We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family run b&b, beautiful beach, quiet & far away from town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort

Save Saved
You added Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort
Ong Lang Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Duong Dong
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“family run b&b, beautiful beach, quiet & far away from town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Accommodation & rooms:
Rooms are nice and cleaned every day, some rooms are bigger than the others - we stayed one night in triple room, than changed to triple superior;
Our rooms (triples) were mosquito proof, glass windows, closing door;
It's not a resort, as the name suggests, more like a b&b;
Beautiful manicured garden, next to the beach;
The beach is clean and beautiful, private chairs and umbrellas, really amazing sunsets;
There is a restaurant set in the beautiful garden with view to the beach, drinks are cheap, but not much variety on the menu, and fresh fish you had to order in advance; one day we ordered fresh fish and vegetables and it was soooooo good;
Location is outside town, and it's a little expensive to go by taxi to the city.
Internet in the reception area, we were allowed to use their laptop.

The good & the great:
Family run, everyone working there is nice and friendly, miss them all! :)
Free airport ride when leaving.
Helped us go on the snorkeling trip with John Island Tours.

The not so good:
Breakfast is included but could be improved;Restaurant overall could be improved;
Not easy to communicate with the staff and owner, as they only speak a little English and French, but if you are patient and not too picky you will be rewarded :);
The nicest girl that works there speaks some English, you mostly communicate with her, she is very nice, and it was funny when she got our order all wrong;

The bad:
They didn't pick us up at the airport as we had requested, but we managed to get there by ourselves; unfortunately when we got there there was no room available for us, despite the reservation being received, I don't really know why... happily it all got sorted out in the end, since they had some rooms available;
Mosquitos at night in the garden.

Tips:
Mango Bay Resort which has a great restaurant (but really pricey - main dishes starting around 10$) is a 5 min walk from Coco Palm, you can get there walking along the beach, or through the main road; At Mango Bay the beach is rocky, not at all beautiful as it is at Coco Palm.

Phu Quoc: not a diver's paradise, and not much to see at snorkeling; wasn't impressed by Start beach either; the beach at Coco Palm is better :)

Overall we really really enjoyed our stay there, next time in Phu Quoc we will choose Coco Palm for sure, and I can't wait to go back.

The whole staff and owner didn't seem experienced in running a resort, but are friendly and willing to help, if you manage understand one another :). If you are picky about these kind of things I wouldn't recommend staying there, otherwise it's really worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
overum
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This wonderful small hotel is family run by a family without hotel experience but they compensate it with a very friendly atmosphere. They have luckily hired a receptionist with some experience but evenso they managed to double-book rooms so we did have to change room twice.
The 11 bungalow rooms are better than the pictures shown by Agoda and the garden is fantastic and will be even better. They work constantly with the garden and are also building some more bungalows.
They have the best part of Ong Lang beach which is much better than Long Beach where we also stayed. They could without problem double the number of rooms without the place being crowded but I hope they dont because now it is perfect for couples/families who want to relax. If you want to party go somewhere else. It is far to the city so you have to take a taxi. On the other hand you can afford to take a taxi every day. It will anyhow be cheaper than a hotel on Long Beach.
The reastaurant service is not very quick but again friendly. The free breakfast is limited but extension cheap.
English knowledge is limited to poor.
Spa mentioned in Agoda page dont exist. The new international airport is on the other side of town so the taxi cost is min US$ 20

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have travelled extensively around Vietnam and was very excited to be staying on the beautiful Vietnamese island of Phu Quoc. Coco Palm Resort is a beautiful collection of well-appointed bungalows that nestle within a growing, green garden that attracts dragonflies and butterflies and leads onto a beautiful, golden sandy beach with clear blue waters.

Our room was simple and without frills, perfect for when we came back full of sand. A wet room is a brilliant idea and the well stocked drinks fridge allowed us to continue our festive celebrations into the night. Each room has air conditioning, daily fresh towels, hair dryer, own private seating outside and no TV to distract you from getting out and exploring this super island.

The beach is well located with clear blue waters and a group of coral rocks to the east which is perfect for exploring via snorkelling. On the beach there are also loungers and parasols to protect you from the hot sun.

The spa element of the resort is extensive as you as the guest can request the treatment you desire with the therapists visiting you either in your room or taking advantage of the massage beds by the beach for that extra level of relaxation.

The resort can provide a driver for you excursions (additional charges apply), snorkelling equipment to borrow and motorbikes to rent. The resort also have good connections with the island company 'John's Tours' who will pick up/ drop off at the resort. We enjoyed an evening of squid fishing and a day tour with this company and both were good value and enjoyable.

