We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enough good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Famiana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Famiana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Famiana Resort & Spa
Cua Lap Hamlet | Duong To, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
VND2,100,000 (VND)
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“enough good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The food was tasty an avarage level like for vietnamese standard, big choice, bedroom very nice but two times we found in the bathroom, due many holes under ceiling, big lizard!!! It was very scared for my wife. The beach was very near with beds and clean towels. Staff was very gentel. Nice pool. Maybe we will come back there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here two nights on a quick holiday to Phu Quoc and I was incredibly impressed!
First, the room- We booked a garden view room but were given a sea view (no extra charge), the bathroom was incredible- huge tub and amazing shower... It was clean, modern and very comfortable.
Next, outside- The beach was beautiful, the pool was huge and very clean with a very nice swim up bar (best cocktails I've had in Vietnam and such reasonable prices too!) The staff were so friendly and helpful... they couldn't do more to help you.
Last- the food- Our first night they had a 5 course set menu, it wasn't great (better to go to the night market for fresh seafood barbecues), but the breakfast buffet and dinner buffet the next day were very nice. Lot's of yummy choices, no shortages either.
This was an amazing resort. We were only on Phu Quoc three nights and the first night we stayed up the beach at a very mediocre bungalow for $50 a night. Yes this place cost about three times more a night but it was worth every penny, as it was 20 times nicer!! I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a fun, relaxing, happy stay on Phu Quoc Island :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel is brand new which was a major plus! The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were modern with a rain shower and corner bathtub. Staff was young and friendly and we were welcomed at the airport with a free shuttle/driver to hotel. Return to airport was the same.
Beds and pillows were amazing & the best we encountered in Vietnam. (Deluxe down pillows and Duvet and comfortable mattress). I did not think a good mattress nor pillows existed in Vietnam before this hotel and I have been in 5 stars throughout the country. Linens were a good quality cotton. What a dream like sleep I had for 5 nights, total comfort.
Landscaping was well planned however because the hotel is new the trees, flowers, shrubs etc. will need a few more years to mature.
Exercise room had aerobic machines only (2 bikes, tread mill, stair climber) No free weights or weight machines.

My only complaint is that the food was simply horrible. It is the worst food I have ever had in any resort, EVER. Breakfast was very average. More fruit and availability of yogurt and muesli would have been healthy options. Pho was only offered upon personal request & was quite good. Breakfast seemed to have a lot of leftovers from the buffet the night before.
Dinner buffet was basically HORRIBLE! I had a hard time filling my plate with anything I liked. I wish cooking staff could have offered more quality Vietnamese style cooking, after all it is Vietnam. They tried to accommodate the Western palate, but did it unsuccessfully. They had a set menu one night that had a price tag of $25 US. Another horrible menu with no other food options.

Menu consisted of:
2 seafood spring rolls (greasy & just OK)
Beaf soup (OK)
Waldorf salad (absolutely horrible....could not eat)
Seafood risotto (3 dried shrimp surrounded by even drier yellow coloured rice)
Mango ice cream desert (horrible)
Coffee or tea

WHAT I LIkED:

Comfort of beds & pillows
Nice quality linens and fluffy white towels
Good showers
Small quiet place...not too big
Setting is on quiet area of Long Beach
Loved the fruit vendors walking along the beach

WHAT I DID NOT LIKE:

Food was horrible
Internet was very slow in our room. It seemed to work better elsewhere on the resort including beach, balcony, and dining room.
Music around dining area came on around 7:30 am each morning. I was in room #1217 and speakers were right under our balcony. Music woke me up in the morning and was irritating when I was sitting on my balcony throughout the day.

SUGGESTIONS TO MANAGEMENT:

Change the breakfast and dinner buffets menus immediately! The food was simply horrible. Bring experts in for advice!

I had the deluxe room with oceanview. The lounge area had 3 small pillow type chairs low to the ground that I found useless. Replace with a relaxing chair and/or small sofa in lounge area as I noticed in other rooms.

Also, the sliding balcony door was very difficult to open and close. My husband had to use his screw driver to open/close the latch. Pinched my finger 2x.

More lounge chairs with pads are needed on the beach area.

Don't spray pesticides next to people eating lunch nor during waking hours.

Water did not drain well in shower and a lingering sewer smell was in the bathroom

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. We were a little worried based on the early reviews but obviously things have changed now that the hotel is officially open.

Our room was excellent. Large with a great view of the beach. All the rooms have either a balcony or terrace which is nice for sitting outside in the morning and evening (too hot in the afternoon). The bathroom is large and well laid out although it's a shame you have to pull the blind down and block the view when you shower (privacy screens would make it even nicer). The pool is large and the beach clean with lots of lounge chairs. Pool towels were a little hard to get but once we figured out to help ourselves in the structure beside the pool, it was fine.

The staff were friendly, helpful and eager to practice their English with you (or teach you basic Vietnamese if you wanted).

We only went to town one afternoon and then decided there was enough to do close to the resort with lots of restaurant/bar choices up the beach so didn't go again.

