We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurry and go to Phu Quoc before it becomes an overdeveloped run of the mill island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ong Lang Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Duong Dong
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hurry and go to Phu Quoc before it becomes an overdeveloped run of the mill island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Phu Quoc now has so much charm and natural beauty, but with multi-million dollar plans for expansion, it won't remain that way for long. Major developments are underway around the island and it will soon be just another overpriced island destination. Having said that, Coco Palm is located away from the chaos - it is small and unassuming little piece of paradise!! We stayed 4 nights at the beginning of a 5 week stay in Asia - what a way to kick off things! Our bungalow (11) was located at the end of a row of bungalows a stone throw from the beach with amazing views of the water. The rooms are basic and the bathroom is semi-covered (indoor/outdoor). There is mosquito netting for the bed, a/c and wifi. The beach is fantastic and the service is great. We were looking to rest and were served right because the resort is located in a quiet area and there are no activities on site. It is however an approximate 15 minute drive to downtown Duong Duong where there is an amazing night market, shopping and many restaurants. Many hotels are located on this stretch of beach (Long Beach) so it is more crowded and lively. After comparing the two, we by far preferred where we were staying. Taxis are more expensive on Phu Quoc than in other parts of Vietnam, so be prepared to spend around $15 each way to and from town. Mango Bay resort is right next door if all you're looking for is a change of pace it has a great menu but comes at a premium. I would highly recommend this place for couples and solo travellers or anyone for that matter that wants a nice relaxing holiday with friendly and helpful staff. I would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: It is a small resort and i believe all rooms are facing the water - you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

When looking for hotels on Phu Quoc we weren't sure whether to go to lively Long Beach or quiet Ong Lang Beach. At the end we were more than happy that we chose Ong Lang Beach and especially Coco Palm Resort.
I have to admit that it was over our budget, but it was just before "Tet", many other resorts were full or more expensive and we also decided that especially on the beach, where you spend a lot of time in/around your accommodation, it was important to us that it's not a ugly hotel by the road.

We booked two Deluxe Sea View Bungalows via Agoda and liked them a lot. Yes, like some other people already pointed out, the furniture is nothing to write home about, it's pretty unspectacular, but new and not run down. We had double beds, a small table, some chairs, a wardrobe, a fridge, a fan and a quiet and functioning air condition. The outdoor bathroom was nice, too. However, it'd be nice to have another towel rack or clothes line as we always had a lot of towels/bathing suites additionally to the normal towels.
In front of our bungalows were terraces with tables and chairs.
The rooms were clean and towels were changed daily.

Wifi was included in the rate.
The reception area was ok and there was a computer for the guests to use.

The garden of the resort was extremely nice. A lot of small lanes, bridges, step stones and very very well groomed.

The main restaurant area was fitted with ugly wooden furniture, but there was another small terrace further down to the beach and we usually sat there.

The included breakfast was simple and a la carte.
It was only served until 9.30 am. Too early for holiday makers I think.
I cannot really complain about the food as I know that we are in Asia where continental breakfast is always strange, but I think I can agree with some of the other reviews which say that one could expect a little more for the not so cheap room rate.
During the day it was possible to get shakes, juices, food and other drinks at the restaurant or on the small terrace.
In the evening they served great food, again a la carte. Even though we could have walked to one of the other resorts, we ate there every night. We liked the food a lot and were amazed how they could produce all those different fresh dishes in the small kitchen.
The staff was also really nice. The girls didn't speak much English (but it was sufficient to take orders!), but as we were on holiday and had time, we pointed out on the menu what we wanted, spoke slowly when we wanted different things and got on perfectly. The girls knew us very well after a couple of days and we taught them some English while they taught us Vietnamese.
They tried really hard and bearing in mind that a couple of years ago Tourism was non-existent on Phu Quoc I think everyone did really well.
Even the cleaning girls were totally nice and we joked with them and smiled a lot, even though we had to use it with hands and feet.

The beach was amazing. There was no hotel to the left so "our beach" seemed really secluded and like it only belonged to us. To the right were two smaller resorts (behind a bend) and the often menionted Mango Resort. We went to Mango one time for lunch. But apart from that we stayed on our beach as it really was the nicest.
There were many sun beds with sombrellas and hammocks. It was never crowded (even on the last days when there were more guests) and we always got a sun bed.
The beach was sandy and white, the water crystal clear and we enjoyed swimming all day.
There was a snorkeling boat, which stopped outside our bay for about 1 - 2 hours once a day, but they stayed around their boat and didn't come to our beach.

I did notice some of the guests complaining about the "lack of English" and that they expected more for 110 USD. Maybe they are right, but we liked it so much and it was the highlight of our holiday. If you look for faults you can find them but if you just enjoy spending your day in a nice, clean environment without many other people and stop searching for things to moan about, you can enjoy it a lot.

