We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ward 7, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Duong Dong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice resort and right on the beach.
Staff is quite friendly, English is their second language, but the staff make an effort, just smile and be patient and the staff will certainly help you out. We had absolutely no problem as reception and restaurant staff were fantastic!! We got upgraded to a garden view bungalow #1. Clean and very big. Unusual for Asia. Bed was comfortable and the air con worked well. Resort was clean, beach was clean. Not enough beach loungers.
Included Breakfast was basic, catering to Asians as well as westerners, but was tasty and plentiful.
We never had lunch nor dinner at the restaurant, instead opting to walk down the beach for delicious and inexpensive dinners.
Security was present at all times, which tended to keep beach hawkers at a distance.
Beach is within the resort, so no walk and beach towels are provided.
Arcadia is about 3 kilometers from town, so a taxi is in order as it is a long and boring walk.

Room Tip: Premier deluxe ocean view rooms, seen to have a obstructed view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    54
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
20
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you walk the whole length of Long Beach on Phu Quoc, you will find that the Arcadia has the best location, further north near town, the currents tend to wash up rubbish and the water is not as nice and clean and further south is more of a wilderness with very basic types of accommodation. The Arcacia hotel itself is certainly one of the nicest in the area, the bungalows are spacious and situated close to the water and the area is kept tidy and the watchman does not allow the beach hawkers to harass you when you lie on the beach. There is an open air restaurant which serves an OK breakfast included in the room price - but for other meals it is somewhat overpriced and not as good as the neighbouring beach restaurants. You will quickly realize that most guests go to the Phuong Binh Restaurant (on the beach, 50 m south) where the food is not only better and cheaper, but the staff endearingly friendly. We can certainly recommend to stay at the Arcadia for its location and facilities, but by all means experiment with the beach restaurants for your meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The location is good. you can stay longtime by the beach.
The receptionist is nice and professional but once staying there we realize Service is very poor. It seems the staff is inexperienced and, worse, they simply don't care about customers.
From the poor quality of the food I understand the staff in the kitchen is on the same page.
Would I come back? Never
Would I recommend to friends? Never

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

i really enjoyed my time at Arcadia. I didn't have one of the really nice bungalows that had a beautiful sea view...just a regular room. If you can, get one of the bungalows that overlook the ocean. My room was good. I found the shower odd in that it wasn't a partitioned area in the bathroom, just a shower head next to the sink. The restaurant was good, adequate breakfast, beautiful beach!

the grounds were gorgeous and well maintained!

You do need a taxi to get into town. If you are looking for a relaxed beach location this is a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was quite disappointed with Arcadia. I booked a sea view room, and I did have a sea view, but I was on the first floor and everyone at the resort could see into my room! I would see the cleaners walking past, other guest, etc. Needless to say, I had to close my curtains most of the time. The resorts also says that it is close to the night market and other attractions which it is not. We had to take taxis everywhere or we could have walked for almost 45 minutes in the 35C/95F heat. I also had millipedes in my room, my friend had geckos in hers. The beds were rock hard. There was garbage in the sea. The breakfast was poor and the food in the restaurant was not good either. The staff spoke very little English and were not that helpful.
Stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Overall I thought the Arcadia was a good hotel. Pleasent staff, decent breakfast and lovely beech. I had a very relaxing time.

There is room for improvement though. The beach needs someone to clean the rubbish which has been brought in by the tide away - one day I saw a needle in the sand right by the hotel.

There could also be better advise on reception on activities to do on the island - there isn't much to do in Phu Quoc and we struggled with finding activities to keep us entertained. In the end we just booked tours with a very nice woman who was selling tours on the beech. The hotel staff were no help.

The hotel restaurant is overpriced for average food - although a nice spot for watching the sen set with a cold beer. The nightmarket in town, although a great experience also serves average food (my tip is to avoid the busiest stall as you will not get the best cooked food).

This hotel aims to be a high quality beach get away, but does fall slightly short of this goal. We enjoyed our stay, but did not find it exactly met the high price we paid. we would happily stay here again, but at a lower rate.

Room Tip: Noise from the surrounding bars and chickens may disturb light sleepers - I needed earplugs, my boyf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my girlfriend in mid-March, and we really explored what the hotel had to offer as we had to switch rooms every night (we didn't book on beforehand).

These are the pros and cons of Arcadia Resort

Pros:

+ Amazing aircondition units! Every room had the top notch model, and as someone who's travelled Asia for almost half a year I know how to appreciate a good breeze after a long day in the heat.
+ Breakfast is buffet-style, and is of incredible value! There's bacon, fried chicken, salad, fruits, anything you'd want for a nice breakfast. There are even members of the hotel staff making pancakes and omelettes at your disposal, great service. It's open from 0700-1000, and if you're on a semi budget like us, you can get two meals in a day from the breakfast, which is highly recommended!
+ Minibar in the rooms weren't overpriced as they usually can be, and contained beers, soft drinks and water.
+ Every room was equipped with a semi-large sized TV (42') and it wasn't purely in Vietnamese, there were English movie channels as well.
+ More than enough hot water for two people, and a lot of extra accessories in the bathroom, such as comb, razor, toothbrush, shampoo, conditioner etc,
+ The beach was close to all the rooms (50m walk tops) and the resort had its own part of the beach with towels and sunbeds at your disposal.


Cons:

- Wi-fi wasn't all that for a hotel of this standard, and it was nonexistent in some of the rooms.
- Tiles, showers, plumbing etc weren't really looked out after, and it showed in some of the rooms which really brought the overall ambience down.
- Contrary to the breakfast, the restaurant that opened at the same place later in the day was horrible. The food was okay, but it was overpriced compared to all the other restaurants and the portions were of laughable size, even in Asia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ward 7, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get ready for an exotic getaway in one of the jewels of the Orient – Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam. Revel in the Gulf of Thailand’s crystal clear turquoise waters. Bask in the tropical sun on the golden sands of Long Beach, one of the top beaches in Asia. Soak it all up at Arcadia, the newest luxurious private beach resort. Located in the heart of Phu Quoc’s tourism- Duong Dong Town.The freshly opened resort, provides 19 guestrooms and 9 bungalow suites- each warmly designed to be the epitome of luxury. Each bungalow suite is built with coconut-thatched roof. This architecture perfectly blends in with the island’s surrounding environment; whilst, delivers you a tropical utopia. Designed with utmost contemporary interiors- all guestrooms boast of marble flooring and bathroom counter-tops. Our bungalow suites are engineered with dark hardwood floors and floor-to-ceiling windows for panoramic views. Every care has been taken to deliver an exclusive island beach vacation to our valued clients. The entire resort is beautifully landscaped- such that wherever the eyes turns, there are green lawns running into extensive stands of preserved native trees. Direct private access on Long Beach entitles you to the best of both worlds- natural setting with coziness of the tropical forest, and the warm sunrays dazzling on the crystal clear blue water. As one of the best beaches in Vietnam, Arcadia Resort promises you the beach vacation of a lifetime. Take one of the multiple daily flights that connect Ho Chi Minh City with Dong Duong. Or enjoy a 1.5 hours ferry ride up from Rach Gia or Ha Tien port. A brief interlude and you will soon be far away from the madness of metropolitan life, reveling in the calm waters of the Gulf of Thailand. Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.