new the trees, flowers, shrubs etc. will need a few more years to mature.
Exercise room had aerobic machines only (2 bikes, tread mill, stair climber) No free weights or weight machines.

My only complaint is that the food was simply horrible. It is the worst food I have ever had in any resort, EVER. Breakfast was very average. More fruit and availability of yogurt and muesli would have been healthy options. Pho was only offered upon personal request & was quite good. Breakfast seemed to have a lot of leftovers from the buffet the night before.
Dinner buffet was basically HORRIBLE! I had a hard time filling my plate with anything I liked. I wish cooking staff could have offered more quality Vietnamese style cooking, after all it is Vietnam. They tried to accommodate the Western palate, but did it unsuccessfully. They had a set menu one night that had a price tag of $25 US. Another horrible menu with no other food options.

Menu consisted of:
2 seafood spring rolls (greasy & just OK)
Beaf soup (OK)
Waldorf salad (absolutely horrible....could not eat)
Seafood risotto (3 dried shrimp surrounded by even drier yellow coloured rice)
Mango ice cream desert (horrible)
Coffee or tea

WHAT I LIkED:

Comfort of beds & pillows
Nice quality linens and fluffy white towels
Good showers
Small quiet place...not too big
Setting is on quiet area of Long Beach
Loved the fruit vendors walking along the beach

WHAT I DID NOT LIKE:

Food was horrible
Internet was very slow in our room. It seemed to work better elsewhere on the resort including beach, balcony, and dining room.
Music around dining area came on around 7:30 am each morning. I was in room #1217 and speakers were right under our balcony. Music woke me up in the morning and was irritating when I was sitting on my balcony throughout the day.

SUGGESTIONS TO MANAGEMENT:

Change the breakfast and dinner buffets menus immediately! The food was simply horrible. Bring experts in for advice!

I had the deluxe room with oceanview. The lounge area had 3 small pillow type chairs low to the ground that I found useless. Replace with a relaxing chair and/or small sofa in lounge area as I noticed in other rooms.

Also, the sliding balcony door was very difficult to open and close. My husband had to use his screw driver to open/close the latch. Pinched my finger 2x.

More lounge chairs with pads are needed on the beach area.

Don't spray pesticides next to people eating lunch nor during waking hours.

Water did not drain well in shower and a lingering sewer smell was in the bathroom

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ON
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. We were a little worried based on the early reviews but obviously things have changed now that the hotel is officially open.

Our room was excellent. Large with a great view of the beach. All the rooms have either a balcony or terrace which is nice for sitting outside in the morning and evening (too hot in the afternoon). The bathroom is large and well laid out although it's a shame you have to pull the blind down and block the view when you shower (privacy screens would make it even nicer). The pool is large and the beach clean with lots of lounge chairs. Pool towels were a little hard to get but once we figured out to help ourselves in the structure beside the pool, it was fine.

The staff were friendly, helpful and eager to practice their English with you (or teach you basic Vietnamese if you wanted).

We only went to town one afternoon and then decided there was enough to do close to the resort with lots of restaurant/bar choices up the beach so didn't go again.

Our only complaint with the resort was the buffet. It was quite small and if you got to it a little late, they often ran out of items. The breakfast had some strange choices like beef in red wine sauce one day. Another morning our breakfast consisted of chicken fingers and potato salad. They did have an egg and pancake station but after a few days, we were getting tired of that as the only choice (hence the chicken finger breakfast). There are many nice places to go quite close by with reasonable prices but I do think the hotel should improve the buffet choices.

Their New Year's Eve buffet and show was a lot of fun and the buffet much improved for that event on their beach. A shout out to T & D for making NYE memorable.

Overall a great resort with lovely rooms and a fantastic pool. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our group of 6 stayed here from Jan. 3 -6. Overall, I think it's a good value and you don't have to walk far from your bungalow to the beach. As opposed to the Paris Hotel next door, La Famiana built up their beach front allowing guests to have a great view and plenty of sand property. The female staff tried their best and worked hard. The male staff, with the exception of two, were standing around smoking and "safeguarding". They are short-staffed, not well-trained, and not very responsive to guests. But if you don't mind the waiting and getting the staff yourself for towels, drinks, food, then this won't be an issue.

I hope they read this review and implement the following immediately:
+ Add more beach chairs for guests to lounge. There were not enough loungers for the number of guests. No other options available. ALL loungers and egg chairs were taken. Everyday.
+ Have towels readily available on loungers and at a central location where guests can help themselves to.
+ Appoint staff on the beach front area to take drink orders.
+ Replenish your buffet quickly. It's slim pickings after 9:30am. The mango and goat cheese is always empty.
+ Improve safety and cleanliness. Bricks placed in the grass at a decorative angle means sharp edges for little tykes to trip and scrape. Over-watering the grass means muddy walks for your guests when there are no other options/routes.
+ Fix the air-conditioning unit in D107. It. is. broken. The fan doesn't work well. I promise.
+ Air out the mustiness in E109. Launder the bed linens and drapes?
+ Install screens on the doors to keep mosquitoes out if guests want to enjoy the cool breeze.

The best part?? Mai - the best customer service for a small boutique resort. Lovely lady! The housekeeping girls were top-notch. If the above recommendations are fixed or implemented, we'll be back! :)

Room Tip: Only two levels, but choose rooms on lower floor (100s) if you have a lot of luggage. No elevator t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Famiana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Famiana Resort & Spa

Address: Cua Lap Hamlet | Duong To, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situaed on the PhuQuoc picturesque central coast,sweeping view of the Gulf of Thailand with private golden beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Famiana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famiana Resort & Spa Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famiana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.