Our only complaint with the resort was the buffet. It was quite small and if you got to it a little late, they often ran out of items. The breakfast had some strange choices like beef in red wine sauce one day. Another morning our breakfast consisted of chicken fingers and potato salad. They did have an egg and pancake station but after a few days, we were getting tired of that as the only choice (hence the chicken finger breakfast). There are many nice places to go quite close by with reasonable prices but I do think the hotel should improve the buffet choices.

Their New Year's Eve buffet and show was a lot of fun and the buffet much improved for that event on their beach. A shout out to T & D for making NYE memorable.

Overall a great resort with lovely rooms and a fantastic pool. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our group of 6 stayed here from Jan. 3 -6. Overall, I think it's a good value and you don't have to walk far from your bungalow to the beach. As opposed to the Paris Hotel next door, La Famiana built up their beach front allowing guests to have a great view and plenty of sand property. The female staff tried their best and worked hard. The male staff, with the exception of two, were standing around smoking and "safeguarding". They are short-staffed, not well-trained, and not very responsive to guests. But if you don't mind the waiting and getting the staff yourself for towels, drinks, food, then this won't be an issue.

I hope they read this review and implement the following immediately:
+ Add more beach chairs for guests to lounge. There were not enough loungers for the number of guests. No other options available. ALL loungers and egg chairs were taken. Everyday.
+ Have towels readily available on loungers and at a central location where guests can help themselves to.
+ Appoint staff on the beach front area to take drink orders.
+ Replenish your buffet quickly. It's slim pickings after 9:30am. The mango and goat cheese is always empty.
+ Improve safety and cleanliness. Bricks placed in the grass at a decorative angle means sharp edges for little tykes to trip and scrape. Over-watering the grass means muddy walks for your guests when there are no other options/routes.
+ Fix the air-conditioning unit in D107. It. is. broken. The fan doesn't work well. I promise.
+ Air out the mustiness in E109. Launder the bed linens and drapes?
+ Install screens on the doors to keep mosquitoes out if guests want to enjoy the cool breeze.

The best part?? Mai - the best customer service for a small boutique resort. Lovely lady! The housekeeping girls were top-notch. If the above recommendations are fixed or implemented, we'll be back! :)

Room Tip: Only two levels, but choose rooms on lower floor (100s) if you have a lot of luggage. No elevator t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It's not often that I'm excited to write a review about a place.We stayed at Famiana in mid-November just after the official opening. Having read a couple of the early reviews on Tripadvisor, I was a bit nervous about the resort being physically completed and unsure about the reviews on the staff.

THE RESORT: The resort was beautiful. As another reviewer mentioned, it will only get better as the foliage grows in. They were still doing some construction on the interior of some rooms but it was not distracting to us at all. All our rooms had excellent views and the beach was wonderfully cared for. Room interiors were well appointed. The only problem with our room was that the resort had not yet had patio furniture in place. However, as you'll read below, I'm certain that if we would have asked from some it would have been there at a moments notice.

I would not say that the resort is overly far from town. It is only a $4 cab ride from the night market and very very close to the new airport. We rented motorbikes from the resort ($8/day) and getting around Phu Quoc by motorbike is very easy. Also, one of the Island's best spa's is (Aroma Spa) is just up the beach. The one negative I have about the physical location of the resort is water quality. There is a dump canal just up current from the Famiana beach. After a good rain it can wash some undesired material into the water you may be swimming in. Check it out for yourself.

THE STAFF: Some reviewers are knocking the staff but I would say the staff at Famiana is a highlight of the resort. Yes, they are very young and many do not speak another language. But guess what? You're in Vietnam, they speak Vietnamese there! The "lost in translation" experiences for us were some of the more amusing parts of our stay. In other words, if you're patient with people, and not an A-hole, you can make it a good experience. There are a handful of staff members that do speak good English. If this is very important to you, get their names at the beginning of your stay and then ask for them if you get too frustrated trying to communicate. Further, It would seem that there were at least 3 staff people for every guest at the resort. And they all went 1000% effort. If a guy saw you carrying your own bag from 100 meters away he'd come at you on a dead sprint to carry your bag for you. For example, My wife simply moved her chair 2 feet away from a mid-sized rock in the beach and before she knew it 3 guys with a shovel were there to dig it out. One staff member in particular deserves a gold medal. In the restaurant be sure to meet Mao (or "Micky Mao" as she introduced herself). She was the sweetest thing in the world and did everything she could to help us. I hope her boss reads this and gives her a raise. She deserves it.

In a nutshell, next time I'm in Phu Quoc there's nowhere else I'd stay.

Room Tip: Building G is closest to the Ocean and had the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's a new and very nice hotel with a very helpful staff. Pool is amazing and breakfasts are very good. The only con is the distance to the town, but you can easily get there by taxi.
We totally enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Famiana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Famiana Resort & Spa

Address: Cua Lap Hamlet | Duong To, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#5 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the PhuQuoc picturesque central coast, Famiana Resort & Spa has sweeping views of the gulf of Thailand with private golden sandy beach. The overall design architecture of the resort is inspired by Asian culture combined with a modern yet charming design accented with the modern conveniences of today travelers. The resort is only 10 minutes from PhuQuoc International Airport and just 10 minutes away to explore the Duong Dong town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Famiana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famiana Resort & Spa Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famiana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.