Room Tip: We extended our stay by one day and as our sea view bungalow (no 8) was already reserved, we had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Overall I was disappointed with Coco Palm.

We chose Coco Palm precisely because of its somewhat isolated position and -

Yes the beach is lovely, clean with clear water, loungers with shade, massage area now fully operational. This was completely ruined at the weekend when no less than 5 boats arrived out of which dozens of lifejacket wearing day trippers spilled, making an incredible amount of noise and splashing towards our tranquil beach. They then started roaming around, sitting on the low wall of the massage area, or the grass, or playing in the shallow waters right in front of us. This is despite the fact that 30 yards or so to the left was a large expanse of empty public beach… I feel the management of Coco Palm needs to address this. At one point there must have been 50 odd people all congregating in the same small area of the beach. (I understand that all beaches are in principle public so it's up to management liaison with boat operators to sort this).

The room was also a huge disappointment given how much it cost. For $110 a day for the so-called Deluxe Seaview room I was expecting more - not luxury of course. You can achieve style and warmth in a beach room without spending loads of money - but these rooms were utterly soulless - ours didn't even have a bedside lamp (on the one bedside table in there) and although I asked for one, it never arrived. The furniture was both basic and ugly. The walls were a dirty magnolia colour with no pictures at all. Small wardrobe with 3 hangers, no drawers. Plus point is that the A/C is efficient and quiet, and there's a fridge. Outside bathroom is fun, showering under a full moon nice.

Breakfast was also basic and the way it was presented and served - cutlery, plates etc - was more representative of a $60 a night place. Again the furniture was not attractive and didn't entice you to hang around. We didn't eat there but heard from other guests that it was not great. Once again they are missing a trick here given the location. It means all their guests go to either Mango Bay or Sakura to eat. The young bar staff really try, given that they speak virtually zero English, but a "gin tonic" is the culmination of their abilities. I'm not suggesting they go to the extremes of Mango Bay next door - but there is scope for a lovely venue there.

Overall too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: All the rooms effectively have a sea view, so no point paying more. The 'Deluxe' rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in superior seaview and deluxe seaview room, deluxe definitely too expensive for 110 USD, because there are no big extras compared to the superior room that you can have for 90 USD in high season.
Size of the rooms is good, but furniture is rather basic, but of course you have AC and a fridge, no TV. OK if you pay 30 USD, but not for 90.
The good thing about the resort is the nice garden, the beach and its tranquility. Not much noise, no party, a perfect place just to relax and do nothing. That saves the whole deal and I did not regret going there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is set on a beautiful beach, quite far from town. Perfect for total relaxation, but if you wan't to travel around on the island it's a little hassle to take taxi for 15 minutes each way. The restaurant is OK, but sometimes they forgot some things on our order, got different things than we ordered etc. But as earlier reviewers have said, there are other restaurant's in the area!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our family had a very nice time at coco palm. It is set on a very quiet and beautiful beach with stunning clear water. The staff were all nice and tried hard but was a lack of English and hospitality skills. Not sure when or if they get days off either.

With an active manger on site to sort out the restaurant this place would be awesome. There are other options for eating nearby so this is not a huge problem and we would gladly come here again. Is a bit out of town but if you want quiet stunning beach on Phu Quoc, this is great option.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall, this is great little resort if you want to get away from it all. We stayed for 10 days as a family of 5 in two bungalows.

Some things to consider
The location on its own beach is unspoilt and is stunning.
The gardens are beautifully and well manicure by two full time gardeners.
The accommodation is basic but the rooms have air-con, bathrooms and showers.
The price of accommodation, food and drinks is very reasonable.
The beds are very hard. Too hard to have a lie-in.
The staff are very friendly and try hard. However some of their understanding is poor.
The quality of food is OK but the staff sometimes forget things ordered.
The breakfast is actually OK. The omelettes and pancakes are made fresh for you each day.
There are two fantastic restaurants around the corner at the Mango Bay and Sakura if you fancy a change.
Hot water for the shower is solar and only available at the end of the day
The beach has a number of sun-loungers and hammocks to sit on.
The hotel doesn't supply beach towels but changes your room towels daily
The resort is quiet and small. It has 11 bungalows set back from the beach.
The location is 15 mins in a taxi from the big hotels on Long Beach and the town.
The taxi to town costs 200,000 dong each way approx. €7 and are always waiting round the corner to Coco Palm.
The resort rents scooters for 200,000 dong a day (€7).
A taxi from the airport takes 30 mins and costs 500,000 dong each way (approx €17).

We had a great relaxing time and we will probably come back again. The only real bad point was that everyone felt ripped off by the Christmas party. If you are there around Christmas, avoid the Christmas party. Some hard sales guy turns up and it's poor value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.