The free breakfast each morning highlighted the simplicity of a typical Vietnamese breakfast. This fuses together scrumptious French bread and either eggs or fresh fruit. Coffee is typically strong and I was even able to get a good 'ol fashioned cup of tea. I would definitely recommend the fresh coconut or banana juice. Lunch and dinner menus focus on the Vietnamese staples of rice and noodles. Food is cooked to order and if you desire fish this needs to be done in advance so that freshness is guaranteed. With a busy festive period some waits for food were lengthy but our hosts also showed a willingness to improve via constructive feedback.

The most memorable part of my stay were the hosts. They are perhaps the happiest and friendliest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They were very patient with my rusty Vietnamese and thankfully spoke English so that I could be clearly understood despite my own linguistic shortcomings. I was very sad to leave and look forward to returning shortly to share this wonderful place with my family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Along with a 5 other friends (24-34 years old) we decided upon Coco Palm Resort after comparing reviews and finding a reasonable price over the Christmas period on the island. We stayed for a total of 9 glorious days.

First, the photos do not do it justice, I will hope to contribute some to give you a better idea, but this surpassed our expectations. We were greeted with a warm welcome, which continued throughout the entire holiday. The family who run the resort are kind, enthusiastic to learn English, as well as keen to help us improve our Vietnamese.

The location was about a 20minute drive from the main town area, costing around 140,000VND per trip. We did not see this as a negative, due to the fact that we had a quiet, beautifully kept beach with plenty of areas to snorkel just on the door step, whereas Long Beach seemed to be very busy and simply not as picturesque as the beach on our door step.

The resort is still in the process of making improvements, the rooms could do with a lick of paint in a few places, however the shower rooms and dressing area are well done and the rooms are of a good size, with a patio area overlooking beautiful gardens with the beach in easy view. Their is a spa service which isn't well advertised, ask at reception and they have a good selection of massages, wraps, manicures and pedicures etc.

The restaurant does offers beer and wine, however we had to buy spirits in town, there were however plenty of soft drinks available throughout the day. The food was of a very good quality, with the staff eager to take constructive criticism and advice on what could make the dish better. As the staff is quite small, being a large group, the food often took a while to come and didn't all come out together, however after the first day of waiting, we were happy to sit down at their restaurant and wait, as the staff are incredibly cheerful to be around and the food was of a quality worth waiting for and a good price. Having been to Mango Bay - just a short walk across the beach - we found the food to be of a much better quality at Coco Palm. If you do want food to all come at the same time, I would recommend Mango Bay for their efficiency (Plus, they do an amazing selection of cocktails).

All in all, for my first Christmas away from home with the family, I couldn't have wished for a more perfect holiday. Fantastic staff and a stunning location. I will definitely be back at Coco Palm Resort. Thank you all the staff for such an amazing Christmas!

Michelle Howie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This "resort" should be in a great condition as it is nearly new. But EVERY room already shows significant issues, starting from borken windows, to crackling walls and even worse, mould!

Also, the names states resort and spa, but there is none. So don`t hope for any kind of spa.

The beach is absolutly great, its the best 100 meter part of the whole area, with a very nice garden. In theory... Sadl, the beach is completley covered with rubbish and noone tales care. Also, during all of the stay the were building new bungalows. So big trucks drove through the garden, workers were laying in the beach area for the visitors, throwing there ciagarettes and rubbish everyware. Also there was contrustion noise from 7 in the mornig till 8 pm, EVERY day, even on sunday. After a complaint to the management, they promised that the work would be finished that day and that it would be quite for the rest of the stay. Simply a lie... It went on all the time.

The food ist very very bad in ths place, breakfast was very old bread, old fruits, very bad coffee. Also you had to wait 20 minuts just for someone to show up and another 20 for getting something. And this was while just 2 poeple were there. At the end 12 people were staying at the place, and it took forever. One couple waited over 40 minutes just to be asked what they want.

Also noneof the owners speaks english. Just one jung girl has to communicate with everyone and then you never get what you asked for.

Its really a shame, it could be such a nice place, but they have absolutly no idea of careing for visitors, they don`t care about the dirt and rubbish everywere and they don`t are about what you tell them. And it is unbelievable that rooms that are not even a year old are already so run down.

All in all it would be ok for maybe 20% of the money, but for that price it was the worst thing you could end up anywhere in Vietnam! Simple stay away from that place!

Room Tip: Best rooms are far away from that resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This resort opened in early 2012 and is a really nice place to stay. The accommodation is comfortable and clean, and a lot of thought has gone into the gardens and facilities.

The standard of accommodation was good value for money and we felt very relaxed here.

However ... the family who run this place are not experienced in the hospitality industry so the service can be slow. They also do not speak much English. We ate at the restaurant a few times, and the food was nice but took a long time to prepare. We suggest ordering well in advance. You could also eat at various other resorts and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ong Lang Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Palm Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.